Author Topic: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate  (Read 18112 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

blackjack52

  • Guest
Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« on: December 24, 2008, 07:57:15 PM »
How have you configured your graphs/tanks/meters/etc. Sharing your setup may give someone an idea.


Offline Mark / Ohio

  • Live from Mars!
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Fairfield County Weather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2008, 09:46:27 PM »
Nothing too fancy here, only what I most often want to know:

Top half



Bottom half

Mark 
2002 Davis VP I Wireless, WeatherLink (Serial), GRLevel3, VirtualVP, StartWatch, Weather Display, Windows 10


Offline chux08

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • The Whitman Lake Weather Station
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2008, 01:22:27 AM »
How does one running Vista do that? The Print Screen button does nothing. Thanks!

Offline wello

  • Welloweather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
  • Welloweather
    • Welloweather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2008, 01:39:12 AM »
Something not right there.  :?
"Print Screen" button works the same in Vista as it does in XP. What application did you try to paste it into? An image editing program or something like MS Word?
Peter
www.welloweather.info
OS WMR-200 with V14.01 P22 on Windows Vista

Offline chux08

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • The Whitman Lake Weather Station
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2008, 01:47:41 AM »
I used the clipboard using Snag-It. I've used the Printscreen button for years but frankly this is the first time I've tried it using Vista. Last time I just hit the PS button then went to the app then right clicked again and chose the paste command and bingo. Correct?? Thanks.

Offline wello

  • Welloweather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 150
  • Welloweather
    • Welloweather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2008, 02:19:11 AM »
Should work but I usually don't right click...just hit the paste icon on the menu nar. Try using it with Irfanview and see how you go.
Peter
www.welloweather.info
OS WMR-200 with V14.01 P22 on Windows Vista

Offline mackbig

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4123
    • Mackie's Main Street, Unionville, ON Canada Weather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2008, 08:45:30 AM »
chux08
I have a microsoft keyboard with multi functions accross the F keys including prtscrn adn pause break, to do a print screen I need to fit the "f lock" button.  that might be your issue if you got vista and a new pc/keyboard...

Andrew

Andrew - Davis VP2+ 6163, serial weatherlink, wireless anemometer, running Weather Display.  Boltek PCI Stormtracker, Astrogenic Nexstorm, Strikestar - UNI, CWOP CW8618, GrLevel3, (Station 2 OS WMR968, VWS 13.01p09), Windows 7-64

Offline sam2004gp

  • Mount Crawford, Virginia
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2835
  • Weeeeeeeee!!!!
    • Mount Crawford Weather, VA
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #7 on: December 26, 2008, 11:15:32 AM »
I use a freeware program called PrintKey 2000.  Unfortunatley the devolper removed the free version download from his site, and only offers a paid version now.  But I still have a copy of the freeware version if anybody wants it.  I run it on all of my machines, it allows you to select what portion of the screen you want captured and it allows you to print those captures and do some basic editing to the picture.
SAM --->>> http://www.mountcrawfordweather.org
OS WMR-968 with a Dedicated PWS Weather Computer running VWS v13.01 p09


blackjack52

  • Guest
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2008, 12:03:33 PM »
How does one running Vista do that? The Print Screen button does nothing. Thanks!

Try the Snipping Tool that comes w/ Pista.

Offline chux08

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • The Whitman Lake Weather Station
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #9 on: December 26, 2008, 11:10:37 PM »
Check! Got it, the image that is. Thanks for pointing out the snipping tool, it was easy and worked great. I've used cut&paste for a long time. Even saved it to my other picture folder in a file named vwsdesktop1, no problem there.
How do I get that image to drop in a window here or upload the image to my reply page here?? I'm familiar with a few other boards that seem to be easier to post images but I can't seem to figure that out here, sorry. I'm sure it's not hard and I've tried using both Firefox and WIE, but it sure is frustrating....

Offline Mark / Ohio

  • Live from Mars!
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Fairfield County Weather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #10 on: December 26, 2008, 11:23:12 PM »
You need to store the photo at either your own website or one of the photo sharing sites.  I use PhotoBucket.com most of the time so as not to eat up the space and bandwidth from my own site.   The forum does not have any built in storage.

I use IrfanView to re size the photo.  It's a pretty powerful program for a freebie.
Mark 
2002 Davis VP I Wireless, WeatherLink (Serial), GRLevel3, VirtualVP, StartWatch, Weather Display, Windows 10


Offline chux08

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • The Whitman Lake Weather Station
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #11 on: December 26, 2008, 11:40:47 PM »
O.K. thanks! Oh, no wonder. It's like eBay was back in the....beginning. Same thing, you had to upload your images somewhere else and then attatch them. It's all coming back to me now....I think :)

Offline mackbig

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4123
    • Mackie's Main Street, Unionville, ON Canada Weather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #12 on: December 27, 2008, 08:17:22 AM »
I dont think its a "technology" gap thing here, its the fact that this forum is run by people with money out of their own pocket, so paying for extra bandwidth is not prudent.  Whereas ebay has some revenue to pay for features like that.

Andrew

Andrew - Davis VP2+ 6163, serial weatherlink, wireless anemometer, running Weather Display.  Boltek PCI Stormtracker, Astrogenic Nexstorm, Strikestar - UNI, CWOP CW8618, GrLevel3, (Station 2 OS WMR968, VWS 13.01p09), Windows 7-64

Offline Chummy57C

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • tophtoons!
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2008, 11:09:52 PM »
This is a cool thread!  Thank you!

I asked several times in the past for someone to share how VWS was configured on the ambient webpage (it is or was just a very small image).  You'd think I had been asking for the combo to the vault at Fort Knox.  All I hoped to learn was how other users were laying out their weather station desktops for ideas on how I may improve mine.

Again, thank you!

Offline JOE

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 389
    • Centralia IL Weather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #14 on: December 29, 2008, 06:44:20 PM »
Here's part of mine.  Don't know how to show the rest of it, but you'll get the idea.  About only thing not shown are some . jpg graphs to the left for my website.

The red, white, and blue block things are so that I can view at least some of my data on my cell phone.



Joe
www.centraliaweather.com
DW1376
KILCENTR2
K9RJN


Offline sam2004gp

  • Mount Crawford, Virginia
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2835
  • Weeeeeeeee!!!!
    • Mount Crawford Weather, VA
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #15 on: December 29, 2008, 07:26:32 PM »
Okay here is mine, it is spread across 4 screens so I photoshopped them back together.

You can download the large version here: http://www.mountcrawfordweather.org//file_storage/vwsdesktop.jpg

« Last Edit: December 29, 2008, 07:37:26 PM by sam2004gp »
SAM --->>> http://www.mountcrawfordweather.org
OS WMR-968 with a Dedicated PWS Weather Computer running VWS v13.01 p09


blackjack52

  • Guest
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #16 on: December 29, 2008, 07:33:03 PM »
Thanks sam2004 for an idea.  I have METAR all around, so I'll be including some to my site.

Offline MoradaWx

  • Marada, Stockton, CA
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • I see sunshine. Let me out!
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #17 on: December 29, 2008, 08:58:56 PM »
Can I ask what screen resolution you all are using that gives you the ability to have to scroll down to see everything? I think I'm at 1600x1200 and I have gray bars at the top and bottom of the screen which is quite annoying.

Rick

Rick/Morada, CA
Davis VP2+ wireless w/24Hr fan, Enovoy & Console
VWS 14.01p31,WeatherLink5.9.2,VP live,Virtual VP, StartWatch

blackjack52

  • Guest
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #18 on: December 29, 2008, 09:34:34 PM »
I'm at 1280x800.

Offline Mark / Ohio

  • Live from Mars!
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Fairfield County Weather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #19 on: December 30, 2008, 12:40:08 AM »
Mine was from my laptop at 1280 x 800

I should add that I have mine setup so I can scroll up and down to see it but I have nothing on the right side beyond what you see.  I just left it blank.  Just my preference but I don't mind scrolling up and down using the mouse wheel but hate going side to side.
« Last Edit: December 30, 2008, 12:44:09 AM by Mark / Ohio »
Mark 
2002 Davis VP I Wireless, WeatherLink (Serial), GRLevel3, VirtualVP, StartWatch, Weather Display, Windows 10


Offline Anthony

  • Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1707
    • Anthony's Weather
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #20 on: December 30, 2008, 08:12:26 AM »
My screen resolution is 1024 x 768 and I have to scroll down and across to see my entire VWS desktop.



Thanks,
Anthony
WB8YUE

Offline sam2004gp

  • Mount Crawford, Virginia
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2835
  • Weeeeeeeee!!!!
    • Mount Crawford Weather, VA
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #21 on: December 30, 2008, 08:35:26 AM »
1024x768  is my res.  It is the highest my Pen II 300MHZ machine (dedicated weather computer) will support and at 16bit color at that.
SAM --->>> http://www.mountcrawfordweather.org
OS WMR-968 with a Dedicated PWS Weather Computer running VWS v13.01 p09


Offline MoradaWx

  • Marada, Stockton, CA
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 258
  • I see sunshine. Let me out!
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #22 on: December 30, 2008, 10:25:17 PM »
Quote
Mine was from my laptop at 1280 x 800

I should add that I have mine setup so I can scroll up and down to see it but I have nothing on the right side beyond what you see.  I just left it blank.  Just my preference but I don't mind scrolling up and down using the mouse wheel but hate going side to side

Mark I agree scrolling side to side is a pain. Up and down with the scroll wheel is much easier. It just s#%ks that I have a 20" monitor for working with Photos and Publications and we still can't take full advantage of the desk top at the higher resolutions. It had been discussed before on the other forum, but it still is on the wish list. If thats the only thing bending my beak, guess things are still pretty good.

Thanks for all the replies!

Rick

Rick/Morada, CA
Davis VP2+ wireless w/24Hr fan, Enovoy & Console
VWS 14.01p31,WeatherLink5.9.2,VP live,Virtual VP, StartWatch

Offline chux08

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • The Whitman Lake Weather Station
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #23 on: January 01, 2009, 01:03:58 AM »

Offline mmorris

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 717
  • Hope your day is full of sunshine
    • Weather and Racin
Re: Show Off Your VWS Real Estate
« Reply #24 on: January 01, 2009, 08:52:44 AM »
Well I'll post mine 22 inch wide screen monitor resolution 1680x1050 32bpp

I'm scrolling side to side






I would of went higher on the resolution but then I have a hard time reading the icon on the desk top. Eyes are shot anymore.
« Last Edit: January 01, 2009, 08:58:31 AM by mmorris »
>>Miles<<  By from Portage Lakes, OH.
Been using VWS since 1996 Ver# 14.01P43
Wireless Vantage Pro2Plus Serial Data Logger, Anemo Tran Kit
Win XP, Firefox, WXSIM, Cumulus, NexStorm, Yawcam, VVP, BadBlue Web server, Quake Catcher Net
Follow me on twitter
Vietnam era Veteran USAF bb loader
Quadruple Bypass survivor