Author Topic: Bloomsky WIFI Range  (Read 2726 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Bloomsky WIFI Range
« on: February 04, 2016, 05:18:45 PM »
What has been your experience with the WIFI range of your Bloomsky?

As you may know, if your end-of-the-day video is at about 18 secs, your captured pics are fine.  Mine has been averaging about 11-13 secs.  My router (ASUS) is upstairs in a room on the other side of the house, while the Bloomsky is in the backyard, maybe 65' from the router.  There are a couple of walls to pass through.  I have a range extender closer downstairs but was unable to get the Bloomsky to connect to it.  Had to stay with the main router.

I could move the Bloomsky but I like the sky pics where itís at.  Also I've noticed that if you place it up close to a fence or wall you suffer from heat reflection.  Also if I move it around on the side of the house where the router would be right above, then the Bloomsky is sitting outside my fence and I'm afraid it could be stolen.

Thoughts?

Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2016, 10:21:21 AM »
What has been your experience with the WIFI range of your Bloomsky?
Also if I move it around on the side of the house where the router would be right above, then the Bloomsky is sitting outside my fence and I'm afraid it could be stolen.

Thoughts?


Hello VaJim,

So far my wifi range has been ok. I wish I can see how the signal strength measures on the unit itself. I used a wifi signal analyzer to see how it measures on my backyard. I have an openmesh and meraki wireless network and I do have an AP downstairs so signal is fairly good through out my backward.

Like you I am afraid of putting my bloomsky setup by the fence..... I have a feeling that it might bring too much attention from unwanted eyes..... At any rate I might build a small contraption to secure the system to the mount system.

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2016, 10:38:39 AM »
What has been your experience with the WIFI range of your Bloomsky?
Also if I move it around on the side of the house where the router would be right above, then the Bloomsky is sitting outside my fence and I'm afraid it could be stolen.

Thoughts?


Hello VaJim,

So far my wifi range has been ok. I wish I can see how the signal strength measures on the unit itself. I used a wifi signal analyzer to see how it measures on my backyard. I have an openmesh and meraki wireless network and I do have an AP downstairs so signal is fairly good through out my backward.

Like you I am afraid of putting my bloomsky setup by the fence..... I have a feeling that it might bring too much attention from unwanted eyes..... At any rate I might build a small contraption to secure the system to the mount system.

Thanks
I ended up moving mine.  It was out in the backyard about 20í from the house and 65í overall from the router.  I have an ASUS router with an Amped RE.  The Amped creates separate networks (2.4G & 5G) with their own SSID name.  I couldnít get the Bloomsky to connect to the RE.  The folks at Bloomsky suggested renaming the RE to the original or names assigned by the main router.  I didnít feel comfortable doing that.  Whatís weird is that all of my other wireless devices are able to connect to the RE, i.e. Nest thermostat, IPhone, Laptop.
I tried placing it on fence and even brought it up as high as the stake would allow and I still experienced higher temps.  About 2-3+ F.  No big deal, but even to me it warranted a move.
Itís now up close on the deck and the view is about the same.  Itíll grab some early morning sun which may cause a degree or 2 higher because of the house itself about 3-4 feet away, but this is about the best I can do.  Moving the Bloomsky is not a big deal, but if youíre using the bracket with the screws itís a major pain.
I have another Bloomsky Iíll be mounting this afternoon (replacement) to catch the sunsets.  May end up moving this one a bit closer also.

I agree on the WIFI signal strength measure.  I suggested to Bloomsky that they include one in the app.  What Wi-Fi signal analyzer are you using?  Is it an app on your phone?  Most of the free ones I saw didnít do what I wanted.

Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2016, 11:38:31 AM »
VaJim,

Meraki has a built in wifi analyzer and I can see whats going on at distance from it.
I also use https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.farproc.wifi.analyzer&hl=en

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline lijun

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • BloomSky
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2016, 03:23:48 PM »
Can I borrow this topic to make an announcement that we have just enabled our knowledge base at https://bloomsky.desk.com/
which allow search by keywords for contents of interest, or you can post a public question, so that our support team can collect them with less burdens due to time zone and working hour differences.

I noticed quite a few highly technical and helpful board members sharing and exchanging various subjects about BloomSky here. I would like to encourage you help us grow our knowledge base and we will make our effort to share among all BloomSky customers in various channels we have. Our sincere appreciation for your contributions.

Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2016, 04:13:04 PM »
Can I borrow this topic to make an announcement that we have just enabled our knowledge base at https://bloomsky.desk.com/
which allow search by keywords for contents of interest, or you can post a public question, so that our support team can collect them with less burdens due to time zone and working hour differences.

I noticed quite a few highly technical and helpful board members sharing and exchanging various subjects about BloomSky here. I would like to encourage you help us grow our knowledge base and we will make our effort to share among all BloomSky customers in various channels we have. Our sincere appreciation for your contributions.

Thank you for the tip....!

Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2016, 04:45:14 PM »
Can I borrow this topic to make an announcement that we have just enabled our knowledge base at https://bloomsky.desk.com/
which allow search by keywords for contents of interest, or you can post a public question, so that our support team can collect them with less burdens due to time zone and working hour differences.

I noticed quite a few highly technical and helpful board members sharing and exchanging various subjects about BloomSky here. I would like to encourage you help us grow our knowledge base and we will make our effort to share among all BloomSky customers in various channels we have. Our sincere appreciation for your contributions.

I just answered my first question! :D

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline Jumpin Joe

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 995
    • Joe's Live Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #7 on: February 12, 2016, 07:35:51 PM »
Looks like I'm having issues with my unit.  Video was perfect for about 5 minutes when I first connected it.

Now it's all pixels.

https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS5mKaz

Anyone have any thoughts?

I brought it inside and its 5 feet from the router.

Joe
Davis Pro 2 Plus Wireless D-FARS - Weather Link Serial 5.9.2
Weather Display Version10.37S Build 6
http://www.joesweather.info
Joe's Bloomsky 

CWOP: EW2334  Blitzortung ID: 791


Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #8 on: February 12, 2016, 07:55:48 PM »
Looks like I'm having issues with my unit.  Video was perfect for about 5 minutes when I first connected it.

Now it's all pixels.

https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS5mKaz

Anyone have any thoughts?

I brought it inside and its 5 feet from the router.

Joe


Joe....just a guess but that looks like compression issue on the Bloomsky end....?  I'd give it another day or 2 before calling support. Is this your first video?   

Also....does it do that with the still image or video or both?

Offline Jumpin Joe

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 995
    • Joe's Live Weather
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #9 on: February 12, 2016, 07:59:55 PM »
Looks like I'm having issues with my unit.  Video was perfect for about 5 minutes when I first connected it.

Now it's all pixels.

https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS5mKaz

Anyone have any thoughts?

I brought it inside and its 5 feet from the router.

Joe




Joe....just a guess but that looks like compression issue on the Bloomsky end....?  I'd give it another day or 2 before calling support. Is this your first video?   

Also....does it do that with the still image or video or both?

Both..... I'll put it back outside and see what happens tonight tomorrow.

Thanks,

Joe
Davis Pro 2 Plus Wireless D-FARS - Weather Link Serial 5.9.2
Weather Display Version10.37S Build 6
http://www.joesweather.info
Joe's Bloomsky 

CWOP: EW2334  Blitzortung ID: 791


Offline denodan

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 174
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2016, 03:05:43 AM »
How would the camera stand up to a good hailstorm? Also how do you get your Bloomsky pictures or video to Weather Underground?

Offline waysta

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2016, 02:32:05 PM »
Also how do you get your Bloomsky pictures or video to Weather Underground?

You register the Bloom Sky at the Bloom Sky website for WU: www.bloomsky.com/wun .  I think you can link to WU from there, if you do not yet have a WU station ID and webcam name yet.  That WU webcam only works as a "ftp" webcam with data pushed by the Bloom Sky servers.

The Bloom Sky device ID is printed on labels on the ball, but it populates automatically if you set up the Bloom Sky using the mobile app (may be the only way to set it up).

There is no direct video.  Both the Bloom Sky and WU apps assemble (different) "videos" each day form the 5 minute stills, after sundown.

Once you have that first webcam setup and running, we noticed that WU saves each update image to their own local RAMDISK, and you can get that URL by right clicking on the WU image (at your Boom Sky WU site).

Then, you can make another WU URL webcam that uses the WU RAMDISK URL.  There may be other ways.  Also, lots of folks are experimenting with the Bloom Sky interfaces directly.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2016, 02:52:39 PM by waysta »

Offline mkutche

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 791
    • GosportWx.com
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2016, 07:49:19 PM »
I just recently purchased Bloomsky Sky2 Will the Wifi button blink when there is a router near by? Cuz I'm at my mom n dads and they have a router 2.4GHz and it's not flashing red or showing red or orange or green. grr
Mike K.
WS2080 - Cumulus MX v3.0.0
Gosport, Indiana
Gosportwx.com Gosportwx.com/PWS/ Gosportwx.com/j-template/ twitter.com/GosportINWX facebook.com/GosportWxcom
-----------------------------------------------------------

Offline SpringHillWeather

  • Weather Hobbyist
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 532
  • Spring Hill, Florida
    • Spring Hill
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #13 on: September 02, 2016, 07:55:26 PM »
I just recently purchased Bloomsky Sky2 Will the Wifi button blink when there is a router near by? Cuz I'm at my mom n dads and they have a router 2.4GHz and it's not flashing red or showing red or orange or green. grr

It only does that red/orange blinking during initial setup when trying to sync with your router.  Once its connected you will just see the green led blink once and a while.


EDIT: You have to press the Wifi button for like 7 seconds to get the RED LED to start flashing, then you can try and discover the device.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2016, 07:59:20 PM by StatenIslandWeather »
Saratoga
HomeWeatherStation
Meteotemplate
Homebrew
Ambient 1001 | ObserverIP | Meteobridge | MeteoPlug

Offline mkutche

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 791
    • GosportWx.com
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #14 on: September 02, 2016, 08:34:37 PM »
I just recently purchased Bloomsky Sky2 Will the Wifi button blink when there is a router near by? Cuz I'm at my mom n dads and they have a router 2.4GHz and it's not flashing red or showing red or orange or green. grr

It only does that red/orange blinking during initial setup when trying to sync with your router.  Once its connected you will just see the green led blink once and a while.


EDIT: You have to press the Wifi button for like 7 seconds to get the RED LED to start flashing, then you can try and discover the device.

If say you had a bad router would the wifi light even come on no matter the color?
Mike K.
WS2080 - Cumulus MX v3.0.0
Gosport, Indiana
Gosportwx.com Gosportwx.com/PWS/ Gosportwx.com/j-template/ twitter.com/GosportINWX facebook.com/GosportWxcom
-----------------------------------------------------------

Offline Aardvark

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2020
  • www.desmoinesweather.org
    • Des Moines Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: Bloomsky WIFI Range
« Reply #15 on: September 02, 2016, 11:49:37 PM »
I had received a replacement unit. I do notice the solar panel charges better, however I had to move the unit about 15 feet closer.   I asked Bloomsky  and the gest of it is 2.4GHz, weak signal and they like it because it has a greater range. 5GHz would give a better signal but shorter range.  Other things such as double pane glass with gas filled, siding, etc  cuts the strength.      I have an iphone and this app also measures field strength for better placement;
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wi-fi-sweetspots/id855457383?mt=8

Personally, I think the transmitters in these unit suck.   I had it by the Davis and although the Davis isn't wifi,  I get great signal strength.  However, the Bloomsky transmitter for these units are weak in the poop.   I have a  Linksys WRT1900ACS unit which is for large houses.  it can't get the Bloomsky , very positional.   However  I put the unit where the app indicated the best signal and it works.

Bloomsky also updated their app tonight.
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS;  Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink ;
https://www.desmoinesweather.org