Author Topic: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress  (Read 16980 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WA4TM

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« on: December 27, 2014, 02:14:24 AM »
Steve is working on a new version of Cumulus at the present time, it should be ready for beta testing soon..


More info here: http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12860&sid=ca1c455197af979500354575e698f074

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2014, 02:23:19 AM »
Interesting so do you know what the difference or should I say advantage. Does it offer new features? How would it interact with those that run Saratoga scripts? 
Randy

Offline WA4TM

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2014, 02:55:41 AM »
All I know about the project is covered in the link in the first post..

http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12860&sid=ca1c455197af979500354575e698f074

Online johnd

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
    • www.weatherstations.co.uk
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2014, 04:46:08 AM »
I've not seen a beta yet but AIUI:

CuMX is not simply an evolution of the current Cumulus version, but a major rewrite and reinterpretation. Perhaps the most important change is that it's intended as a multi-platform version (being written in a .Net language (not sure which one, possibly C#, not that it matters much) and so, in conjunction with Mono should run seamlessly - at least once any beta wrinkles are ironed out - on eg Linux and OSX platforms as well as Windows. So it will run on a Raspberry Pi for instance.

There's also a major change of architecture with the CuMX engine being distinct from the controlling browser-hosted GUI and various other consequential changes to the data presentations.
Prodata Weather Systems
Prodata's dedicated Davis EnviroMonitor website
UK Davis Premier Dealer - All Davis stations, accessories and spares
Littleport, Ely, Cambs UK

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4041
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2015, 04:26:01 PM »
Having a bit of fun today trying out CumulusMX (v.3.0.0.1) in Windows 8.  Different, but very nice.  I am sure there are still some things to work out, especially for non-Windows applications, before Steve releases a beta.
 
Paul

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2015, 04:36:44 PM »
Wow, that is different.
How do the graphs look? That was my biggest beef about Cumulus.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4041
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2015, 05:13:47 PM »
This is a screen shot of the Charts and haven't figured out yet what and where settings can be changed - i.e. time period
 
Paul

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2015, 05:32:19 PM »
Thanks Paul.
That's definitely an improvement. 

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2015, 08:51:55 PM »
Please keep us/me up to date on how the beta is working. I would sign up but just too busy working at the moment.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4041
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2015, 09:40:27 PM »
I have had it running and updating my websites a few times but not yet full time as a few things still to add to the alpha release.  Some things still to be overcome and other things to add, like the Weather log that I use for the Snow Index.  Quite different with it running in a DOS window with no user interface, and typing in the URL into your browser for the user interface.  Sounds complicated to me but actually easy to install and use.  This way it is usable/accessible from another computer/device connected to the local network.  I gather this is particularly interesting for those on other than Windows like Linux and Mac OS X and those wanting to run on Raspberry Pi (all Greek to me).

I have found it is less forgiving if somehow have an invalid parameter in a page with <#webtag> processing #-o

Paul

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5283
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2015, 12:01:50 AM »
Not trying to be negative here but unless I hear of some miraculous new function this version does, I would be hard pressed to change over unless it was a seamless integration with the saratoga scripts. Ability to run with different operating systems has no upside for me.
Randy

Offline Gulfcoast

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 263
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #11 on: January 06, 2015, 06:10:04 AM »
If you like the current version of Cumulus that we are using now... I suggest that you download a copy to save.

Like XP...  nothing lasts forever.

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4041
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2015, 10:19:11 AM »
Steve posted an update on CumulusMX access
http://sandaysoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=12860

Enjoy,
Paul
 
Edit:
Remember this is still a beta and not all features included yet!
« Last Edit: May 22, 2015, 10:24:27 AM by PaulMy »

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3437
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #13 on: July 19, 2015, 08:13:31 AM »
Paul, just curious how the beta test is going.

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #14 on: July 19, 2015, 08:55:35 AM »
Very cool! Looking forward to hearing more about it!  8-)
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline BigOkie

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1330
  • Tulsa, OK
    • KOKTULSA13
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #15 on: July 19, 2015, 11:44:39 AM »
I'm running it exclusively now; I love the simplicity.  It has confused a few testers who probably failed to read the FAQ initially and wondered why it doesn't give a gui interface and only opens a command line window.  Steve didn't build it that way.  The 'dashboard' runs via web socket, so to change settings, view conditions, etc, you use localhost:8998 (the port is configurable on the command line at launch time).  It also allows you to do these things remotely if you wish, however I would lock down external access unless you have a way to restrict it, as doing this via some sort of authentication isn't available (yet?).  What makes it really great is you don't need to do any conversions for Cumulus 1.x.x to the new version.  All that remains the same.  The only difference that I could tell was time formatting on the webtags; due to the change in programming language.  Pretty inconsequential in my opinion.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2015, 11:50:41 AM by BigOkie »


Current setup: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus Wireless
Weather radios:
Reecom R-1650
Sangean CL-100
Uniden Home Patrol I

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8567
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #16 on: July 19, 2015, 11:55:45 AM »
Does it run in 32bit regime on xp?

Offline BigOkie

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1330
  • Tulsa, OK
    • KOKTULSA13
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #17 on: July 19, 2015, 11:58:00 AM »
Does it run in 32bit regime on xp?

As far as I know.  I can't say for sure as I'm running Win7/64.

Another thing I should probably mention is that while Cumulus 1.x.x has a provision for rebuilding missing dayfile.txt entries and the like, CumulusMX currently doesn't.  I've gotten around that (when needed) by just keeping a copy of 1.x.x available, and if needed I copy the needed files for processing and have the old Cumulus do the processing, then shut down MX and copy the updated files to the MX path.

Also, keep in mind this is BETA software, and while it works perfectly fine for what I need it for right now, I'm sure there are still little defects to iron out.  I found one just last week, but it's to the point now where these are from weird situations and fewer and far between right now.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2015, 12:01:44 PM by BigOkie »


Current setup: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus Wireless
Weather radios:
Reecom R-1650
Sangean CL-100
Uniden Home Patrol I

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8567
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #18 on: July 19, 2015, 12:01:43 PM »
I just found it in the documentation,  no xp support so useless to me   :grin:

Offline Farmtalk

  • Fitzweather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4716
    • Fitzweather
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #19 on: July 19, 2015, 12:38:47 PM »
I just found it in the documentation,  no xp support so useless to me   :grin:

You run on XP? I haven't done that in a little while, but I think that is pretty cool; I should make a thread on what versions people are using  8-)
Weather Software-> GREarth, GRAnalyst 2.xx, MRLevel3, GRLevel 3 2.xx, Bufkit, GRLevel2, WXSim, and Radarscope.
Weather Station-> Ambient Weather WS-1090 Fine Offset
Weather Station Software-> Weather Display 10.37S, Cumulus 1.94
CoCoRaHS ID->  WV-KN-27
Administrator-> www.fitzweather.org

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8567
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #20 on: July 19, 2015, 12:54:02 PM »
Yes I use xp

Offline mcrossley

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 340
    • Wilmslow Astro
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #21 on: July 19, 2015, 12:58:11 PM »
Correct, no XP support as it uses .Net 4 which isn't supported on XP. Quite a lot of people have taken the opportunity to ditch the Windows weather station server and switch to a Raspberry Pi (or Beagle Blackbone or even a NAS box) and save lots of electricity!

I now run my site exclusively off an old model B rPi and CumulusMX
Mark

Offline BigOkie

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1330
  • Tulsa, OK
    • KOKTULSA13
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #22 on: July 19, 2015, 02:05:33 PM »
Correct, no XP support as it uses .Net 4 which isn't supported on XP. Quite a lot of people have taken the opportunity to ditch the Windows weather station server and switch to a Raspberry Pi (or Beagle Blackbone or even a NAS box) and save lots of electricity!

I now run my site exclusively off an old model B rPi and CumulusMX

I have a Pi2 now also but keep seeing people having issues running with Mono, so for now I'm keeping MX on the Windows box (soon to be Windows 10).


Current setup: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus Wireless
Weather radios:
Reecom R-1650
Sangean CL-100
Uniden Home Patrol I

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8567
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #23 on: July 19, 2015, 02:16:53 PM »
Yes that is correct,  it is the Net framework causing the problem. I can't open it

Offline WxFox

  • Northern Androscoggin Weather
  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 70
  • Happiness is having my toes in the warm sand.
    • Northern Androscoggin County Weather
Re: Cumulus 3 (MX) in progress
« Reply #24 on: October 24, 2015, 01:24:48 PM »
I just switched to Cumulus MX on Raspberry Pi Model B version 2 yesterday. I plan to stay with it. I was running Cumulus 1 on an old Windows XP machine and after many hardware replacements and repairs, and it showing signs again of needing more (repeatedly shutting down for unknown reasons) I decided I needed a more reliable setup. RPi is inexpensive, simple and reliable. You don't even need a fan and it's not much bigger than a deck of cards. I also have Thunderbird email and Iceweasel (Firefox) on it and much more. $35 for a brand new computer with quad core processor? Hell yeah!
Davis VP2 (cabled) Uploading to PWS, Weather Underground, Weathercloud, WOW, WeatherBug, AWEKAS and Twitter, using Cumulus.  Cabled = fewer problems, less maintenance and better reliability!

Northern Androscoggin Weather:
http://home.myfairpoint.net/~jody2011/index.php
Mobile friendly: http://home.myfairpoint.net/~jody2011//iCumulus/#_home
CWOP AV346

 

anything