Author Topic: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support  (Read 20615 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #25 on: January 11, 2012, 04:28:45 AM »
fixed that problem
the hid.dll included with the WD files was too old
use this new update
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/wdisplay32.exe
« Last Edit: January 12, 2012, 07:01:00 PM by Weather Display »
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #26 on: January 12, 2012, 01:05:12 PM »
The horrible inaccuracies of the Acu Rite weather stations are laughable and disgusting. After having horrible experiences with Acu Rite and LaCrosse, I'm starting to wonder if the only good consumer weather stations are Davis.

My 01050C is reporting a HIGHER dew point then temperature. And the My Backyard weather has COMPLETELY different values than my console. Can someone please explain to me (Rhino) how Acu Rite can come up with such absolute crap? I'm sorry if this is rude, but its ABSOLUTE BS and customer service knows less about their products than I do. I was told an engineer would be calling me to discuss the discrepancies and lack of granularity in the bridge reading, but to date I have received no call. Horrible experience.

Representatives (Including those on this board and facebook) appear to be helpful, but they will ignore any real questions addressing the deficiencies of the stations. They respond to favorable questions, but again, they ignore any questions with negative implications; Talking heads phenomena... (Like, will update speed on the MBY server to Wunderground be improved? No response etc... among others)
« Last Edit: January 12, 2012, 01:11:55 PM by mdouglas10 »

Offline Scalphunter

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2314
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #27 on: January 12, 2012, 01:41:16 PM »
Six months seem to be the limit on their gear. Myt station in less then 2 years died, Now can't get it repaired.  So AMen to what was said here. It seem that I was not the only one that was dis satisfied. Of course Rhino will only tell you that you are an angry man like he did me.


John

Offline ctccbc

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 232
  • Acurite 01035, Weather Display
    • Chris Collins Morehead City, NC Weather
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #28 on: January 12, 2012, 02:24:01 PM »
I have to agree with some of what has been stated. Overall, I have been relatively pleased with the Acurite 01050 unit. I'm a Senior Forecaster with the NWS, so I take my data seriously. The only major flaw in the sensor package has been that the barometric pressure is way way off, on the order of 0.3 inches/mercury. Even after the 14 and 33-day learning periods, the pressure is not even close, and there is no way to correct this pressure in either the console or the MBW interface. I also see very different numbers on the console, the MBW dashboard and in what is being sent to the Weather Underground. Frequently, rainfall totals will be different in all three places. The other data (Temperature, Humidity, Wind) is fairly representative versus both my Oregon Scientific unit which I have had for over 5 years, and our local ASOS station about 4 miles away.

I hear that many of these issues are being addressed, and I'm very glad that Brian is willing to test these units using Weather Display. I think the potential is there for the Acurite units to be quite good if these flaws can be fixed. The cost alone will add alot more people into the personal weather station hobby, so hopefully these issues will be addressed.

Just my two cents,
Chris
moreheadcityweather.com

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #29 on: January 12, 2012, 02:37:37 PM »
I agree, but these flaws are unexcusable. I'm guessing that the console data is the most accurate?

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #30 on: January 12, 2012, 02:39:37 PM »
I am going to add support to WD to update the acurite dash board
so that then you will get more accurate data
and also you can add the needed baro offset into WD, as WD is using the altimeter reading (i.e not adjusted for sea level or learned over 2 weeks)
from the console
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #31 on: January 12, 2012, 02:42:26 PM »
In your experience, does the data in weather display from these accurite units have any sort of granularity, or are they jumping from say 42.8 to 39.2 staying on each for hours?

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #32 on: January 12, 2012, 07:01:52 PM »
its tracks good and responsive
i.e every 18 seconds or so temperature changes, with 0.1 resolution, via the USB data
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline vreihen

  • El Niņo chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 864
  • K2BIG
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #33 on: January 12, 2012, 08:34:58 PM »
I'm going to get my money back through my credit card company for my other station if the retailer won't let me return it.

If you can't recover your costs and want to defray the loss, I'm looking for a bridge device.  Having read several threads noting problems and shortcomings with it, the geek in me wants to see if I can figure out what's going on and if it can be de-coupled from MBW.....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #34 on: January 13, 2012, 12:36:33 AM »
one thing re WD and the acurite USB
you will need to stop the acurite service otherwise there is a conflict
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline docbee

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 666
    • smartbedded
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #35 on: January 13, 2012, 07:50:14 AM »
To hear that the outdoor units dont seem to be very reliable is bad news, as the outdoor units setup seems to be inspired by the davis vantage vue which is known to be a good/reliable sensor unit. To have that at a much smaller price would be brilliant!

From the specs it looks like the sensor unit is using 433 MHz RF. This will allow to use external RF decoders like the ones from RFXCOM, which can decode the complete bunch of Oregon sensors. RFXCOM is developing its next gen decoder supporting even more weather station sensors from more manufacturers and I am working on integration of a prototype of this new RFXCOM product into Meteohub. May be, this way Acurite sensors can be evaluated directly without fiddling with their consoles/bridges at all  \:D/

Does someone find FCC material about the Acurite products? This would help to make educated guesses about the RF part.
founder of smartbedded.com - home of meteohub, meteoplug, meteobridge, meteostick

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #36 on: January 13, 2012, 12:14:47 PM »
Its my belief that the outdoor sensor is great, but the console/bridge is crap.

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #37 on: January 13, 2012, 12:15:17 PM »
Weatherdisplay is getting good data out of the console, but it just seems like buggy software in the console and bridge.

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #38 on: January 13, 2012, 01:01:15 PM »
Just got my station, but Weather Display isn't getting any data. It says my device is connected, but still no data...

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #39 on: January 13, 2012, 01:06:22 PM »
in the separate acurite reader program you mean?

try closing that

then remove the usb cable

wait a few minutes

plug that in again

wait for windows to detect it OK

then restart the acurite.exe
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #40 on: January 13, 2012, 01:12:13 PM »
Still nothing unfortunately. Anyone else having this problem?

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #41 on: January 13, 2012, 01:14:54 PM »
Its detecting my device, but no data is coming into the program

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #42 on: January 13, 2012, 01:27:58 PM »
all other testers got data OK
can you post a screen shot of what you see?
also does windows device manager show the USB HID device up OK?
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline mdouglas10

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #43 on: January 13, 2012, 01:34:16 PM »
It is in the device manager. For some reason I think it won't work with front USB ports

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 7035
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #44 on: January 13, 2012, 01:52:46 PM »


Does someone find FCC material about the Acurite products? This would help to make educated guesses about the RF part.

You can get it here:  https://fjallfoss.fcc.gov/oetcf/eas/reports/GenericSearch.cfm  Grantee code is RNE

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #45 on: January 13, 2012, 02:04:22 PM »
I see the problem, you have different header data, might be due to different model
uploading build 7 to fix that
stand by
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #46 on: January 13, 2012, 02:43:36 PM »
have catered for that now in a new build 07 .zip update, ready now
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #47 on: January 14, 2012, 12:33:07 PM »
I am not able to get any data using Build 07. I stopped the Acu-rite service, installed the WD app, connected the USB, ran the wizard, re-started the app. However, I do NOT see a new service running. This is windows XP Pro SP3 with all .net updates installed.

At one point I saw an icon on the status bar that reported some hardware device ID. I don't see it anymore.

Edit: The icon was Acu-Rite Data Reader: I launched it manually it reports:Device Detected Vendor ID: 24c0, Product ID: 3

« Last Edit: January 14, 2012, 12:40:07 PM by Jake »

Offline grahamsbeachweather

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #48 on: January 14, 2012, 02:04:35 PM »
Maybe try a different try a different usb plug

Offline Jake

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: AcuRite - does not seem to get sw support
« Reply #49 on: January 14, 2012, 02:26:05 PM »
No luck but I did get a string of what look like hex values.

01 CC 70 71 00 05 02 50 03 FF
02 00 00 40 2B 0C E0 00 FD 02 35 81 A8 17 77 09 C4 06 1C 06 07 7F 6C AF 63