Author Topic: PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise  (Read 795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline torkelmj

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 138
    • My weather station, etc.
PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise
« on: January 23, 2019, 07:28:32 AM »
A word of warning regarding the PA-II for those hams / amateur radio operators intending to install one:

The PA-II (or the included power supply, I didn't dig further into the issue) generates a huge amount of noise in the RF spectrum.
I operate it of the 230 VAC mains @ 50 Hz and the PA-II renders large portions of the HF radio spectrum useless. The PA-II isn't located anywhere near the antenna or transmission line systems.

Once outdoor temperatures get a bit more friendly I'll try replacing the power supply with  another one to see if it helps.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
« Last Edit: January 23, 2019, 10:00:57 AM by torkelmj »

Offline AF6GL

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 82
    • Jeffries Ranch Weather Center
Re: PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2019, 02:08:07 PM »
Thanks for the heads up. Keep us advised of what you find out.

Offline Cetan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2019, 02:08:03 PM »
Good find.  I am looking into the PA-II.  I'll hold off until spring.  I working (fighting) with Tesla now about my solar panels - one at a time is enough.  73.  N3QXX

Offline KennyBKK

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • Khu Khot WX Station
Re: PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2019, 09:26:43 AM »
Hi torkelmj,

The power supply refer to is the black one or a new 'Nest' brand?

regards,
Kanok  HS1PDY

A word of warning regarding the PA-II for those hams / amateur radio operators intending to install one:

The PA-II (or the included power supply, I didn't dig further into the issue) generates a huge amount of noise in the RF spectrum.
I operate it of the 230 VAC mains @ 50 Hz and the PA-II renders large portions of the HF radio spectrum useless. The PA-II isn't located anywhere near the antenna or transmission line systems.

Once outdoor temperatures get a bit more friendly I'll try replacing the power supply with  another one to see if it helps.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Ambient Weather WS-1400
WUnderground, PWS - IPATHUMT2
CWOP - EW4214
http://kanok.net/pws

Offline n4khq

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2019, 06:15:38 PM »
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Not sure which power supply I have, bought about over a year ago and on 80 meters the noise level goes from S5 to S9 when I plug the purple air into AC power. You found any solutions? I attaches a photo of the power supply
Thanks

Offline txweather.org

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1526
    • Texas Weather
Re: PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2019, 08:09:01 PM »
That's the old power supply and that power supply if I am not mistaken has been recalled.
https://www.purpleair.com/recall

Does not look like the pic but I would still check with Purpleair.


----
Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus +FARS|Meteobridge Nano SD|Meteohub|Meteobridge MR-3020|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095
Donations are welcome: https://paypal.me/ffuentesb

Offline n4khq

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: PurpleAir PA-II and RF noise
« Reply #6 on: March 31, 2019, 08:29:10 AM »
I will check with Purple Air. Thanks

 

anything