Author Topic: One more ??  (Read 1589 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline oleweatherfan

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 355
    • bsudweather
One more ??
« on: October 05, 2012, 05:34:17 PM »
If I already have a 5 in 1 sensor can I just buy another console (USB compatible) and the new bridge that's coming out?? Or will I have to buy a whole other unit with everything? My console i have now will not connect to pc.
<object width="290" height="130"><param name="movie" value="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" /><embed src="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="290" height="130" /></object>

Offline vreihen

  • El Niņo chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • K2BIG
Re: One more ??
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2012, 06:10:43 PM »
If I already have a 5 in 1 sensor can I just buy another console (USB compatible) and the new bridge that's coming out?? Or will I have to buy a whole other unit with everything? My console i have now will not connect to pc.

Unless you plan to collect data with both the PC and bridge, you don't need both a new bridge and console.  (For that matter, I don't recall seeing mention in the online docs of the 01055 console that comes with the $199 bridge bundle containing a USB port, so you may have to go the parts route to buy another console with USB support if you need both.)

I originally purchased the 01515 bundle with no USB support, and added a 01035 console from the AcuRite parts store to get PC upload capability while waiting for the bridge to be released.  Both read from the same 5-in-1 sensor.  Depending on the availability of the bridge as parts, I may buy a complete new package and mount the additional 5-in-1 sensor in another location around the yard.....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline oleweatherfan

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 355
    • bsudweather
Re: One more ??
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2012, 06:32:35 PM »
If I already have a 5 in 1 sensor can I just buy another console (USB compatible) and the new bridge that's coming out?? Or will I have to buy a whole other unit with everything? My console i have now will not connect to pc.

Unless you plan to collect data with both the PC and bridge, you don't need both a new bridge and console.  (For that matter, I don't recall seeing mention in the online docs of the 01055 console that comes with the $199 bridge bundle containing a USB port, so you may have to go the parts route to buy another console with USB support if you need both.)



I originally purchased the 01515 bundle with no USB support, and added a 01035 console from the AcuRite parts store to get PC upload capability while waiting for the bridge to be released.  Both read from the same 5-in-1 sensor.  Depending on the availability of the bridge as parts, I may buy a complete new package and mount the additional 5-in-1 sensor in another location around the yard.....

So you don't even have to have a console for the bridge to work? It just connects to outside sensor then relays data to program on PC? And yea I may just buy the complete thing and have 2 :grin:
<object width="290" height="130"><param name="movie" value="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" /><embed src="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="290" height="130" /></object>

Offline vreihen

  • El Niņo chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • K2BIG
Re: One more ??
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2012, 08:10:02 AM »
So you don't even have to have a console for the bridge to work? It just connects to outside sensor then relays data to program on PC? And yea I may just buy the complete thing and have 2 :grin:

With the bridge, you don't even need a PC!!!  It plugs directly into an ethernet port on your home broadband router, listens for the wireless data from the 5-in-1 sensor(s), and sends that data up to Acu-Link (My Backyard Weather).  From MBW, you can choose to feed Weather Underground if you wish.

At least with the current generation of bridge firmware, where is no way to pull data from the bridge locally via PC.  If you would also like to log your data locally or use a PC program like Weather Display to also feed your own personal weather web site, you will need one of the consoles with a USB interface (01025/01035, 01525).  We will all have to wait until Halloween or so to find out if there is a local export option with the new bridge.

Another benefit of the bridge is that it is the only method of uploading multiple sensor packages to MBW.  With the USB interface, you can only upload data from one 5-in-1 sensor package.  With the bridge, you can have two 5-in-1 sensors, add on a pool sensor or standalone air temperature sensor, etc.....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline oleweatherfan

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 355
    • bsudweather
Re: One more ??
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2012, 09:34:11 AM »
So you don't even have to have a console for the bridge to work? It just connects to outside sensor then relays data to program on PC? And yea I may just buy the complete thing and have 2 :grin:

With the bridge, you don't even need a PC!!!  It plugs directly into an ethernet port on your home broadband router, listens for the wireless data from the 5-in-1 sensor(s), and sends that data up to Acu-Link (My Backyard Weather).  From MBW, you can choose to feed Weather Underground if you wish.

At least with the current generation of bridge firmware, where is no way to pull data from the bridge locally via PC.  If you would also like to log your data locally or use a PC program like Weather Display to also feed your own personal weather web site, you will need one of the consoles with a USB interface (01025/01035, 01525).  We will all have to wait until Halloween or so to find out if there is a local export option with the new bridge.

Another benefit of the bridge is that it is the only method of uploading multiple sensor packages to MBW.  With the USB interface, you can only upload data from one 5-in-1 sensor package.  With the bridge, you can have two 5-in-1 sensors, add on a pool sensor or standalone air temperature sensor, etc.....

So if I wanted to add a USB console to the PC for other software and also add the bridge to feed MBW I could do that and still use my 1010 console in another room?
<object width="290" height="130"><param name="movie" value="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" /><embed src="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="290" height="130" /></object>

Offline vreihen

  • El Niņo chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 989
  • K2BIG
Re: One more ??
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2012, 11:46:33 AM »
So if I wanted to add a USB console to the PC for other software and also add the bridge to feed MBW I could do that and still use my 1010 console in another room?

Absolutely!  As long as they can all see the 5-in-1's signal, you can have as many consoles as you want.  My 1515 is hanging in the kitchen, and my 1035 (with USB) is on a shelf in the computer room where it is connected to a tiny little palmtop PC to do the MBW uploads.  This is the beauty of the AcuRite system.  When I get the bridge, it will be going in the computer room in place of the 1035, which I will then relocate to near the back door (where the tattered remains of my last wireless outdoor thermometer from another manufacturer are still hanging).....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline oleweatherfan

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 355
    • bsudweather
Re: One more ??
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2012, 11:51:06 AM »
So if I wanted to add a USB console to the PC for other software and also add the bridge to feed MBW I could do that and still use my 1010 console in another room?

Absolutely!  As long as they can all see the 5-in-1's signal, you can have as many consoles as you want.  My 1515 is hanging in the kitchen, and my 1035 (with USB) is on a shelf in the computer room where it is connected to a tiny little palmtop PC to do the MBW uploads.  This is the beauty ijof the AcuRite system.  When I get the bridge, it will be going in the computer room in place of the 1035, which I will then relocate to near the back door (where the tattered remains of my last wireless outdoor thermometer from another manufacturer are still hanging).....

That sounds great!! Now gonna sit back and wait on the bridge to come out!! Suppose to be sometime this month correct?
<object width="290" height="130"><param name="movie" value="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" /><embed src="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="290" height="130" /></object>

Offline oleweatherfan

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 355
    • bsudweather
Re: One more ??
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2012, 04:37:36 PM »
Are the any other free software programs that will work with the 5 in 1 other than MBW??
<object width="290" height="130"><param name="movie" value="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" /><embed src="http://www.wunderground.com/swf/pws_mini_rf_nc.swf?station=KSCLIBER3&freq=3.0&units=english&lang=EN" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="290" height="130" /></object>