WXforum.net

Weather Station Hardware => LaCrosse Technologies/Hyundai => Topic started by: tsellers on December 08, 2016, 10:32:51 PM

Title: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: tsellers on December 08, 2016, 10:32:51 PM
I'm thinking about purchasing the LaCrosse 330-2315. Anyone have any experience with this unit?
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: westhillman on December 10, 2016, 06:25:42 AM
No, we're waiting for you to buy it and tell us all about it !   Seriously though, its obviously a new unit and apparently only for sale in the US. Looks promising, with a combined rain/wind unit but sensibly a separate thermo/hygro.   
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: tsellers on January 06, 2017, 07:57:50 AM
Well, after running for three weeks I got dashes for outside temp, humidity and rain on the inside display.  After troubleshooting with LaCrosse they have decided to replace the entire unit.  They even sent me a pre paid shipping label to return the defective unit.  I'm bummed about not having my PWS for a couple of weeks but I will say that LaCrosse customer service has been top notch so far.

For the three weeks that my PWS was operating correctly it was tracking right along with measurements of PWS's around me.

I should receive my replacement in the next week or so.
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on February 28, 2017, 05:12:15 PM

Hi

I have one and is working very good untill right now, I did the wifi setup and saved the IP for the weather station at the router DHCP, changed the batteries for better AA from SONY/PANASONIC and did one wall mount rack for the lcd display with some old scrap metal parts that I had at home.

Some photos:

(https://s9.postimg.org/5vdcgolf3/WhatsApp_Image_2017_02_23_at_16_26_14.jpg)

.

(https://s9.postimg.org/qzx7huuen/20170226_151913.jpg)

.

(https://s9.postimg.org/8lmodvi3z/20170226_151945.jpg)

.

(https://s9.postimg.org/pnfifywz3/20170226_154313.jpg)

.

(https://s9.postimg.org/ualkhqkbz/20170226_155258.jpg)
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: Imageek2 on March 09, 2017, 03:44:33 PM
I ordered one of these to get my feet wet with my first PWS. I will report back (in about a week) when I have it up and running :)
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on March 09, 2017, 04:21:53 PM
I ordered one of these to get my feet wet with my first PWS. I will report back (in about a week) when I have it up and running :)

Nice,

I wish I could change to the another model that include Lighting detector... \:D/
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: Imageek2 on March 09, 2017, 05:16:55 PM
I ordered one of these to get my feet wet with my first PWS. I will report back (in about a week) when I have it up and running :)

Nice,

I wish I could change to the another model that include Lighting detector... \:D/
It looks like from my research that the lightning detection model 328-2314 doesn't allow you to connect it to Weather Underground :?:. That seems strange.
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on March 09, 2017, 05:59:18 PM
I ordered one of these to get my feet wet with my first PWS. I will report back (in about a week) when I have it up and running :)

Nice,

I wish I could change to the another model that include Lighting detector... \:D/
It looks like from my research that the lightning detection model 328-2314 doesn't allow you to connect it to Weather Underground :?:. That seems strange.

True, maybe because is an old model.

better get one of these in black friday

https://www.amazon.com/AcuRite-02020-Portable-Lightning-Detector/dp/B00EO1H3X8/ref=sr_1_1?s=home-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1489100302&sr=1-1&keywords=lighting+detector

 \:D/ ](*,)
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: Imageek2 on March 13, 2017, 11:47:43 PM
I have my 2315 up and running. One issue. When I set it up and began testing it, it connected to WU and appeared on the map right away, and was updating every five seconds or so. After I mounted it in it's permanent spot WU now just says "Station Reported" and doesn't update in real time. It still gets the correct data. It also isn't showing up on Wundermaps anymore. I was thinking it was because it had recorded rainfall because of all the movement. I deleted the bad rainfall data and will see what happens.

My ID is KCARIVER102

Edit: Now it is back up and working the way it did before  :?:
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on March 14, 2017, 02:13:52 PM
I have my 2315 up and running. One issue. When I set it up and began testing it, it connected to WU and appeared on the map right away, and was updating every five seconds or so. After I mounted it in it's permanent spot WU now just says "Station Reported" and doesn't update in real time. It still gets the correct data. It also isn't showing up on Wundermaps anymore. I was thinking it was because it had recorded rainfall because of all the movement. I deleted the bad rainfall data and will see what happens.

My ID is KCARIVER102

Edit: Now it is back up and working the way it did before  :?:

in the first week the station will be a little unstable, keep in mind that it needs to be close of the router and with great wifi signal, over here I can see the station at the DHCP of the router and the signal is full, do a dhcp reservation and monitor if it drop or stay up, over here I can see even how much bandwidth it consumes, look:

DHCP:

(http://i.imgur.com/KMEmNZM.jpg)

Total bandwidth for one month:

(http://i.imgur.com/sfoQOCk.jpg)

And jut the daily upload for the WS:

(http://i.imgur.com/o2pIxle.jpg)

... \:D/




Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: Imageek2 on March 17, 2017, 07:38:15 PM
I’ve had my 330-2315 up and running for several days now and I thought I would give my impressions. As a newbie of course I don’t have much to compare it to so take that into consideration :)

The main unit is smaller than I thought it would be. It seems to be of decent quality The color display is nice, although the color seems to be color overlays on white text/graphics… except for one square in the upper left that looks to be an actual color display of some kind. I like it though. It has a separate thermometer/humidity sensor. I began setting it up by putting batteries into each unit. Initially I could not make out anything on the color display. It needs to be plugged in to the AC unit to turn on the backlight. The display has three brightness settings, high/low/off.

After installing the batteries the sensor units began communicating immediately with the display. In order to set it up with WU you need to download an app, which found my wireless network and logged the 330 into it. I put in my WU credentials and it accepted them with no problems. My station showed up on WU almost immediately.

After I did the initial setup I began to try and figure out how to mount the sensors. My location is challenging. I am in a manufactured home park so there is virtually no land surrounding the home. The best location for the main unit was on top of an antenna mast on the roof. I had several ideas on how to mount it there, but in looking through my bits and pieces I discovered that an extra U mount from a previous antenna worked perfectly with their included mount.

Finding a place for the thermometer was more of a challenge. I tried over a dozen places, but all had an issue with the sun at some point causing the temp to be higher than it should have been. I have a couple of thermometers I was measuring it against, as well as several Davis units relatively close to me. I finally found a spot that works well. I had also purchased a solar shield separately and when in that the temperatures are right in line with the Davis units around me.

It seems to be very accurate with wind speed, direction, gusts, etc. We haven’t had any rainfall since I installed it but a storm is on its way so that will be interesting to see how it does with that.

So far I am happy with the purchase. For the price I bought it for it seems like a great way to jump into the PWS world.

P.S. You can see in the pic showing the display unit my other thermometers. The one on the right is over 15 years old and is still working great!

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on March 18, 2017, 08:26:44 PM


Nice review man, I liked the way you mounted the PWS in that antenna, what a such great idea ever, solid and high.

One question, I send an email to lacrosse asking about the ''forecast'' image in the display unit, I´ve had cloud and sunny draw but no rain, the PWS has 15 days now and we had a lot of rain and the draw never change. The icon on WU is changing as it should and right now is showing RAIN, but in my display only shows cloud, I will never have snow because we dont have that here but a little of rain indicator could be nice... =D>

here is my unit...

https://www.wunderground.com/q/zmw:00000.9.83780?sp=ISOPAULO432&utm_source=HomeCard&utm_content=Button&cm_ven=HomeCardButton

Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: Imageek2 on March 18, 2017, 10:34:29 PM
I can let you know about the rain display in a couple of days, we are supposed to have a storm moving in on Tuesday :)
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on May 15, 2017, 10:42:08 AM
I can let you know about the rain display in a couple of days, we are supposed to have a storm moving in on Tuesday :)

the rain icon now is working properly, probably the station needs more than one month to stabilize and work as it should.

Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on June 22, 2017, 10:11:34 AM


working very good and with no issues... \:D/ \:D/ \:D/
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: icebound on June 27, 2017, 10:40:26 AM
I happen to be a big fan of the way the old WS2812 allows your own computer to capture the data (forever) with no manual intervention.

Does the 330-2315 allow something similar via the wifi?

Or is it a "must" that I go through WU?  Even then, how do I capture the data for my own Excel processing?


Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on June 30, 2017, 01:48:00 PM


I think the only option is getting the data from the WU, the station has no USB connection  :roll:

more than 300 stations sold on eBay and nobody is coming to this forum  ](*,) I wish more people could participate over here and send the feedback... :roll:
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: aafflyer on July 01, 2017, 11:45:07 PM
First day with this unit. Easy to set up. Nice display. Replaced my 2814 which finally gave up the ghost after many years. Bought over Acurite because separate temp sensor is the logical way to go for accuracy.
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on July 05, 2017, 04:42:18 PM
First day with this unit. Easy to set up. Nice display. Replaced my 2814 which finally gave up the ghost after many years. Bought over Acurite because separate temp sensor is the logical way to go for accuracy.

welcome to the club  \:D/ \:D/ \:D/
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: Imageek2 on July 06, 2017, 06:43:01 PM
Mine has read the rainfall correctly. I spent a bit of time trying to get it really level. I would imagine most of the units like this are pretty sensitive to being level, but as this is my first one I cant say for sure  :-)

Edit: Well that's odd, I replied to a post that suddenly is no longer here.

 :?:
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: ibrubeer on July 06, 2017, 06:57:40 PM
I bought this weather station in January.  Since it was a little chilly at that time, I installed it on my backyard fence.  Not an ideal location, since it was low, partially blocking the wind and rain both.  About a month ago, I installed it on the roof of my mower shed.  Much better wind readings, but it was not reading any rainfall!  I did a manual test, and tipping the rain rocker AND pouring a little water into the funnel both yielded rainfall readings.  An actual rain would not give any readings though.

The only thing I could think of was that the mounting angle was not correct, and it was not perfectly vertical.  Sure enough, I tipped the mounting just a little more towards the "front" and it started reading actual rainfall!  My guess was that it was tipped too far to the back, and the rain in the rocker was not heavy enough to actually dump it.  Has anybody else noticed this unit being somewhat sensitive to installation angle?

EDIT:  Sorry!  I was fiddling with the weather sticker in my signature, trying to get it to show up!  Temporarily removed the post to try and get it right.  We'll see if I did...  SUCCESS!!!!
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on July 07, 2017, 12:01:09 AM
Mine has read the rainfall correctly. I spent a bit of time trying to get it really level. I would imagine most of the units like this are pretty sensitive to being level, but as this is my first one I cant say for sure  :-)

Edit: Well that's odd, I replied to a post that suddenly is no longer here.

 :?:

Nice to hear that, I did the same over here because the rain meter works only in level... =D>
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on July 07, 2017, 12:02:29 AM
I bought this weather station in January.  Since it was a little chilly at that time, I installed it on my backyard fence.  Not an ideal location, since it was low, partially blocking the wind and rain both.  About a month ago, I installed it on the roof of my mower shed.  Much better wind readings, but it was not reading any rainfall!  I did a manual test, and tipping the rain rocker AND pouring a little water into the funnel both yielded rainfall readings.  An actual rain would not give any readings though.

The only thing I could think of was that the mounting angle was not correct, and it was not perfectly vertical.  Sure enough, I tipped the mounting just a little more towards the "front" and it started reading actual rainfall!  My guess was that it was tipped too far to the back, and the rain in the rocker was not heavy enough to actually dump it.  Has anybody else noticed this unit being somewhat sensitive to installation angle?

EDIT:  Sorry!  I was fiddling with the weather sticker in my signature, trying to get it to show up!  Temporarily removed the post to try and get it right.  We'll see if I did...  SUCCESS!!!!

Sure, just dont forget to fix it very hard and properly to stay in the same position almost ''forever'', because the level can chance the measurements for rain and all...
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on September 14, 2017, 11:55:45 AM

http://www.lacrossetechnology.com/lacrosseviewsupport/

Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: ibrubeer on September 14, 2017, 12:53:14 PM
Where do I find the device ID to enter into the app? Nothing seems to work...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on September 15, 2017, 02:36:27 PM
Where do I find the device ID to enter into the app? Nothing seems to work...


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk


Reply from La Crosse:
   
La Crosse Technology
The 330-2315 was released about 8 months ago here in the US, and unfortunately will not be supported on our new La Crosse View app. We apologize for this inconvenience

----------------------


 :roll:
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: ibrubeer on September 15, 2017, 03:24:05 PM
I just discovered the same thing. Really?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: alanb on September 15, 2017, 08:59:21 PM
Yikes! That sucks even more than Acurite's failures with the Atlas series marketing! Don't these companies realize that customer trust and loyalty is what builds the brand?
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on September 30, 2017, 07:12:29 PM


Yah That's sucks, even more because the new series is ugly  \:D/

Here are some photos of the station opened and all the parts:

https://fccid.io/document.php?id=2799060

A friend sent to me
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: CW2274 on September 30, 2017, 07:46:09 PM


Yah That's sucks, even more because the new series is ugly  \:D/

Here are some photos of the station opened and all the parts:

https://fccid.io/document.php?id=2799060

A friend sent to me
Ugly? That's just money plain down the tubes..... :shock:
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on October 17, 2017, 06:26:06 PM


here are some photos of our station opened, a friend did this process to fix the rain meter gauge  =D>

(https://i.imgur.com/KnLqn44.jpg)

.

(https://i.imgur.com/wE2Z3P9.jpg)

.

(https://i.imgur.com/GiYe8o8.jpg)

.

(https://i.imgur.com/kfVZoR4.jpg)

.

 \:D/ \:D/ \:D/
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: wcndave on November 03, 2017, 09:22:22 AM
Does anyone consider the 330-2315 still worth purchasing?  I like the display and separate temp sensor, however would quite like to add it and other devices to an app to monitor other locations which this won't do?

Also, am I correct in reading that the "forecast" part of this device is now unsupported and not working?

Thanks, Dave
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: ibrubeer on November 03, 2017, 10:20:52 AM
Does anyone consider the 330-2315 still worth purchasing?  I like the display and separate temp sensor, however would quite like to add it and other devices to an app to monitor other locations which this won't do?

Also, am I correct in reading that the "forecast" part of this device is now unsupported and not working?

Thanks, Dave

I still like the weather station. Haven't really searched to see if there has been anything new released in the last year better than it though. This station still displays on Weather Underground, along with all other personal weather stations. Not sure what you are referencing wanting to do with monitoring other locations, but I would think you could do that on WU.

As for the forecast icons, they never really were worth much, IMHO. All they really did were give you an indication of changing atmospheric pressure...
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171103/d97fe7783a544585abc19608add0aa0d.jpg)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: Boston4 on November 03, 2017, 10:28:20 AM
Hi Dave,

  I run Weewx on a Raspbery Pi and am able to "sniff" the data and publish it wherever I want (APRS,CWOP, WeatherUnderground, PWS Weather, etc). So if your app will accept data from Weewx (or possible other software, not sure), you should be able to publish the data to it.  I didn't know that the forecast was unsupported, but mine works just fine.

  The only problem I have is that the outside Hygrometer is reading 20% high, even when I leave it right next to the base unit as a "test".  I will be calling LaCrosse later this morning for a replacement.

  I am getting very good data off this system for it being a low end unit.  I actually bought it over a davis because I liked the display. One caveat with the display is that you must have it mounted below eye level or you can't see the numbers.  I have to leave it on my desk now, whereas with previous weather units I was able to mount it higher on the wall.

All the best.
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: wcndave on November 03, 2017, 11:11:52 AM
Thanks.

What I meant about the app not being supported and multiple locations, is that the new lacrosse "app" allows you to monitor many different sensors.  So you could put the weather station on your house, then add temp sensors to garage, loft, greenhouse etc, and monitor them all on one app.  However this doesn't support the 330-2315, and in fact seems to support only devices not yet released, and planned for release in US only.

You're correct in that I could monitor on WU, however quite like the ability to cycle through locations on the Oregon to check at a glance those locations on the display, without going to WU.

The forecast bit seems similar to Oregon and so on, and is useful for wife and family.  I would expect this device to keep publishing to WU as long as it's alive.

It's been reduced in price, hence my interest, as I too like the display.
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on December 01, 2017, 02:56:30 AM


My power supply is gone so I did a new one using the same plug and converting it to a usb plug, now I am able to use with a powerbank or plug it into a laptop to move the panel around the farm / home / company

(https://i.imgur.com/PzAttcl.jpg)

.

(https://i.imgur.com/LmqRgO2.jpg)

we only need 5v and 500Mah

 \:D/ ](*,)
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: VaJim on December 01, 2017, 07:04:38 AM


I think the only option is getting the data from the WU, the station has no USB connection  :roll:

more than 300 stations sold on eBay and nobody is coming to this forum  ](*,) I wish more people could participate over here and send the feedback... :roll:

I've got this one:

http://www.lacrossetechnology.com/c84428-wifi-connected-professional-weather-station

Had problems with the wifi and finally got it to connect and stay connected after moving it to another room.  Now if I can get the daylight saving time right I'll be fine.
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: hotsauce2007 on December 04, 2017, 09:24:16 AM


I think the only option is getting the data from the WU, the station has no USB connection  :roll:

more than 300 stations sold on eBay and nobody is coming to this forum  ](*,) I wish more people could participate over here and send the feedback... :roll:

I've got this one:

http://www.lacrossetechnology.com/c84428-wifi-connected-professional-weather-station

Had problems with the WiFi and finally got it to connect and stay connected after moving it to another room.  Now if I can get the daylight saving time right I'll be fine.

Move the panel and station as near as possible of the router or if you can do it, just change the router for a better one and see if the DNS keeps dropping the signal, right here every time that I use IPV6 or google DNS the signal drops and the station stop to report to WU,

To solve the DST problem you will need to use another TIME ZONE, I had to set a different time zone to match the same local time for us, probably the WU is facing problems with the DST auto mode
Title: Re: LaCrosse 330-2315
Post by: VaJim on December 04, 2017, 12:56:57 PM


I think the only option is getting the data from the WU, the station has no USB connection  :roll:

more than 300 stations sold on eBay and nobody is coming to this forum  ](*,) I wish more people could participate over here and send the feedback... :roll:

I've got this one:

http://www.lacrossetechnology.com/c84428-wifi-connected-professional-weather-station

Had problems with the WiFi and finally got it to connect and stay connected after moving it to another room.  Now if I can get the daylight saving time right I'll be fine.

Move the panel and station as near as possible of the router or if you can do it, just change the router for a better one and see if the DNS keeps dropping the signal, right here every time that I use IPV6 or google DNS the signal drops and the station stop to report to WU,

To solve the DST problem you will need to use another TIME ZONE, I had to set a different time zone to match the same local time for us, probably the WU is facing problems with the DST auto mode



I got it all to work.  Ended up trying one more time to move the display (not sure what a panel is) closer to the router.  This time I have have new router (Netgear Orbi AC3000).  Was able to wifi connect and even move the display to another room which is where the problem began with the ASUS router.  The Obi has a satilite in the room I moved the diaply to.  Using the troubleshooting instructions on the View app (2nd time) I was able to get the DST to work.