Author Topic: "logger (11.05.2016 12:52:38): no reading of Vantage's internal logger."  (Read 1194 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6934
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Rebooted my "hung" Meteobridge and got this in the system log:

"logger (11.05.2016 12:52:38): no reading of Vantage's internal logger."

Pressure and inside temp are recorded by the Meteobridge box so I am thinking it truly is the logger itself.  Failed maybe? Anyone?  Of course this thing is hundreds of miles away or I would power down the console and reinsert the logger etc.  Looking for a remote solution...

Offline johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2779
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Failed maybe?

Not impossible but very rare. Next thing to try is rebooting whatever console the logger is fitted to (if that's even possible). Otherwise not much else you can do remotely.
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Online Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6934
    • Eagle Bay Weather
YEah, not possible to reboot the console.  Even if I could power cycle it (remotely via connected UPS, the batteries are inside).  No joy.

Since I;m getting inside temp and pressure I am sure it is the logger.  Why, I do not know but it will have to wait until I travel 500+ kms.  :(  Here's the full log after a reboot.  It looks like the MB box is talking to the logger though.
wnetd (11.05.2016 13:44:15): process started.
test5m (11.05.2016 13:44:25): logger stalled, will be restarted now.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:26): Historical data loaded (26 records).
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:26): data logger (version 5.0p, build 9225) started.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:27): connect station 0 (Vantage via USB serial).
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:27): wakeup sent.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:27): internal logger activated.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:27): syncing.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:37): gettime request sent.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): gettime request sent.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): time offset of Vantage: 8 minutes
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): eeprom request sent.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): rain collector size 0.2 mm per tick.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): transmitter 1 active as station type (#0) "ISS".
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): transmitter 2 active as station type (#1) "Temp Only" mapped to "t1".
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): transmitter 3 active as station type (#1) "Temp Only" mapped to "t2".
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): firmware version request sent.
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): firmware version 1.82
logger (11.05.2016 13:44:47): no reading of Vantage's internal logger.


Offline belfryboy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 488
  • waiting for the rain.....
    • Belfryboy Blog
Is the console time set correctly? a time offset can upset the meteobridge IIRC

Offline rdsman

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
Bushman:

I'm not familiar with your setup, but if you can send commands to the Vue, try this:

RESET<LF>

It will then perform a restart.


Ray

Online Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6934
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Is the console time set correctly? a time offset can upset the meteobridge IIRC

Don't know for certain since it is almost 600 kms away, but notice the log says an 8 minute offset.

Online Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6934
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Bushman:

I'm not familiar with your setup, but if you can send commands to the Vue, try this:

RESET<LF>

It will then perform a restart.

It is a VP2 console, but basically the same.  Not sure if there is a way to send that command to the console without a direct connection, is there?  The logger is currently attached to a TP Link Meteobridge box.  And while I remote computing access (via Weaved on Raspberry Pi) the console does not have an IP address so I can't see a way.  Can you?

Online Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6934
    • Eagle Bay Weather
I am beginning to think that maybe the ISS has crapped out (like my other temp/hum station did a few weeks back).  The log indicates that MB is talking to the logger AFAICS and it is talking back.  I do have a spare board sitting out there that I was going to use for the temp/hum station but now it looks like maybe I will try it in the ISS; have to get ANOTHER spare board.  Hopefully Scaled Instruments will have a sale soon.  :)

Online Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6934
    • Eagle Bay Weather
UPDATE.  After multiple remote reboots of the Meteobridge box, it is back alive.  A subsequent onsite visit showed nothing irregular other than I needed to replace the ISS battery.  So who knows why the system stopped?

 

anything