WXforum.net

Weather Station Hardware => Ambient Weather Station => Topic started by: mdgosch on February 21, 2018, 05:52:07 PM

Title: WS-1001
Post by: mdgosch on February 21, 2018, 05:52:07 PM
Hello everyone!  Quick question I got a WS-1001 setup outside and successfully connected it to weather underground, however I am having an issue connecting it to my laptop.  The weather IP software sees the device on the network with the correct Mac ID but it will not populate the data fields and says unable to connect at the bottom right of the window.  Any ideas on what might be wrong?
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: souldrifter798 on February 22, 2018, 12:50:42 PM
Hi, I have just started using one of these, (maplin clone) mine took awhile to connect but it eventually connected and populated the data. Sometimes I have to close the software and reopen to connect properly. Software does seem clunky to me though  :grin:
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: freakngeek on February 22, 2018, 01:09:41 PM
Same for me, takes about 2mins to gather up the data to display
Is very handy app to set most things as device is very cumbersome with the clunky buttons
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: souldrifter798 on February 22, 2018, 01:19:30 PM
Yeah does come in handy for that and to download the data so I can export to csv file. Not to fussed with it displaying current conditions ect.
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: waiukuweather on February 23, 2018, 05:04:51 PM
for the original poster
the problem might be with either a firwall or your router and the IP address being re allocated and the software is picking up the wrong one
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: mikeg on April 14, 2018, 04:21:09 PM
I find that WeatherIP populates in about 10-15 seconds; however, the data download is flaky.  It seldom downloaded the data interval I requested and in some instances the data was wrong (negative temps for indoor sensor).  I resorted to downloading the data from micro SD slot on the unit. 
BTW, my console has a mini USB port on it that is not documented in the manual.  Anyone know what/how that port is used?
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: m-a-r-k on April 15, 2018, 11:45:50 AM
Yes you can connect it to a computer and get access to the folders on the console.
Useful for changing display layout image (EasyWeather/Themes folder) or access to settings files (EasyWeather folder ini files).
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: mikeg on April 15, 2018, 12:24:30 PM
when I hooked a computer (Window 10) to that port, there was a bit of back and forth (loading drivers) but at the end I was unable to actually see anything. Can you tell me what version of the console firmware you're running?
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: Aussie Susan on April 15, 2018, 10:34:15 PM
I think you need the "Windows Mobile" software running on your PC to connect to the Windows CE that is used on the weather station.
With that you can get to see the folders in the weather station.
Susan
Title: Re: WS-1001
Post by: m-a-r-k on April 16, 2018, 01:58:18 PM
I just connected a Windows 7 laptop and the root folder of the console (NAND) was available in Explorer.
The EasyWeather software on the console is 2.4.4 but that's not relevant to be honest.