Author Topic: Weather Display now works with the stations 01025/01035 and mybackyard weather  (Read 6659 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Hi
I now have added support for direct connection via the USB connection to the PC
with the console set to mode 3 or mode 4
if you have previously installed WD before, then make sure to delete the hid.dll where WD is installed

I have also now added support to upload to mybackyard weather directly from weather display (does so every 5 minutes)
simply complete the Mac address (from the back of your console), in the weather station type, acu-rite tab
click on register
then tick enable
and send a test
and then click on the URL to view your data
(you will then need to activate it on the server though (by entering the Mac address) via the add bridge link
after first registering and account on the acu rite server)

download this update from
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/wdisplay32.exe
version 10.37R Build 8
(temporary location, will return to normal download after beta testing)
let me know how it goes

I have attached a screen shot of my data on the acu rite backyard server :)



there seems to be a bug on the acu rite server for the barometer pressure calculation though
« Last Edit: January 25, 2012, 12:16:41 PM by Weather Display »
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
just re updated this special version
as I did not have the windspeed calibrated correctly and there was a problem with the rain
all good now with the new update

just installed the andriod mobile app

http://www.acurite.com/mybackyardweather#phone

works great, I am impressed


« Last Edit: January 24, 2012, 02:58:11 PM by Weather Display »
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Rhino

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 244

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
photo of the android app on my phone, updated via WD, just to prove it, hehe :)
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Brian I am seeing strange drops in pressure and temperature. See attached graphic.

10.37R Build 07.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
makes sure to be using the latest version of WD

but also, does that data spikes show in WD itself?

also is the acurite service program not running?
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
I thought I had the last build but I see you made a slight change to the rainfall.

I did not look at the WD display. But I will and report back.

I don't run the acurite service. Why would I?

I discovered that the drops started appearing in the Wunderground data near midnight on the 25th.

Today the readings are up and down and getting worse.

08:30      -8.5 C   -   -12.2 C   1023.6hPa   Calm          0.0km/h   75%   0.0mm / 0.0mm total
08:36      -7.0 C   -   -8.9 C   1016.8hPa   ENE   4.3km/h    -      86%    - / 0.0mm total
08:45      -8.5 C   -   -12.2 C   1023.6hPa   Calm          0.0km/h   75%   0.0mm / 0.0mm total

I can see a pattern. When there is a wind reading (i.e. 4.3km/h) the temp and pressure drop and the RH jumps.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
that will happen with the design of the temperature /humidity housing
i.e stagnat air gets trapped underneath and inside where the temp/hum sensor is
that is different to the air outside
you then get some wind, and then stirs it up, refreshing it, and you then get a correct reading

others have noticed this as well
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
I finally figured out why sometimes WD would update OK to mybackyard weather and other times it would not
I was not correctly formated the sensor ID and also the wind direction
build 09 fixes both of those issues :)
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Build 09 is still showing the bad data. The readings in WD do not seem to be effected but I did not look closely at the logs. I may in the next few days if I get time. Attached is the plot from yesterday. You can see where installed the new version in the evening.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
looks alot better to me
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
The pressure drops 2.5 hPa and jumps back up again over a period of 10 minutes. It never did that before. The temperature also fluctuates a full degree in 10 minutes and it is getting worse.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
it was doing that but is not after 6pm
is what I can see
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Trust me it was. Here is another example from today. One from WU and one from WD.



 

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
are you sure my backyard weather is not set to share (i.e update) to wunderground ?
(i.e there might be 2 data sources)
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Ahh the Weather Center Service was started again! Most likely when I rebooted. I thought I had purged that "piece of ..." from my system. Obviously I was not thorough enough.

Thanks Brian.

It was a little confusing too because acurite.exe shows up in the Task Manager processes which we know is your process along with weatherd.exe. Then there is weathercenterservice from Acru-Rite. But in the Computer Mgmt it lists Acurite Weather ... Expanding the column I noticed the ...Center Service.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
ps, I have indoor temperature and indoor humidity working for WD from the acu rite station
(every 12 minute update of that data only)
will get a new update out soon
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
indoor temperature/humidity now working with the latest .zip update
(make sure the console is set to mode 3)
« Last Edit: February 02, 2012, 03:29:32 AM by Weather Display »
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
new .zip update has some improvements for data quality checking
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
build 10 will now use the history data stored on the console (USB mode 3) to let WD catch up on data since it was last running
(the data is stored every 12 minutes)
make sure to turn on the switch under control panel, data logger setup
I also added a new feature: WDL built into WD
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Hi
Been working on the acu rite support more
I now have added a data check that is base on the sensor ID number
it must match the first one found on program start up
this will be a good data integrity check
this should also get rid of the 'ghosting' on the acu rite server
I also added a data outlier spike check as well
also a few users reported problems with the data reader with the indoor data download every 12 minutes
the separate data reader program now restarts every 12 minutes to clear out any problems

WD vers 10.37R Build 13 :)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2012, 04:59:43 PM by Weather Display »
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline jfp51

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Thank you for your work on supporting our station. Recent purchaser of your product and I have been very satisfied customer (apart from a few noob mishaps which were answered in your forums!)

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
thats good :)
make sure to be using the latest version, seems to be a winner :)
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

 

anything