WXforum.net

Weather Station Hardware => Davis Instruments Weather Stations => Topic started by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 04:11:57 AM

Title: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 04:11:57 AM
HI,
I am french and not very fluent in english. Sorry for that.
I operate a Vantage Vue and a Weatherlink IP data logger since almost 8 years. Some days ago it stopped downloading archive datas. I always get the same message in any way I try to download (local, web download etc...): "no new data to download"
All datas are transmitted to WeatherLink 2.0 and WU.
When searching solutions with my friend Google I tried many things to understand the failure and correct it. With no success. Same happens with 2 other PC's
So I decided to buy another datalogger.
Same message :  "no new data to download"
Same message also with another Vantage Vue Console
I am reaching the end of my capabilities... :oops: :oops:
Anyone to help me please ?
Regards
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 12, 2018, 04:17:33 AM
Did you look at our Davis knowledgebase, eg:

https://www.manula.com/manuals/pws/davis-kb/1/en/topic/errors-with-archive-downloads (https://www.manula.com/manuals/pws/davis-kb/1/en/topic/errors-with-archive-downloads)

Most likely, there's a corruption in your data files on the PC, though there could be other causes.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 04:36:05 AM
Thank you johnd.
I looked at your Davis knowledgebase and I checked what is recommanded.
I also checked the wlk data file on my PC. All dates are correct. The last one is 2018-05.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 12, 2018, 04:41:42 AM
And you've also checked through 5.7.2? I know some of this text is a little dense and it's in English, but there are many possible causes and you need to work through all of them. What happens if you try downloading into a new station in WL for instance?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 04:54:25 AM
I checked through 5.7.2 but not completely. I will do it again precisely.
I have created a new station and downloaded datas through web download. I got 2018-03, 2018-04 and 2018-05. Datas stopped the same date (29/05/2018)
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 04:56:32 AM
By the way, your website is great and very usefull. Well done ! =D> =D> =D>
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 12, 2018, 05:20:48 AM
I checked through 5.7.2 but not completely. I will do it again precisely.
I have created a new station and downloaded datas through web download. I got 2018-03, 2018-04 and 2018-05. Datas stopped the same date (29/05/2018)

OK, well, it's always difficult to tell for sure at long distance, but that does sound to me like corrupt data in the logger I'm afraid. The only solution might be to clear the logger and, malheureusement, lose data (which may not be there anyway if the logger stuck some days ago). I guess you have tried rebooting the console already?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 06:00:55 AM
Yes I have rebooted the console 2 times.
OK I checked everything through para 5.7.2 and found nothing wrong. All last datas seem to be OK.
And I already cleared the logger two or three times. Without success ...
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 12, 2018, 06:04:54 AM
How did you clear the logger?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 01:42:59 PM
I cleared this way :Setup / Set Archive Interval
Then changing interval from 10mn to 1 h
Then clicked OK to clear the archive memory
Is it right ?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 12, 2018, 01:46:56 PM
Yes, that's right. Hmm, this is quite odd. Maybe you have a very rare faulty logger, but I'd be very surprised if that's the case.

Is the logger definitely pushed fully home. It's not loose at all? A slightly loose logger can give strange symptoms. Did you hear the correct number of beeps on reboot?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: dalecoy on June 12, 2018, 02:01:55 PM

So I decided to buy another datalogger.
Same message :  "no new data to download"
Same message also with another Vantage Vue Console


Two IP loggers, same problem.  I presume you are doing a complete power-down of the console before installing the logger?

And the date and time on your PC is correct?  And the same as the date and time on the two consoles?

What software are you using to try to download data? 
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 03:13:44 PM
Yes complete power down before installing the logger.
Date and time have been checked an are correct on the three PC's I am using
I am using WeatherLink 6.04
Before having the new logger I was using the same software with initial install WL 5.9 updated from time to time till version 6.04
Now before installing new logger I uninstalled WL and installed a fresh 6.04 version. However I copied all datas from my station
Should I try to start from 0 ?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: dalecoy on June 12, 2018, 03:29:29 PM
Just verifying one more time:

Date and time have been checked an are correct on the three PC's I am using

And the same as the date and time on the two consoles?

And you tried deleting the DataLists.dat and DataSets.dat files, and tried deleting the 2018-05.wlk file? (First shutting down WeatherLink software, of course)

Should I try to start from 0 ?

johnd?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 12, 2018, 03:49:11 PM
Sorry I read the original message in rather a hurry this morning and didn't spot that you'd had the same problem with two different loggers.

Vue + IP logger: Are you _definitely_ hearing 4 separate beeps on reboot?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 04:45:32 PM
I hear only 3 bips on reboot
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 12, 2018, 04:53:43 PM
I hear only 3 bips on reboot

Count carefully! But if it definitely is only 3 and not 4 (and the console is definitely a Vue and not a VP2) then the logger is not being fully recognised. Either you're being too timid in pushing the logger in - sometimes quite a firm push is needed to seat it fully. Or there's a fault in the console. Do you have access to another console to try?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 05:11:20 PM
Just verifying one more time:

Did it and the same ok on both consoles

And you tried deleting the DataLists.dat and DataSets.dat files, and tried deleting the 2018-05.wlk file? (First shutting down WeatherLink software, of course)

Yes I deleted the DataLists.dat and DataSets.dat files : nothing changed
Ok I deleted 2018-05.wlk.
Web download was ok but only 2018-05.wlk downloaded.
Tried with local device ID : "no new data to download"
Tried with remote Ip adress : "no new data to download"



Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 12, 2018, 05:25:07 PM
Count carefully! But if it definitely is only 3 and not 4 (and the console is definitely a Vue and not a VP2) then the logger is not being fully recognised. Either you're being too timid in pushing the logger in - sometimes quite a firm push is needed to seat it fully. Or there's a fault in the console. Do you have access to another console to try?

I pushed firmly :-) the logger in. I'm waiting for the datas to download...
I will have access to another console tomorrow morning. I"ll tell you the result

Thank you very much to dalecoy and yourself for considering my nightmare
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 13, 2018, 02:00:14 AM
I tried with another Vantage Vue console... with both loggers. And always the same thing : only three bips. Not four I am sure #-o
Each time I am trying a logger its always with full power off then connecting the logger then power on
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 13, 2018, 04:16:16 AM
I tried with another Vantage Vue console... with both loggers. And always the same thing : only three bips. Not four I am sure #-o
Each time I am trying a logger its always with full power off then connecting the logger then power on

Hmm, this doesn't really compute!

So: The same logger and Vue console were previously working fine up until a couple of weeks ago? And then something has happened and the logger/console no longer log data? So there could be no possibility that this is an older console but a new logger, which might not be fully compatible?

Are you definitely running the console on mains power and not battery power?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 13, 2018, 04:54:29 AM
So: The same logger and Vue console were previously working fine up until a couple of weeks ago? And then something has happened and the logger/console no longer log data?
I confirm

Are you definitely running the console on mains power and not battery power?
The console is running, and has always been running, on mains power. However batteries have always been installed in case of power failure


Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 14, 2018, 05:54:07 AM
Sorry, but I think we've tried everything I can think of - there's something about this scenario that just doesn't add up.

A Vantage Vue console + logger should always give four (distinct, but not evenly spaced) beeps with a logger correctly installed. If it was a VP2 console then 3 beeps would be correct, but not for a Vue console. Why you should have two Vue consoles and two IP loggers that have suddenly decided to give only 3 beeps doesn't make sense. (Presumably you have tried all combinations of console + logger?)

In setup mode on the console, if go one step back (Bar key I think should still work on the Vue) from the Receiving From screen, or alternatively go right to the end of list of settings then do you see a Baud = 19200 setting? If you can't see this (or it's a different value from 19200) then the logger won't work.

But beyond this and short of being able to see the units myself I've run out of ideas.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: Mattk on June 14, 2018, 06:56:16 AM
2 Vue consoles, 2 WLIP loggers and 2 PC's all behaving the same at the same time tends to indicate something in the network? 
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 14, 2018, 07:13:53 AM
2 Vue consoles, 2 WLIP loggers and 2 PC's all behaving the same at the same time tends to indicate something in the network?

Yes, I agree, but why only 3 beeps? As far as I know, there should be 4 beeps (with a Vue) irrespective of network status. I've never known a situation where a network error stops the 4th beep, but maybe there is some network malfunction that could do that?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 14, 2018, 08:15:08 AM
In setup mode on the console, if go one step back (Bar key I think should still work on the Vue) from the Receiving From screen, or alternatively go right to the end of list of settings then do you see a Baud = 19200 setting? If you can't see this (or it's a different value from 19200) then the logger won't work.
I've never seen a Baud = 19200 setting
2 Vue consoles, 2 WLIP loggers and 2 PC's all behaving the same at the same time tends to indicate something in the network?
I checked port N# issues and found nothing obvious. Ports 22222 and 80 are OK for weatherlink. Same for firewall. But I consider this question of network as a major concern now... but without having any idea about it

In any way I sent back the two data loggers (old and new) to my dealer for expert assessment. I will keep you informed of what's going on. Just give me some days ...
Thank you again to you all
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: johnd on June 14, 2018, 08:23:08 AM

But have you ever looked for it? However, it won't be present if no logger is installed.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 14, 2018, 08:32:36 AM
But have you ever looked for it? However, it won't be present if no logger is installed.
He was also investigating at the same time. We had a phone call yesterday and decided to accelerate the support process.
I'm so anxious to know what is happening after more than 7 years of good and loyal services :???: :???:
I hope they will do it quickly...
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 19, 2018, 07:46:03 AM
If you could download any data from data logger that means it works.
Console don't log new data on data logger memory.
Update console firmware?
There is also command in console to stop logging data.
STOP[0A]
START[0A]

[0A] - HEX = 10 DEC = ENTER/RETURN
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 19, 2018, 12:25:29 PM
Thank you WifiLogger,

I'am suspecting a compatibility problem between console and datalogger.
My dealer has checked both dataloggers, old and new.
The new one is ok and working very well with modern console
The old one cannot be checked because of incompatibility with the console ...
I'm waiting for the return of both loggers to continue the investigations.

If you could download any data from data logger that means it works.
Console don't log new data on data logger memory.
Update console firmware?

Yes I downloaded datas but from web download and got last 3 months
I already updated console firmware to 4.30
I am not sure it was a good idea...

There is also command in console to stop logging data.
STOP[0A]
START[0A]

[0A] - HEX = 10 DEC = ENTER/RETURN

I'm not sure to understand. How can I check that ?

Regards
 
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 19, 2018, 01:02:49 PM
1. Go to https://github.com/sinpolib/sokit/releases and download sokit-1.3-win32-enu.zip for windows, or other for your OS.
2. Open WeatherLink and check yours "WL IPô" IP number.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
3. Run SOKIT.EXE. Go to CLIENT tab.
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
   - Write IP  and port number and click "TCP connect"
   - write command to "buf 0" and click "SEND"

[0A] [zero A] - it's RETURN, but works like wake up.
START STOP you know.

I am not saying that this caused your malfunction. You have to be sure that console wasn't stopped.

That is your new hacker tip, of the day.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 19, 2018, 01:20:01 PM
Thank you WifiLogger. This is really my home work of the week !
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 24, 2018, 05:57:57 AM
HI,
I got back my two loggers and tried what WifiLogger suggested. The console should be working but...the problem is still the same ...

(https://image.ibb.co/kjhkFT/Capture.png) (https://imgbb.com/)
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 24, 2018, 06:29:29 AM
That was easy exercise, now it will be more complicated.
Now You will send DMP[0A] command. It starts chain of data. Every frame (267 bytes) you have to confirm with [06] = <ACK>
To stop this command send [0A].
Please gives as more info.
After that you will send CLRLOG[0A] to erase arch. memory. Wait some arch interval times, then send us new DMP = Dump Memory.

VP2 with GREEN DOT won't let you communicate with console without data logger. You have communication, so memory is working, or VUE don't need GREEN DOT memory to work. I will check that soon. I need to prepare special unit.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 24, 2018, 08:13:57 AM
That was easy exercise, now it will be more complicated.
Now You will send DMP[0A] command. It starts chain of data. Every frame (267 bytes) you have to confirm with [06] = <ACK>
To stop this command send [0A].
Please gives as more info.
After that you will send CLRLOG[0A] to erase arch. memory. Wait some arch interval times, then send us new DMP = Dump Memory.
A bit more complicated in fact ...
That's what I get :

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

VP2 with GREEN DOT won't let you communicate with console without data logger. You have communication, so memory is working, or VUE don't need GREEN DOT memory to work. I will check that soon. I need to prepare special unit.

Ok I confirm that I have a Vantage Vue (old model)

Thank you WifiLogger.
I hope this nightmare will finish one day ...
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 24, 2018, 08:35:31 AM
Wait some arch interval periods.
Use DMP[0A] - [0A] is like enter (confirm).
Show us screen once more.

Unfortunately now we are only gathering more info about your console. It's not repair method.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 24, 2018, 08:53:39 AM
Wait some arch interval periods.
Use DMP[0A] - [0A] is like enter (confirm).
Show us screen once more.
I am not sure I am following the right procedure. Please tell me if I am wrong...

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Quote
Unfortunately now we are only gathering more info about your console. It's not repair method.

I understand you are making your best to help me solving this problem and I know its only gathering more iformations.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 24, 2018, 09:12:46 AM
We misunderstand.
first step:
send CLRLOG[0A] - to clear memory. Just once.

second step:
after about 30-60min return to console with DMP[0A] command to check if there is any data.

My VUE is a GREEN DOT sensitive, it's reject any connection without proper data logger.
My old VP2 without data logger with connected PC is behaving like yours VUE.
+ like JohnD said there have to be 4 beeps, not 3.
Now we are almost sure(99%) that your console has no conenction to data logger, or connection is disturb.

There is 7 pins on the  expansion port to connect to the flash memory.
First thing check if pins are straight. They are on 99.99%, but we have to be sure.

Next step is depending on you. Do you have multimeter and you don't afraid to open your console?
You need to check connection between pins and MCU on the mother board.
Do you have any electronics skilled friend?

Wojtek
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 24, 2018, 09:55:21 AM
We misunderstand.
first step:
send CLRLOG[0A] - to clear memory. Just once.

second step:
after about 30-60min return to console with DMP[0A] command to check if there is any data.

I got it ! It's underway

Quote

There is 7 pins on the  expansion port to connect to the flash memory.
First thing check if pins are straight. They are on 99.99%, but we have to be sure.

Next step is depending on you. Do you have multimeter and you don't afraid to open your console?
You need to check connection between pins and MCU on the mother board.
Do you have any electronics skilled friend?

Wojtek


I have checked pins several times and they seem to be ok .
I have a multimeter. I'am not afraid to open the console but I'm not an expert in electronics. I'am an old retired pilot and some say that pilot's brain is only for decoration ! :grin: :grin:
But I may have an electronics skilled friend. Just tell me what we have to do and he will come to me tomorrow I hope

Thank you again for your time Wojtek
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 24, 2018, 10:22:23 AM
I have borrow a picture from © Torkel M. Jodalen manual
and make my own photo.

Check voltage between 3v and GND while console is working.
Other pins check when you unplug all power sources.
Multimetr has continuity testing function (beep when short), use that to check pins connection.
Check color on a photo, and check if pins on connector has connection with same color on MCU pin.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]


 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 24, 2018, 12:11:17 PM
It's getting better and better ! :grin:
Let's try this tomorrow
Thank you again and again
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 24, 2018, 12:22:13 PM
You could also check this 3v voltage while data logger is connected.
- Put data logger to the extension port
- Power up console this AC power
- Measure voltage on pins 3v and GND.

For other pins, no power, no data logger. Just check if there is wire connection on not.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 24, 2018, 01:05:23 PM
You could also check this 3v voltage while data logger is connected.
- Put data logger to the extension port
- Power up console this AC power
- Measure voltage on pins 3v and GND.

For other pins, no power, no data logger. Just check if there is wire connection on not.

OK will do.

After
We misunderstand.
first step:
send CLRLOG[0A] - to clear memory. Just once.

second step:
after about 30-60min return to console with DMP[0A] command to check if there is any data.


Result is :

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Any comment from you ?
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: WiFiLogger on June 24, 2018, 01:59:14 PM
Any comment from you ?

Yes. Your console behaves like there is no installed flash memory for archive records.
We don't know reasons for that.
1. mechanical wired problem 'Cold Joint'.
2. damaged MCU pins - can't be repaired MCU has Davis firmware and it's protected.
3. To low voltage for memory. Data logger (ethernet) has separate voltage this is working fine, but memory has own voltage. You have to examine those pins from picture.
4. Bad MCU frequency. I doubt, because that also would change RS232 port speed of MCU. Now it's 19200 bps, when MCU oscillator will change parameters, then RS232 connection will be fault in a first step. This is working perfectly fine.
Title: Re: no new data to download
Post by: negussolo on June 26, 2018, 05:56:59 AM
Hi Wojtek

OK We did the whole check you have suggested and nothing abnormal has been found. After that I tested again the system and got the same "no new data to download" :-k :-k :-k

Growing tired of all this mess I tried a last procedure before throwing everything against the wall : checking the firmware versions of WLIP data loggers and consoles.

one console 6250 EU (MFG Code Axxxxxx)
one console 6250 US (MFG Code Axxxxxx)
WLIP data logger (8 years old) with the 6250 EU Console
WLIP data logger (brand new) with the 6250 IS Console

Downgrading of Console firmware from 4.30 to 3.0
WLIP data logger firmware 1.12
Weatherlink 6.04

And it works fine !

These consoles do not accept firmware above 3.0

To your knowledge is there any warning from Davis Instruments about this problem ?
If yes I am afraid I missed it and it's a good occasion for self flagellation
If no it's regrettable

Thank you Wojtek and many thanks also to Johnd for your kind help and support
I didn't know this forum before this problem but now I am a strong supporter and will often come back. It's a kind of gold mine for met amateurs !

By the way is there a Forum procedure to mention this case closed ?