Author Topic: About the Solar Sensor  (Read 2780 times)

Offline wxtech

• Weather Equipment Technician
  • Forecaster
  • USAF Weather Equipment Maintenance Tech (retired)
    • Lexington, Ga. Weather
About the Solar Sensor
« on: April 22, 2014, 03:31:49 PM »
You may know that I was a technician before retiring.  If it has screws, that's an invitation to open for exploration.  If it doesn't have screws, then I must saw it open.  Anyway, I had a cruddy Solar and UV sensor pair that needed cleaning.  I thought longer cables would allow me to terminate all the Davis sensors in a J-box.
So now, I have an enclosure with easy connections to Solar, UV, rain gauge, anemometer, 2 solar power panels, and the aspirator fan motor.
The project begins.
Al Washington, Lexington, Ga.,  NWS Coop station=LXTG1, Fischer Porter, SRG, MMTS. 
CoCoRaHS=GA-OG-1. CWOP=CW2074.  Davis VP2+ WLIP 5.9.2, VP(original) serial, VWS v15.00 p02. ImageSalsa, Win7 & Win8 all-in-one.

Offline wxtech

• Forecaster
    • Lexington, Ga. Weather
Re: About the Solar Sensor
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2014, 03:34:04 PM »
Opening the solar sensor enclosure, I find the circuit board.  I draw a schematic from the board pattern.
Al Washington, Lexington, Ga.,  NWS Coop station=LXTG1, Fischer Porter, SRG, MMTS. 
CoCoRaHS=GA-OG-1. CWOP=CW2074.  Davis VP2+ WLIP 5.9.2, VP(original) serial, VWS v15.00 p02. ImageSalsa, Win7 & Win8 all-in-one.

Offline wxtech

• Forecaster
    • Lexington, Ga. Weather
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2014, 03:38:38 PM »
I provided a schematic of the solar sensor on other topics.  I don't know where that schematic came from.  This is the first time I've seen the circuit pattern and now I've drawn my version of the circuit.  Attached is a diagram that I believe is correct.

Offline wxtech

• Forecaster
    • Lexington, Ga. Weather
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2014, 03:54:29 PM »