Author Topic: 3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction? ** Solved **  (Read 966 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gardengrub

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • KNEVALPA2
3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction? ** Solved **
« on: January 19, 2015, 04:59:19 PM »
I've been running a 3 in 1 sensor with the Acu-Link Bridge for two years.  This last summer I upgraded to a 5 in 1 sensor and also added a Meteobridge for faster updates to Weatherunderground.  I've also had an Acurite model 899 rain gauge in my system for two years.  Under this setup, the Meteobridge seamlessly passed the 3 in 1 and rain gauge data up to MyBackyardWeather and the 5 in 1 data was sent directly to Weatherunderground as well as MyBackyardWeather.

This last weekend after rebooting the Meteobridge with MeteoBridge 2.5 (5612) I began to notice a problem with wind direction being reported to Weatherunderground.  Wind direction alternates between the proper direction and Zero degrees North.  While refreshing the Live Data tab I can observe this change take place back and forth about 20 seconds apart.

I took the batteries out of my 3 in 1 for about and hour and during that time the behavior stopped.

This link shows how this began late in the day 17 Jan.

http://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KNEVALPA2#history/s20150112/e20150119/mweek

Does anyone else have a similar setup?  I'm wondering if this has something to do with the 5 in 1 reporting wind speed every 18 seconds but only reporting wind direction every 36 seconds per the Acu-rite 5 in 1 manual.




« Last Edit: January 21, 2015, 10:40:11 AM by gardengrub »

Offline docbee

  • Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 716
    • smartbedded
Re: 3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2015, 06:09:27 PM »
In 2.5 we added regular support the 3in1 sensor units. Having a 5in1 and a 3in1 might make problems.
Can you please give me access to your Meteobridge as explained in the link below? Please send the link
including your Meteobridge password to "info(at)meteobridge.com".

http://forum.meteohub.de/viewtopic.php?f=57&t=9885&sid=0168fde135cea265ebd8697b5a41daf5
founder of smartbedded.com - home of meteohub, meteoplug, meteobridge, meteostick

Offline gardengrub

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • KNEVALPA2
Re: 3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction?
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2015, 06:25:45 PM »
Login information has been emailed.

Thanks

Offline gardengrub

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • KNEVALPA2
Re: 3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction?
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2015, 10:39:34 AM »
Thanks docbee, working perfectly again!

Offline docbee

  • Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 716
    • smartbedded
Re: 3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction? ** Solved **
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2015, 04:30:30 PM »
It needed some changes to have a 3in1 and 5in1 working fine simultanously.
There will be more options to select a primary sensor to be used for weather
network communication in next update. At the moment wind0/rain0/th0 are used,
not rain1/wind1/th1.
founder of smartbedded.com - home of meteohub, meteoplug, meteobridge, meteostick

Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
Re: 3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction? ** Solved **
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2015, 06:54:19 PM »
Doc,

Is there a chance you could do a selection of a tower sensor too? I have one of those.  :-)

Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1580
Re: 3 in 1 Conflict with 5 in 1 wind direction? ** Solved **
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2015, 11:24:54 AM »
Thank you Doc for the ability to choose your sensor choice! So much more flexibility now, and you can locate your thermometer/hydro at the standard of 4 to 6t ft over grass in your radiation shield!