Author Topic: VWS and Windows 10  (Read 1227 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 5206
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
VWS and Windows 10
« on: January 20, 2016, 04:20:38 PM »
I'm still running my production system with Windows 7-Pro, but have a test weather software system with Windows 10-Pro.
I tried to run VWS 15p03, and received an error message (attached) -- VWS wouldn't start.

I contacted Ed and he said
Quote
Just delete the file c:\vws\WININET.dll and restart

Regards

Ed

so I renamed WININET.dll to old-WININET.dll, then VWS would start and work again.  This may only happen with folks who have older installations of VWS and have updated them over the years, but it's something to be aware of.

Happy updating...

Best regards,
Ken
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline pwdiver

  • Beach Area Weather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
  • My 1972 Challenger
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2016, 06:55:14 AM »
Ive updated my Hard drive with the SSD drive had to reload win 10 for what ever reason I cant seem to get VWS to load I have the latest version. I keep getting some message that say's no software will be installed or removed. Any help would be appreciated ](*,)

Offline pwdiver

  • Beach Area Weather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
  • My 1972 Challenger
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2016, 09:25:01 AM »
I finally got it working this morning. \:D/

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 382
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2016, 12:58:33 PM »
One tip on working with both Windows 10 and Windows 8 for that matter.  Even when you do a "restart" in the menu, it isn't a full restart like Windows 7 and older does.

I've had issues where an install hung and I had to do a reboot.  Start the install again and it would say a previous install was already working.

To do a full and true restart in Windows 8 and 10, go to the Command Prompt.  Run shutdown /r /t 0 .  That is /r for restart.  /t 0 is time zero seconds until reboot.  You can do a /s for shutdown instead of /r if you wanted to as well.
BismarckWeather.net

Offline cfuller57

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2016, 11:06:48 AM »
Instead of using the cmd prompt, right click the Window Button, aka Start Button, and choose restart.
This will do the same thing.

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 382
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2016, 11:25:52 AM »
Not always.  Sometimes the restart is to just reload what is cached.  Windows 8/10 have a "quick boot" feature.  That right click restart is just a reload of the quick boot.

I've been in situations where I was installing software, and the installation would fail.  Second attempt to install anything would fail stating a previous installation was still in process.  A regular restart wouldn't fix it.

That's when you have to resort to the command prompt restart, which is more like Windows 7 full restart.
BismarckWeather.net

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 382
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2016, 11:31:56 AM »
I guess it's called Fast Boot in Windows 8, and Fast Startup in Windows 10.  But they both have it.  It's a hybrid shutdown to a hibernate file, and boot back up again off the hibernate file.  Usually that's fine, but sometimes can cause issues.

http://www.howtogeek.com/243901/the-pros-and-cons-of-windows-10s-fast-startup-mode/
BismarckWeather.net

Offline pwdiver

  • Beach Area Weather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
  • My 1972 Challenger
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2016, 06:59:39 AM »
Well for what ever reason when my computer updated the win 10 version to a newer one my VWS software stopped working, it would not let me open the file at all that I might not have administrator access. Ive never seen this before so I tried to reinstall all I get is a message stating that no software was installed or removed Ive got VWS downloads saved on a backup drive that wont install either. ](*,)

Offline stevebrtx

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
    • Lake Chapala Mexico Weather Net
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2016, 04:35:22 PM »
I've not had to reinstall in Win8.1, but in the past when I did in XP and Win7 I always had to go in and delete the VWS Installer folder in Programs. Don't know if that's what's happening in your case or not.

I just bought a little HP running Win8.1 as a backup, I absolutely will not go to Win10, I'll go to Apple or Linux.

Offline pwdiver

  • Beach Area Weather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
  • My 1972 Challenger
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #9 on: June 27, 2016, 09:37:19 PM »
Thanks for the info Ive got WD installed and up and running I think Ill try this for a while I have been using VWS since 2005. Ill try to get my VWS at some point.

Offline swl2

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Adrian Weather
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2016, 08:32:27 PM »
Being concerned that Microsoft will stop supporting Windows 7 in the near future, I finally bit the bullet and updated to Windows 10 4 days ago. I'm running Parallels on an iMac so I can continue to use VWS V15.00, p03 (and also Quicken). I was using WeatherLink 5.7 with a serial driver to USB connection, and after the Windows 10 installation, I did get the WININET error, and fixed that, but then found that my Davis VP2 console cannot communicate with the PC anymore. I ran an update and troubleshooter in the Device Manager, and it tells me the driver is OK (no updates), but also states that "This device cannot start (Code 10)", and also "A device which does not exist was specified".

A call to Davis Tech Support advised me to update to WeatherLink 6.0.3, which I have done, and I still have the same messages in the driver properties. Also, in the WeatherLink set-up walkthrough, it cannot communicate with the device, either. In trying to Test the port, it says "Error (-11) opening COM9. It is not present on your system, or is in use by another program".

Guess I should have stayed on Windows 7! Anybody have any idea of what is going on (or not) here? Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Offline pwdiver

  • Beach Area Weather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 227
  • My 1972 Challenger
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #11 on: June 28, 2016, 09:00:36 PM »
I had a problem with VWS not wanting to run after updating last summer to win 10. I ended up updating to V15.00 p05 which is under the VWS topic I believe there is a beta after installing it I was able to get mine running. Windows 10 forum has been a big help http://www.tenforums.com/ with a wide range of topic's.

Offline StatenIslandWeather

  • Tech
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 300
  • Staten Island, New York
    • StatenIslandWeather
Re: VWS and Windows 10
« Reply #12 on: June 28, 2016, 09:48:14 PM »

Guess I should have stayed on Windows 7! Anybody have any idea of what is going on (or not) here? Thanks in advance for your assistance!

If you can't resolve the problem with Win10 and want to rollback here is a link to do that.

How to rollback to Previous version of Windows

Saratoga http://statenislandweather.net
Leuven http://dhweather.net
Meteotemplate http://donganhillsweather.net
HomeBrew http://nyweather.net




Ambient 1001 Wifi | ObserverIP | Meteobridge | MeteoPlug