Author Topic: What's Your Bloomsky Station?  (Read 17122 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BigOkie

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1333
  • Tulsa, OK
    • KOKTULSA13
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #50 on: February 17, 2016, 06:19:07 PM »
Just got mine setup and started transmitting.  It's likely I'll relocate it later.

https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rKq2


Current setup: Davis Vantage Pro 2 Plus Wireless
Weather radios:
Reecom R-1650
Sangean CL-100
Uniden Home Patrol I

Offline Jumpin Joe

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1006
    • Joe's Live Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #51 on: February 17, 2016, 06:37:54 PM »
Just got mine setup and started transmitting.  It's likely I'll relocate it later.

https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rKq2

I added you to my favorites.

Joe
Davis Pro 2 Plus Wireless D-FARS - Weather Link Serial 5.9.2
Weather Display Version10.37S Build 6
http://www.joesweather.info
Joe's Bloomsky 

CWOP: EW2334  Blitzortung ID: 791


Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8572
    • Meteotemplate
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #52 on: February 17, 2016, 07:16:12 PM »
Wow, looks like the BloomSky is getting quite popular, I wonder what percentage of their users are now WxForum members :D

Offline sacreyweather

  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1648
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #53 on: February 17, 2016, 08:38:04 PM »
Got you added, BigOkie.

A very good question, Jachym. I would be curious as to how many of us have ordered one.
CWOP: D2073, GR2AE, GR3, Cumulus, PWSweather,  CoCoRaHS: AR-SL-23  

Saline Weather on Twitter
Blitzortung Station 1387

Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #54 on: February 17, 2016, 09:08:11 PM »
Wow, looks like the BloomSky is getting quite popular, I wonder what percentage of their users are now WxForum members :D

...it only takes a spark...looks serious to me 8-)

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8572
    • Meteotemplate
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #55 on: February 17, 2016, 09:09:39 PM »
It certainly is an interesting product and especially that free offer was quite tempting.

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3314
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #56 on: February 17, 2016, 09:56:09 PM »
Whewwwwww, just entered all 19 favorites listed in this thread. Looks like the rush to get these stations is going quite nicely.
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s85,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, , Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #57 on: February 17, 2016, 10:10:49 PM »

Halethorpe WX is now installed and updating.
https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnZSmm6q0

Have added all the 17 above to my Favorited list.

Gus

Got you down as well.
Dont forget about me :D

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3314
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #58 on: February 17, 2016, 10:51:17 PM »
Don't know about anyone else but, while I was searching for everyone's camera, I noticed some were very difficult to find. First of all, from what I can tell, the Bloomsky App (Android version) doesn't find cameras by Site Name. Sometimes it will send you somewhere in the world that is not even close to where you want to go at all. In addition to that, the Bloomsky map on their website does not include the State the camera is located in. As an example of my BSky camera, it simply says Carson Valley Weather as the site name and then Minden, US as the location. This is really insufficient especially when there a more than one city in the US by the same name.

The above is going to get even worse as they release these cameras worldwide.

Just noticed that if I pull-up my list of favorites with the Android app, the display shows the city, state info. So, it appears it's an inconsistency in how the developers have built the apps for mobile use and web browser use. Guess it's a sign of different development within the organization that aren't coordinating their design efforts. As an old project manager for a major credit card company, I find this to be totally unacceptable to have web/application designers and developers not working together with common layout requirements.
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37s85,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, , Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #59 on: February 17, 2016, 11:03:38 PM »
Don,

I too had some issue but for the most part I can find all cameras by site name and I am running android.

I did had issues where sometimes it will send me to crazy places... BUT what I found is that when that happened there was other sites named almost the same....

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline VaJim

  • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
    • Virginia Beach Backyard Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #60 on: February 18, 2016, 11:58:27 AM »
Don't know about anyone else but, while I was searching for everyone's camera, I noticed some were very difficult to find. First of all, from what I can tell, the Bloomsky App (Android version) doesn't find cameras by Site Name. Sometimes it will send you somewhere in the world that is not even close to where you want to go at all. In addition to that, the Bloomsky map on their website does not include the State the camera is located in. As an example of my BSky camera, it simply says Carson Valley Weather as the site name and then Minden, US as the location. This is really insufficient especially when there a more than one city in the US by the same name.

The above is going to get even worse as they release these cameras worldwide.

Just noticed that if I pull-up my list of favorites with the Android app, the display shows the city, state info. So, it appears it's an inconsistency in how the developers have built the apps for mobile use and web browser use. Guess it's a sign of different development within the organization that aren't coordinating their design efforts. As an old project manager for a major credit card company, I find this to be totally unacceptable to have web/application designers and developers not working together with common layout requirements.

CQ...I agree Don....another quirk is the 18 character space limitation on the name.  And.....Don't even think about trying to find someone on a cell phone.  Even with my Iphone 6+, it's difficult to zoom in. 

Not sure if anyone else has tried, but the area in the app called 'Reset Router Connection' is really another borrowed page from the setup.  The other night while playing with my range extender, I had the need to reset the connection on my Bloomsky.  If the on/off button wasn't hard enough, once you made the reconnection, it then asked for you to name your Bloomsky...why?  All I was doing was resetting the router/RE.  Ended up having to delete the station and reentering it.  Lucky I did it sooner after that none of the data was lost.   
« Last Edit: February 18, 2016, 01:01:57 PM by VaJim »

Offline CNYWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2165
  • Yeah, I'm hugging my traffic light.
    • http://www.cnyweather.com
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #61 on: February 18, 2016, 12:30:24 PM »
Are you guys adding these new stations to Weather Underground also? Mine came & i'm going to set it up this weekend and my daughter's should be here soon too. Guess dad will have to do that also.
Tony




Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #62 on: February 18, 2016, 12:31:51 PM »
Are you guys adding these new stations to Weather Underground also? Mine came & i'm going to set it up this weekend and my daughter's should be here soon too. Guess dad will have to do that also.

I add it mine so I can use the webcam on my primary weather station :)

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline SpringHillWeather

  • Weather Hobbyist
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
  • Spring Hill, Florida
    • Spring Hill
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #63 on: February 18, 2016, 10:29:17 PM »
Don,

I too had some issue but for the most part I can find all cameras by site name and I am running android.

I did had issues where sometimes it will send me to crazy places... BUT what I found is that when that happened there was other sites named almost the same....

Yes on the Android there are two tabs, one for city/location and another for Device name. 
Since most posted their link it shows the device name which I found each time for all the new Bloomsky owners.   When using the default setting for city it can bring you on a wild goose chase :)
Saratoga
HomeWeatherStation
Meteotemplate
Homebrew
Ambient 1001 | ObserverIP | Meteobridge | MeteoPlug

Offline Fox_Of_The_Wind

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 390
  • Hi there!
    • http://www.desotowiwx.com
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #64 on: February 19, 2016, 11:37:15 AM »
Got mine this last Wednesday and took today off so I could set it up (and do some house work). It will move to a better view but for now this is were its at
https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rpWo

Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #65 on: February 19, 2016, 12:01:19 PM »
Don,

I too had some issue but for the most part I can find all cameras by site name and I am running android.

I did had issues where sometimes it will send me to crazy places... BUT what I found is that when that happened there was other sites named almost the same....

Yes on the Android there are two tabs, one for city/location and another for Device name. 
Since most posted their link it shows the device name which I found each time for all the new Bloomsky owners.   When using the default setting for city it can bring you on a wild goose chase :)


Agreed.

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #66 on: February 19, 2016, 12:02:39 PM »
Got mine this last Wednesday and took today off so I could set it up (and do some house work). It will move to a better view but for now this is were its at
https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rpWo

I added you. :)

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline Bob3rd

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #67 on: February 19, 2016, 12:23:24 PM »
Mines going to be offline for a bit.  Bloomsky asked me to send it back for an exchange as the pressure sensor is defective on mine.

Offline Fox_Of_The_Wind

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 390
  • Hi there!
    • http://www.desotowiwx.com
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #68 on: February 19, 2016, 04:20:51 PM »
Got mine this last Wednesday and took today off so I could set it up (and do some house work). It will move to a better view but for now this is were its at
https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rpWo

I added you. :)

Thank you.

Offline Jumpin Joe

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1006
    • Joe's Live Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #69 on: February 19, 2016, 05:35:05 PM »
Got mine this last Wednesday and took today off so I could set it up (and do some house work). It will move to a better view but for now this is were its at
https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rpWo

I added you. :)

Thank you.

I have added you as well.

Joe
Davis Pro 2 Plus Wireless D-FARS - Weather Link Serial 5.9.2
Weather Display Version10.37S Build 6
http://www.joesweather.info
Joe's Bloomsky 

CWOP: EW2334  Blitzortung ID: 791


Offline xcom

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 988
    • Texas Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #70 on: February 19, 2016, 07:05:33 PM »
Got mine this last Wednesday and took today off so I could set it up (and do some house work). It will move to a better view but for now this is were its at
https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rpWo

I added you. :)

Thank you.

I have added you as well.

Joe

Thanks Jumpin Joe. I got you as well :)

----
Davis Vantage Vue|Meteohub 5.0l (Build 7293) Running on Debian 7.9 x86 (oVirt)|WU KTXSPRIN75/PWS JRARGWX75/CWOP EW2972/WBB TXWDVUE75/Blitzortung ID: 1142|AWEKAS: 12095

Offline sacreyweather

  • Echo Valley Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1648
    • Echo Valley Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #71 on: February 19, 2016, 07:22:41 PM »
I added you also, Anthony.
CWOP: D2073, GR2AE, GR3, Cumulus, PWSweather,  CoCoRaHS: AR-SL-23  

Saline Weather on Twitter
Blitzortung Station 1387

Offline Jumpin Joe

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1006
    • Joe's Live Weather
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #72 on: February 19, 2016, 07:55:26 PM »
Got mine this last Wednesday and took today off so I could set it up (and do some house work). It will move to a better view but for now this is were its at
https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/eaB1rJytnpS4rpWo

I added you. :)

Thank you.

I have added you as well.

Joe

Thanks Jumpin Joe. I got you as well :)

oops... I meant that for Fox Of The Wind.... I had added you a while back and noticed that you had added me to yours too!!

Thanks again,

Joe
Davis Pro 2 Plus Wireless D-FARS - Weather Link Serial 5.9.2
Weather Display Version10.37S Build 6
http://www.joesweather.info
Joe's Bloomsky 

CWOP: EW2334  Blitzortung ID: 791


Offline SpringHillWeather

  • Weather Hobbyist
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
  • Spring Hill, Florida
    • Spring Hill
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #73 on: February 20, 2016, 11:44:22 AM »
Mines going to be offline for a bit.  Bloomsky asked me to send it back for an exchange as the pressure sensor is defective on mine.

You say Bloomsky asked, did they find the problem and contact you?

On the Bloomsky dashboard http://dashboard.bloomsky.com under Data View my unit is now saying I have (4) pressure, humidity and temp errors and I need to Restart my unit.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
Saratoga
HomeWeatherStation
Meteotemplate
Homebrew
Ambient 1001 | ObserverIP | Meteobridge | MeteoPlug

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2659
    • nincehelser.com
Re: What's Your Bloomsky Station?
« Reply #74 on: February 20, 2016, 12:06:13 PM »
On the Bloomsky dashboard http://dashboard.bloomsky.com under Data View my unit is now saying I have (4) pressure, humidity and temp errors and I need to Restart my unit.

 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

That's an interesting feature.  Were you alerted on your phone about the errors?

 

anything