WXforum.net

Weather Related Organizations => WeatherUnderground => Topic started by: WheelinDealin on September 12, 2018, 04:35:11 PM

Title: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on September 12, 2018, 04:35:11 PM
My station KCAFALLB91 is no longer showing up on the WunderMap. Actually it's kind of sporadic, sometimes it shows but most of the time not. This started a couple days ago. The station appears to be functioning properly and I can still access it's WU page:

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KCAFALLB91#history

Please advise. Thank you.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: wunderground-PWS on September 12, 2018, 08:10:59 PM
Your station occasionally fails QC, at this point it is removed from the map.  We will work on tools shortly to let you know when your station is failing and why, these features will be shown after we refresh the dashboard page.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 12, 2018, 08:33:27 PM
Your station occasionally fails QC
Please, enlighten us on your protocol.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: galfert on September 12, 2018, 09:14:04 PM
Oooph... You are dropping stations because of bad QC and you have not yet published nor explained the rules? Bad move. Really bad move. You are going to tick off a lot of people. You are going to loose half of your 280,000 station that you are so proud of having if you implement this bad practice.

May I suggest you get your QC implemented and working before you start dropping stations. I say keep all the stations but award the good ones instead. Only drop a station if it is really off base on the analysis. But if you really want to drop bad stations it needs to be worked in gradually over time. I didn't see anything in WheelinDealin"s data worth dropping over. There are tons of stations around me that are way worse. Something else is going on.

So I would suggest to bring back a working Gold Star as part of the QC but it needs to be explained and have merit and be measurable and comparable to other nearby stations on different metrics. And there shouldn't be any giving of Gold Stars for just reporting for 5 days (as it was before), because that is like getting a participation award like my kid gets in soccer every season... They are all winners, there are no loosers. Terrible thing to do, but my kid knows better and gives no importance to those awards. They are chucked in a drawer. Unlike his 1st place pine wood race trophy and first and second place track medals that he proudly displays.

Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: wunderground-PWS on September 12, 2018, 10:26:56 PM
This has always been our policy.  PWS QC has improved to the point where we can spot individual bad observations. 

WhealinDealin
Your station will re-appear once it passes QC

CW2274
We use slight variations on the same QC process MADIS uses
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 12, 2018, 10:51:12 PM
This has always been our policy.  PWS QC has improved to the point where we can spot individual bad observations. 
CW2274
We use slight variations on the same QC process MADIS uses
Rrright. You guys can't even manage the umpteen million stations you display, let alone police them. Quit pretending you can.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on September 14, 2018, 03:34:09 AM
I can't figure out why my station would fail QC. I have checked and double-checked everything. Everything looks good on my end. Can you please provide me some details?

Thank you.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on September 15, 2018, 04:40:52 PM
I would really appreciate some help with this, considering my station was fine for months.

Thank you.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 15, 2018, 04:49:10 PM
I would really appreciate some help with this, considering my station was fine for months.

Thank you.
Exactly what do you want help with?
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on September 15, 2018, 04:50:39 PM
I would like to know why my station is no longer showing on the WunderMap. Exactly what is failing QC?
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 15, 2018, 05:05:01 PM
Well, clicking on the link above, looks fine to me....
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on September 15, 2018, 06:06:44 PM
It shows fine here:

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KCAFALLB91#history

But stopped showing on the larger map for some reason, even if I zoom in.

https://www.wunderground.com/wundermap?lat=33.339&lon=-117.221&zoom=13&tl.play=0&tl.spd=2&groupSevere=1&groupHurricane=1&groupFire=1&groupCamsPhotos=1&groupRealEstate=1&eyedropper=0&extremes=0&fault=0&favs=0&femaflood=0&fire=0&firewfas=0&fissures=0&fronts=0&hurrevac=0&hur=0&labels=0&lightning=0&livesurge=0&mm=0&ndfd=0&rad=1&rad.num=1&rad.spd=25&rad.opa=81&rad.type=00Q&rad.type2=&rad.smo=1&rad.noc=1&rad.stm=0&dir=1&dir.mode=driving&sst=0&sat=0&seismicrisk=0&svr=0&ski=0&snowfall=0&stateLines=0&stormreports=0&tor=0&tfk=0&tsunami=0&riv=0&wxsn=0&cams=0&pix=0
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 15, 2018, 06:43:29 PM
Join here. Countless times more reliable and generally better quality of data presented compared to WU "come one come all approach whether your data sucks or not".
http://wxqa.com/
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on September 15, 2018, 06:57:44 PM
I take my weather data seriously and would love to join other networks, but unfortunately as far as I can tell the current PWS I have (Ambient WS-1400-IP) can only post to Ambient's own site and WU unless I purchase additional equipment which is not cheap.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 15, 2018, 07:17:02 PM
Oh.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: dupreezd on September 15, 2018, 07:19:59 PM
I take my weather data seriously and would love to join other networks, but unfortunately as far as I can tell the current PWS I have (Ambient WS-1400-IP) can only post to Ambient's own site and WU unless I purchase additional equipment which is not cheap.

Have a look at the Meteobridge option. It is not that expensive.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: quailvalleywx on September 15, 2018, 07:32:01 PM
WheelinDealin, if your station is being dropped due to QC I sure don't see it.  If WU were to drop a station maybe KCAFALLB27 is a candidate to your SW which was showing 10% humidity which was much lower than adjacents.  Maybe it failed and a SW engineer got indexing wrong in the code dropping yours by mistake.  Even then I wouldn't drop for outlier humidity it if the big map is displaying temperature like it does by default, rather than dew point.  At least wunderground-PWS seems to be aware of the problem and hopefully fixes it soon.

I agree with comments above that dropping stations without communication of specific reasons presents a no-win scenario.  Seems like QC fail notification should have been rolled out before stricter QC was turned on.

Mike.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: galfert on September 15, 2018, 08:01:08 PM
I'm seeing your station on Wundermap. But I have to zoom in in order to see it. I'm not sure that you really are being dropped. I think you just need to zoom in more. WU typically gives map visibility to older stations first. Yours seems to only have come online this year in May. I think your neighbors are displacing you by virtue of seniority.

Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 15, 2018, 08:05:19 PM
Seems like QC fail notification should have been rolled out before stricter QC was turned on.
QC? What QC? I've never seen QC from WU other than "report a problem" button, even though they profess differently above. Honestly, I'm betting WU is using QC as an excuse because they have NO idea why their site does what it does. And even if they do have QC, it's obviously worthless.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: CW2274 on September 15, 2018, 08:09:06 PM
I think your neighbors are displacing you by virtue of seniority.
If so, just another reason to drop them. Also further shows they can't even handle what they've got.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on September 15, 2018, 08:12:07 PM
Sometimes my PWS shows on the larger Wundermap but most of the time not, even if you zoom in. Prior to about a week ago it was constantly showing. Nothing changed on my end.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: galfert on September 15, 2018, 08:28:08 PM
Well I think it is obvious that we really don't know what is going on. The good news is that WU is getting ready to launch a new website in the coming months. Hang in there, maybe this will resolve itself soon enough.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: editorizer on January 14, 2019, 06:18:00 AM
My PWS hasn't been on the map for many years so I stopped sending data for many months. Last week I moved the sensor 1/11/19 to see if it would start passing QC. 1/14/19 still not showing on the Wundermap or the smaller map- but is sending correct data to WU. Compared to all surrounding PWS's and mine looks within 1 degree or the same as others - including BPressure - Wind Rain Humidity -Temp - etc. How long does this mysterious QC check take??? ](*,)


https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KNCFAYET25
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: SWX on January 14, 2019, 07:32:16 AM
Iím experiencing the same thing, my station has been gone since early December, while others in the general area have been reporting erroneous conditions for as long as Iíve had this station (10 months).

Iím curious as to how the Weather Channelís QC process differs from WU, because my station appears there and theyíre the same company.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: WheelinDealin on January 15, 2019, 03:25:55 PM
My station is no longer showing on the Wundermap again. Everything looks good on my end and the individual station page is fine. Not sure what the problem is.

https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KCAFALLB91#history
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: galfert on January 15, 2019, 04:42:13 PM
My station also stopped showing up a few weeks ago. I still retain a Gold Star and nothing has changed on my end and I know from analysis of my CWOP, MADIS and AWEKAS reporting that my data is good. So it can only mean one thing...The WU Wundermap is broken. Your station not showing up is just a database problem or a capacity performance problem with WU servers. If I look at the old Wundermap my station does show up. That is proof enough that there is nothing you can do but wait for them to fix it and that the problem is not on your end.

Old Wundermap Link:
https://www.wunderground.com/fullscreenweather
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: Mtnviper on January 16, 2019, 01:07:37 PM
My station also stopped showing up a few weeks ago. I still retain a Gold Star and nothing has changed on my end and I know from analysis of my CWOP, MADIS and AWEKAS reporting that my data is good. So it can only mean one thing...The WU Wundermap is broken. Your station not showing up is just a database problem or a capacity performance problem with WU servers. If I look at the old Wundermap my station does show up. That is proof enough that there is nothing you can do but wait for them to fix it and that the problem is not on your end.

Old Wundermap Link:
https://www.wunderground.com/fullscreenweather

Same here. :-x
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: Weatheroger on January 16, 2019, 01:57:21 PM
It most likely on WU's end. I have given up worrying about gold stars and Wundermap. WU seems to be completely oblivious to all the issues we are all having. Someone from WU had posted that they had tightened their QC and this may be the issue or not. I also report to Ambient Weather and that also sends to PWS. As long as I can see my data at Ambient I am okay. Ambient also has Android and IPhone apps as well.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: Bunty on January 21, 2019, 05:43:37 AM
My station also stopped showing up a few weeks ago. I still retain a Gold Star and nothing has changed on my end and I know from analysis of my CWOP, MADIS and AWEKAS reporting that my data is good. So it can only mean one thing...The WU Wundermap is broken. Your station not showing up is just a database problem or a capacity performance problem with WU servers. If I look at the old Wundermap my station does show up. That is proof enough that there is nothing you can do but wait for them to fix it and that the problem is not on your end.

Old Wundermap Link:
https://www.wunderground.com/fullscreenweather

Same here.  Only 2 Stillwater area stations show up on the current Wundermap, compared with 11 for the old one.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: galfert on January 21, 2019, 06:30:22 AM
From reading the large WU thread someone figured out that the only stations that disappeared from the map are those that use Rapid Fire. Unfortunately many weather stations don't have the capability to change their upload interval to slow it down. But even if you could slow your upload then your WU dashboard is no longer as "Live" without Rapid Fire.

WU needs to fix this. The Wundermap also acts weird by double loading (it flashes and reloads).
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: Kamakzie on January 21, 2019, 06:26:09 PM
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KMICEDAR7 Same here..
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: Kamakzie on January 21, 2019, 08:10:54 PM
From reading the large WU thread someone figured out that the only stations that disappeared from the map are those that use Rapid Fire. Unfortunately many weather stations don't have the capability to change their upload interval to slow it down. But even if you could slow your upload then your WU dashboard is no longer as "Live" without Rapid Fire.

WU needs to fix this. The Wundermap also acts weird by double loading (it flashes and reloads).

That corrected my issue. Thank you.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: BeaverMeadow on January 21, 2019, 09:03:31 PM
From reading the large WU thread someone figured out that the only stations that disappeared from the map are those that use Rapid Fire. Unfortunately many weather stations don't have the capability to change their upload interval to slow it down. But even if you could slow your upload then your WU dashboard is no longer as "Live" without Rapid Fire.

WU needs to fix this. The Wundermap also acts weird by double loading (it flashes and reloads).

I've been having this problem since installing an Acurite Access which uploads to WU via Rapid Fire. Only difference with me is that showing up on the WU map occurs intermittently. Sometimes I'm on the map but often I'm not. This never happened before I started using the Access.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: editorizer on January 22, 2019, 05:15:21 AM
After reading all the complaints coming from owners of the Acurite Access equipment, are you positive your equipment is sending consistent data? Users are complaining that ACCESS loses internet connection and sensor connection. Just a thought.



From reading the large WU thread someone figured out that the only stations that disappeared from the map are those that use Rapid Fire. Unfortunately many weather stations don't have the capability to change their upload interval to slow it down. But even if you could slow your upload then your WU dashboard is no longer as "Live" without Rapid Fire.

WU needs to fix this. The Wundermap also acts weird by double loading (it flashes and reloads).

I've been having this problem since installing an Acurite Access which uploads to WU via Rapid Fire. Only difference with me is that showing up on the WU map occurs intermittently. Sometimes I'm on the map but often I'm not. This never happened before I started using the Access.
Title: Re: Station no longer showing on WunderMap
Post by: Mtnviper on January 22, 2019, 12:05:46 PM
Your station occasionally fails QC, at this point it is removed from the map.  We will work on tools shortly to let you know when your station is failing and why, these features will be shown after we refresh the dashboard page.

When can we expect a refresh of the dashboard page?