Author Topic: Multiple ISS  (Read 4664 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Multiple ISS
« on: October 18, 2008, 08:32:20 PM »
Can the console handle more than one ISS?  There is a station button on the console.  So one would think you could switch stations by hitting the button.  But for some reason, if I go into setup and turn station 1 or 2 on, after hitting done, only 1 will show up.  If I turn off 1 and on 2, then only 2 shows up.

Just curious.  If it doesn't work, I'll use my station with the FARS as the one I hook to the PC.  Use the other one as a "backup" station.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts

Offline jruys

  • Yo
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 221
    • Highlands Ranch Weather
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2008, 11:15:24 PM »
Did you make sure that you set the channels on each one to something different?

Offline tomcj2

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 848
    • CanbyWeather
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #2 on: October 19, 2008, 12:18:37 AM »
Sorry, only one ISS allowed.

Look at page 10 of the VP2 Manual
http://www.davisnet.com/product_documents/weather/manuals/07395-234_IM_06312.pdf


Davis VP2 (6163), WL 5.9.0..  VWS 14.01 p25, Panasonic HM371A camera. WU & W4U KORCANBY3, CoCoRaHS OR-CC-27

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2008, 12:56:21 PM »
Thanks.  I was looking in the ISS manuals and couldn't find anything.  Makes you wonder what the station button is for.

But yes, you can setup "station" numbers.  I have a FARS on station #2, my original one on station #1, and the wireless anemometer on station 8.  That way nothing interferes with each other.

I was just thinking, what if I just called it a temp/humid sensor?  When I put up the wireless anemometer kit, the board looks exactly like my ISS board.  So I'd bet that would work.  Only thing is that I'd like to leave up the second station somewhere else in my yard for a second rain gauge.
https://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts

Offline d_l

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1698
  • Slide Mtn - Mt Rose
    • Thomas Creek Estates neighborhood weather
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2009, 08:38:17 PM »
I'm sure you already know this by now, but yes, you can set up the second station as a temp/hum station in the Set Transceiver window.  I have a mystery station nearby (exact location unknown) that broadcasts on ID #1 and overpowers my VP2 ISS's output.  I've had to set my equipment to any ID other than #1.

So to make use of that mystery station, I've set it to be a Temp Hum station and now compare those readings to mine.  I think it could be a daytime-only FARS ISS because of the way it retains heat at night and doesn't cool as fast as my 24 hr. FARS.  I've found the morning temperature differential is a rough measure of how calm and clear the night before was.
--Dave--

Wireless VP2 w/ solar, 24hr FARS, Heater, (Envoy-WLIP)*3-Meteohub, plus custom VP2 @ 26', WL 6.0.3, WU & W4U=KNVRENO37 NetcamXL

People always talk about the weather, but they never do anything about it.  Not me.  I'm gonna measure it.  https://www.tceweather.com

Offline Carson Weather

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • http://www.carsonweather.com
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2009, 10:07:22 PM »
I'm sure you already know this by now, but yes, you can set up the second station as a temp/hum station .....

I didn't know it but I do now  :shock:

I just talked to my five houses away neighbor and told him what his temp and humidity were :)
I guess I need to enable the rest of my channels and see if there is anyone else nearby!

Offline d_l

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1698
  • Slide Mtn - Mt Rose
    • Thomas Creek Estates neighborhood weather
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2009, 10:28:42 PM »
I just talked to my five houses away neighbor and told him what his temp and humidity were :)

Well thats cool!

You can always run a comparison of his readings to yours like I do in Weatherlink as a quality check or to understand the microclimate of your neighborhood. In a pinch if you ever have to shut off your ISS or if it has an outage, you can switch your station reception over to his ID# so your weather readings/reporting won't miss a beat.  :grin:
--Dave--

Wireless VP2 w/ solar, 24hr FARS, Heater, (Envoy-WLIP)*3-Meteohub, plus custom VP2 @ 26', WL 6.0.3, WU & W4U=KNVRENO37 NetcamXL

People always talk about the weather, but they never do anything about it.  Not me.  I'm gonna measure it.  https://www.tceweather.com

Offline offroadjosh

  • Davis Vp2 Wireless- VWS 14 P90 Serial Data logger
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 967
  • Montana Firefighter
    • My Website=)
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2009, 01:11:05 AM »
station button?



josh
Josh Patten

Davis VP2 Wireless -May 2008
VWS 14.00P90\WL 5.9.9/Plus others!
Skywarn trained
CoCoRaHS member
Smith Valley Fire Dept Firefighter:)
http://josh.northwestwx.com/station/usa.htm
CWOP-DW0711
Kestrel 2000 hand held anemometer
Cocorahs 4in rain gauge
Custom co

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7344
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2009, 01:29:59 AM »
There's no station button - just a station setup screen that can get you access to other stations (temp/hum etc.)
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

blackjack52

  • Guest
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2009, 05:49:14 PM »
Well gosh darnit....this is cool. 

Offline Carson Weather

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • http://www.carsonweather.com
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2009, 11:00:27 PM »
In a pinch if you ever have to shut off your ISS or if it has an outage, you can switch your station reception over to his ID# so your weather readings/reporting won't miss a beat.  :grin:

Actually, he called me up two days ago and remarked at how closely out temps were tracking. After further discussion, we determined that our temps were identical.  It was then that I realized I had been puling data from his site for the entire previous week!  I had lost comm with my ISS and while dinking around with it, had tied my console to HIS ISS instead of mine. :oops:

For anypne who is wondering, my unit is 5' above the ground. His is mounted on his roof via the tripod. My morning lows are 2-3 degrees cooler and afternoons are 2-3 degrees warmer. Right now, two hours after sunset, I'm 29 and he's 32. (My OS928 sensor which is in the same shield as my Davis is also 29)

Offline d_l

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1698
  • Slide Mtn - Mt Rose
    • Thomas Creek Estates neighborhood weather
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #11 on: January 14, 2009, 11:15:44 PM »
It was then that I realized I had been puling data from his site for the entire previous week!  I had lost comm with my ISS and while dinking around with it, had tied my console to HIS ISS instead of mine. :oops:

LOL That's too funny! :lol:

Do you suppose that the temperature differences between yours and his is due to the thermal inertia of his roof vs. whatever is under your ISS? I'm assuming that you both have FARS or non-FARS ISSes.
--Dave--

Wireless VP2 w/ solar, 24hr FARS, Heater, (Envoy-WLIP)*3-Meteohub, plus custom VP2 @ 26', WL 6.0.3, WU & W4U=KNVRENO37 NetcamXL

People always talk about the weather, but they never do anything about it.  Not me.  I'm gonna measure it.  https://www.tceweather.com

Offline Carson Weather

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
    • http://www.carsonweather.com
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2009, 12:06:19 AM »

Do you suppose that the temperature differences between yours and his is due to the thermal inertia of his roof vs. whatever is under your ISS? I'm assuming that you both have FARS or non-FARS ISSes.

That's my guess. Winds have been nonexistant today. I'll be checking to see if we track any differently when they get up to 25-30mph. I'd think that what's underneath the ISS would matter much less in those conditions.

Offline d_l

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1698
  • Slide Mtn - Mt Rose
    • Thomas Creek Estates neighborhood weather
Re: Multiple ISS
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2009, 12:44:35 AM »
When the wind bumps up a little here, say over 5 mph or so, my night time temperatures close the big gap (5-10 degees) with the warmer mystery station.  I've thought that might be due to adiabatic heating of the downslope winds or that higher elevation air is simply warmer than the air at my level.  The mystery station simply doesn't respond to rapid changes in air temperatures as fast as mine because maybe it is non-aspirated?  I don't know.

I wish I could find it to know for certain why it reacts differently.  I've driven slowly around the neighborhood looking for anemometers on roofs.  LOL I'm a little worried about what it looks like I'm doing because some burglaries the past year have caused the neighborhood to start a watch program. My license plate number has probably been reported to the sheriff several times.  :lol:
--Dave--

Wireless VP2 w/ solar, 24hr FARS, Heater, (Envoy-WLIP)*3-Meteohub, plus custom VP2 @ 26', WL 6.0.3, WU & W4U=KNVRENO37 NetcamXL

People always talk about the weather, but they never do anything about it.  Not me.  I'm gonna measure it.  https://www.tceweather.com

 

anything