Author Topic: rolling my own  (Read 8312 times)

Offline dch26

rolling my own
« on: October 20, 2011, 03:05:40 AM »
hi guys - new member - i have just posted my hi/intro to the appropriate place!

just a quick one to say that i am an experienced software dev and am working on connecting
my pc to a davis vantage pro 2 (also works on original vantage and vue)

currently using Perl to talk to console. (my wireless console has serial/rs232 module, but is connected to a digi-key
to make it IP)

happily reading all the loop (current) data, all of the archive records,
hi-lows, settings and calibrations. so thats good.
all these are being stored in a simple MySQL database.

after i sort out the frequency i should be storing these things into the database (once every 2 seconds seems a bit keen!) then
i will sort out a front end (web server) - to deliver the data in a pretty format to pc's, phones, whatever. animated graphs and dials with
data layer updated via ajax is what i'm planning.

my lack of experience in the weather station "scene" is what i'm lacking.......what is needed on the screen? what do users want to see?
how do they use it?

i'll just continue to re-invent the wheel and do it "my way" (as frank once said) - unless i hear you guys chiming in.

would be very interested to hear from you if you are interested in what i'm doing, or if you are doing something similar.

cheers
dch

Offline DanS

• Chiang Mai weather
  • Forecaster
    • ThaiWx
Re: rolling my own
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2011, 03:14:27 AM »
WxForum member 'wxtech' may be interested in what you're up to as he's currently getting together all that is needed to 'roll your own' personal weather station. Your interfacing project might fit right in.
« Last Edit: October 20, 2011, 03:55:58 AM by DanS »

Offline Weather Display

• Forecaster
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2011, 05:04:17 AM »