Author Topic: Serial to USB for La Crosse WS-2315  (Read 19540 times)

Offline KB3NRY

Serial to USB for La Crosse WS-2315
« on: April 18, 2008, 09:21:08 AM »
Hey all!

I'm pretty new to the whole weather station thing and trying to learn.  Weather has always been something that is interesting to me.  Anyway, I have a WS-2315 and I'd like to upload the data to my computer and eventually, hopefully, get it on the internet.  I need a USB to serial cable that will work with my Windows Vista laptop and the weather station.  (I think Vista shouldn't be a problem at this point, but I thought I' mention it in case it could be.)  I know that many cables aren't compatible.  I actually have a USB to Serial cable that works for 2 other devices (Amateur and shortwave radios), but it will not recognize my weather station when I try plugging that in.  The Heavy Weather software says to plug the system in and it will automatically recognize it and start receiving data, but it never does for me.  I've tried setting it up to the correct COM port and all, but I have had no luck.

Does anyone know a specific cable that will work with this station.  I don't think I saw one on La Crosse's website.  I'd rather not have to keep buying and guessing to get on that will work with this station.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline wuhu_software

• Forecaster
    • WUHU Software Yahoo Group
Re: Serial to USB for La Crosse WS-2315
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 10:09:42 AM »
Hey all!