WXforum.net

Weather Related Organizations => WeatherUnderground => Topic started by: nelms3 on January 10, 2015, 02:06:08 PM

Title: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: nelms3 on January 10, 2015, 02:06:08 PM
Does anybody have an idea why my station is not updating? This just started last week. It show up on the app, but the information is 2 hrs old. I'm running Davis Vantage Vue with WeatherLink with the IP logger. My station name is KTNARLIN5.


Thanks
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: Cutty Sark Sailor on January 10, 2015, 05:27:12 PM
Why do so many of us keep fooling with Wunderground????  :twisted: It should be obvious they don't give a whit about our PWS and info?????
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: JaredC15 on January 10, 2015, 11:44:39 PM
I have had the same problem. My PWS Quit reporting at 6:51 AM this morning and did not return till 9:17 AM. I looked at a station down from me and had the same time gap. Since then it has been sporadic in updating.
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: Gulfcoast on January 11, 2015, 12:01:31 AM
Mine is working and has been all day.
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: MonumentHillWeather on January 11, 2015, 06:19:58 AM
I've been having issues with wunderground updating my station data since the new year. It is now down and not updating once again this morning. My station (a Davis Vantage Pro2) and software (Virtual Weather Station) are both updating and showing perfect data continuously, so I know its a problem with the servers on their end. I have contacted support a few times and they keep saying it's because they are not receiving data from my station when this happens, but I know that's not true, and really its a problem on their end. I actually posted a thread on this topic here...
http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=24880.0
   - Matt
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: nelms3 on January 11, 2015, 07:08:21 PM
Thanks for the comments. When my station goes down it has never come back on it own, I have to retest it through the WeatherLink program.
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: nelms3 on January 18, 2015, 07:26:22 PM
I got my station back online!!! I logged into my WeatherLink account and on the uploads page, the box for Weather Underground was not checked, I rechecked the box and it has been working great!!!
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: SlowModem on January 18, 2015, 07:29:02 PM
I got my station back online!!! I logged into my WeatherLink account and on the uploads page, the box for Weather Underground was not checked, I rechecked the box and it has been working great!!!

The Devil's in the details.
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: Bunty on February 01, 2015, 03:56:18 PM
Why do so many of us keep fooling with Wunderground????  :twisted: It should be obvious they don't give a whit about our PWS and info?????
Because I love it when it's working right.  Besides, who else is there?
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: chief-david on February 01, 2015, 04:12:03 PM
Unfortunately, if we all stopped sending for 12 hours, I do not think they would notice.
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: SlowModem on February 01, 2015, 06:27:10 PM
Unfortunately, if we all stopped sending for 12 hours, I do not think they would notice.

I think you're right.  Besides, the wind gusts have never been to my liking at WU.  Plus they keep changing the pages (I still prefer the classic WU pages) and I just can't stand to look at them any more.  That's why I prefer to look at my PWS Weather page.

http://www.pwsweather.com/obs/TENMILE2.html
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: vreihen on February 01, 2015, 07:43:12 PM
Plus they keep changing the pages (I still prefer the classic WU pages) and I just can't stand to look at them any more.

I can't even find *tomorrow's* weather forecast for my area on WU half the time!  Seriously, they dumbed the forecast down so much that it only shows a table for Monday night...on Sunday afternoon!  It makes me want to call Sam Champion at home and give him a piece of my mind.....  ](*,)
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: wa3pnt on February 17, 2015, 11:55:28 AM
The past several days the Max and Min temperatures on the Rapid Fire page have been erratic.

When viewing the graph, the temperatures are correct, and since midnight never reach the temperature shown as the HIGH on the Rapid Fire page.

As an example, currently the Rapid Fire page shows a HIGH of 62*F since midnight, but the highest temperature according to the graph is only 42*F

This has begun about two days ago.

RodeoGeorge
http://www.wunderground.com/swf/Rapid_Fire.swf?units=english&station=KAZCHINO3 (http://www.wunderground.com/swf/Rapid_Fire.swf?units=english&station=KAZCHINO3)
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: skysummit on February 18, 2015, 06:44:45 PM
Mine seems to have been being very nice on Wunderground. I have not seen any time in the past 2 weeks where it stopped updating.
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: nincehelser on February 18, 2015, 11:21:13 PM
Mine seems to have been being very nice on Wunderground. I have not seen any time in the past 2 weeks where it stopped updating.

Give it time.  Wunderground can get really weird. 

Back in October it was throwing out bogus station outage alerts to random users.  I was getting emails for station outages on the other side of the globe.

I like Wunderground, but its operation is far from perfect.

Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: wa3pnt on February 19, 2015, 12:49:52 AM
Today it's back to normal.  HIGH and LOW Temps are now accurate.

I guess for the money, we can't beat the price.  LOL

RodeoGeorge
Title: Re: Weather Underground is not updating
Post by: vreihen on February 19, 2015, 07:00:47 AM
I guess for the money, we can't beat the price.  LOL

I have *paid* for my membership for as long as they have offered to take my money, and IMO they can do better.....