Author Topic: Wireless Desktop  (Read 1274 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Gulfcoast

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 206
Wireless Desktop
« on: January 29, 2012, 02:22:00 PM »
I need to connect a second desktop computer to cable internet, but it's in the opposite end of my home.

I have a Cisco wireless router that sends a good signal all over the house. I have a 54 Mbps wireless PCI card... think it be a RELIABLE connection, or should I use something better?

It's no fun to chase walls (with braces in them) to run cat5 cable.

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4426
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2012, 02:58:18 PM »
Similar to what I use for 3 laptops. SHould be fine.  You can also check into Ethernet over powerline is you have to have cables.  Not sure how well they work.  Example:  http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=533

I have to wonder if it would work with a WL console...  Hmmm....

Online SteveFitz1

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 212
    • http://www.TylerTexasWeather.Com
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2012, 03:00:16 PM »
I'd recommend a Powerline adapter.

http://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Powerline-Adapter-TPL-303E2K-White/dp/B00392CI7E

I installed this unit at a friend's house because his wife didn't want wireless. It works great for him.

Steve

Offline RodW

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2012, 03:39:29 PM »
I know pulling cat5 or cat6  cable through the house is not fun cos I did it recently as documented here:
 http://www.extreame.net.au/topic/4050-my-home-network-build/
I did get cable to every room and managed to use existing wiring to pull the wires through to existing face plates except for one room that I resorted to external wiring utilising the same conduit that I used for an external wireless access point. I was able to use phone wires and TV coax to do this rather than have to drill holes through the wall braces. Network cables are meant to be kept separate from power lines but in an earlier house I used the power cables to pull the network cable through without ill effect. I used cat 6e cables, switches and connectors which is a bit more expensive but is the current standard.

I've been sharing cable via wireless for 8 years or so and still use wireless for a number of devices. A good wifi hotspot should give you wireless coverage over the whole house and in my experience newer hardware has a better signal and coverage than older hardware. my cable modem is at one end and my Netgear WNDR4500 modem. The fact that you have a 54 mb Wireless G card indicates that you have older hardware as the newer hardware is Wireless N which is 150-300 mb. In the past, I used external antennas on the router and network cards at the far end but with my current wifi hardware, this is not necessary. I looked at the power wire systems and thought for the bandwidth they were fairly expensive but are great in units where the walls are solid.

I am very pleased with the end result and the ability to hardwire in most devices to a gigabit network. Not every one wold botherbut I think th house is now future proof (even if I need to pull some more wires for my weather station soon...

Rod

Offline Gulfcoast

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 206
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2012, 03:54:42 PM »
My Linksys router manual says it works on both G and N, so it's not that old.

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4426
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2012, 10:05:52 AM »
Taking my own advice I wandered out and grabbed the DLink powerline ethernet starter kit.  Works like a charm and much gfaster than my wireless.  This in an old house that is basically a Faraday cage - lots of wire mesh and really thick walls.  Highly recommended for 80 bucks. 

Offline Cienega32

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2573
    • East Mesa Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2012, 10:49:06 PM »
Any distance limitations on that DLink unit?

Pat ~ Davis VP2 6153-Weatherlink-Weather Display-StartWatch-VirtualVP-Win7 Pro-64bit
www.LasCruces-Weather.com   www.EastMesaWeather.com

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4426
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2012, 10:56:02 PM »
I dunno - how big is your house?  I've used it to run at least 100 feet (garage).  Works fine.

Offline Cienega32

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2573
    • East Mesa Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2012, 11:14:33 PM »
I dunno - how big is your house?  I've used it to run at least 100 feet (garage).  Works fine.

I was thinking of my detached building - sub-panel off of a 120 foot run from the main panel which is about 50 feet from "Network HQ".

Pat ~ Davis VP2 6153-Weatherlink-Weather Display-StartWatch-VirtualVP-Win7 Pro-64bit
www.LasCruces-Weather.com   www.EastMesaWeather.com

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4426
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2012, 11:49:46 PM »
Walmart sells the starter kit for about 80 bucks.  Give it a shot I say.  My house is built like a Faraday Cage so I had to do something to get access - and the Dlink EOP is 2-3 times as fast.  I am satisfied with it. YMMV

Offline Gulfcoast

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 206

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4426
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #11 on: February 01, 2012, 09:27:55 AM »
My Dlink is diff  but yeah, they can be had for cheaper.  I've seen some for 40 bucks.  I am happy with the Dlink ones I got.

Offline Cienega32

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2573
    • East Mesa Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #12 on: February 07, 2012, 06:36:19 AM »
Walmart sells the starter kit for about 80 bucks.  Give it a shot I say.  My house is built like a Faraday Cage so I had to do something to get access - and the Dlink EOP is 2-3 times as fast.  I am satisfied with it. YMMV

Both structures are stucco with the wire mesh so this solution interests me. 80 bucks doesn't sound bad.

Pat ~ Davis VP2 6153-Weatherlink-Weather Display-StartWatch-VirtualVP-Win7 Pro-64bit
www.LasCruces-Weather.com   www.EastMesaWeather.com

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4426
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Wireless Desktop
« Reply #13 on: February 07, 2012, 09:47:26 AM »
Another thing I just discovered is that my Samsung Blu Ray player is Ethernet equipped.  The plasma is in the basement where wireless was crappy, but I can now get one of these modules and plug my player/tv right into it to deliver Netlix etc.  :)  I am pretty pleased  with that new option now, too.  Also Dlink (and I am sure others) offer a wireless  module so one  and add another wireless point in the house  or garage without having to set up bridges, etc.

 

anything