Author Topic: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?  (Read 9690 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Anole

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 585
    • http://pineislandweather.com
ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« on: September 10, 2008, 12:17:09 PM »
Is there a walkthrough available somewhere that describes setting up an IP camera with image salsa? I tried adding it into a canvas using the graphics tab and supplying the source URL but nothing happens.

Offline ncpilot

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 936
    • Monkey Junction Weather
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2008, 01:25:44 PM »
If I recall the documentation (and I think I played with it once upon a time), the result of the URL has to be a single static image? So the URL has to be something like:

http://1.2.3.4:88/cgi/__/image.jpg

or something along those lines...

I think...
Marc
Wilmington, NC
"Monkey Junction Weather"
Davis VP2 wireless, WeatherLink

Offline George Richardson

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1391
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2008, 01:41:16 PM »
Be sure to let us know when/how you get it working.
George

Offline EKB

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • If a million people belive a stupid thing.......
    • ReynoldsWX
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2008, 03:19:47 PM »
Which IP camera.  I have several and each one has a different method for accessing the image from ImageSalsa.

EKB
KGAREY01, CW2647, Davis VPII Plus, Boltek Storm Tracker, Astrogenic Nextstorm, StrikeStar Network,
Assorted Weather Cameras, 1 wife, 3 kids, no dogs, lots of Cats....

Offline Anole

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 585
    • http://pineislandweather.com
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2008, 03:56:50 PM »
Basically I was just trying to figure out the basics of what settings need to be changed like what the source type should be set to (2 I'm assuming) should only the source URL (no file name etc.) be filled in and the like.

Turns out though I think I know what the problem is. For some reason on the Toshiba IK-WBK15A you have to login as admin to see the still image. I tried using the http://user:password@ipaddress:port/ trick but that doesn't seem to work in ImageSalsa (nor much of anywhere these days). I haven't looked at the scripting engine in ImageSalsa yet. Could it be used to do the authentication perhaps?

Offline EKB

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • If a million people belive a stupid thing.......
    • ReynoldsWX
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2008, 04:07:50 PM »
I'm using a IK-WB15A and here are my base settings.
Update Interval: 2
Source Type: 2
Source URL: http://root:pass@10.0.0.1/admin/__live.jpg?&&&

On the IK-WB11A, I use the following.
Update Interval: 2
Source Type: 2
Source URL: http://10.0.0.2/__live.jpg?&&&

EKB
KGAREY01, CW2647, Davis VPII Plus, Boltek Storm Tracker, Astrogenic Nextstorm, StrikeStar Network,
Assorted Weather Cameras, 1 wife, 3 kids, no dogs, lots of Cats....

Offline Anole

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 585
    • http://pineislandweather.com
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #6 on: September 10, 2008, 05:13:23 PM »
I'm using a IK-WB15A and here are my base settings.
Update Interval: 2
Source Type: 2
Source URL: http://root:pass@10.0.0.1/admin/__live.jpg?&&&


Yep, that's what I was trying.
Found the problem though and it's about as "Doh!" a moment as one can have. You have to actually _enable_ the graphic to make it work  :oops:

Thanks for the help!

Offline unclemoosh

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Geaux Saints!
    • Frances' Weather
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #7 on: August 07, 2009, 06:33:19 PM »
Anybody know what setting to use for a Panasonic BL-C1A?

TIA.

Offline ke9lz

  • De Pere - Athelstane Weather
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • De Pere Weather
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #8 on: August 08, 2009, 09:57:20 AM »
Try this:

hxxp://192.168.1.252:18080/SnapshotJPEG?Resolution=320x240&Quality=Standard

You need to edit in your IP address and port to match your setup.  I have a BL-C131a
and the above works with it but not sure the C1A is the same.  The parameters below
will show how to set the resolution and quality.

Resolution
192x144
320x240
640x480
1280x1024 (Support 1280x1024 models such as BB-HCM515)

Quality
Motion (Favor motion)
Standard (Standard quality)
Clarity (Favor clarity)

Steve

« Last Edit: August 08, 2009, 10:00:46 AM by ke9lz »
Steve (KE9LZ)
Athelstane Weather
Blitzortung 1177, 1565


Offline unclemoosh

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • Geaux Saints!
    • Frances' Weather
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2009, 12:21:51 PM »
Thanks!  I had to add the user:password@ and it worked!  The C1A doesn't have a setting to allow guests.

Now, does anybody know how to use the digital zoom function on the BL-C1A?  The instructions don't mention it.  The lens and spec do. :?:

EDIT:  I guess I should ask the zoom question in the webcam thread. :oops:
« Last Edit: August 08, 2009, 02:54:20 PM by unclemoosh »

Offline f499

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2009, 06:48:54 PM »
Would anybody know the URL to enter for a Linksys WVC54GCA?  I have not been impressed with this camera (wireless range, poor software, etc..)  Before I send it back to the store, I was hoping to determine if it actually works with Image Salsa.

Currently, in test mode, I can only generate still images using the motion detection.  Unfortunately, it has its own numerical convention for naming .jpg files.  I want to control the .jpg filename, using ImageSalsa.

I'm not sure what I will try next.  I can not find the Panasonic up here in Canada.

Thanks in advance for the URL,

F499

Offline racenet

  • Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • NH Weather Data
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #11 on: December 14, 2009, 07:17:24 PM »
Would anybody know the URL to enter for a Linksys WVC54GCA? 

That is contained on page 26 of the user manual. The exact URL depends on which streaming image you wish to access.



Bob
www.theamericanflagstore.com - The American Flag Store



www.nhweatherdata.com - NH Weather Data

Offline f499

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #12 on: December 15, 2009, 12:44:14 PM »
I've read the manual, and understand where to enter the URL (Graphics tab, URL field) and to also ensure the line is "enabled"  I've tried using the different URL's in this tread (with username and password), but none have worked.  Based on my reading of this thread, it seems like the URL is different, depending on make/model of camera.

Offline racenet

  • Moderator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1290
    • NH Weather Data
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #13 on: December 15, 2009, 01:16:52 PM »
I've read the manual, and understand where to enter the URL (Graphics tab, URL field) and to also ensure the line is "enabled"  I've tried using the different URL's in this tread (with username and password), but none have worked.  Based on my reading of this thread, it seems like the URL is different, depending on make/model of camera.

And you set the source type as 2?

www.theamericanflagstore.com - The American Flag Store



www.nhweatherdata.com - NH Weather Data

Offline mackbig

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4127
    • Mackie's Main Street, Unionville, ON Canada Weather
Re: ImageSalsa and IP cameras?
« Reply #14 on: December 15, 2009, 08:12:16 PM »
Are you sure you cant have it ftp an image every x seconds/minutes.

I have found the naming convention an issue with the ip security cameras (cheapish ones mosty)  I have had a few trendnet's and a dlink and they all want to time and date images (which makes sense if using for "security" not a static weather image on your site)  once ftp'd which is why I use wunderground as it renames any jpg you ftp to a constant name.

If you can get an image (not java created) in your browswer then image salsa should be able to work with it.

Andrew


Currently, in test mode, I can only generate still images using the motion detection.  Unfortunately, it has its own numerical convention for naming .jpg files.  I want to control the .jpg filename, using ImageSalsa.

Andrew - Davis VP2+ 6163, serial weatherlink, wireless anemometer, running Weather Display.  Boltek PCI Stormtracker, Astrogenic Nexstorm, Strikestar - UNI, CWOP CW8618, GrLevel3, (Station 2 OS WMR968, VWS 13.01p09), Windows 7-64