Author Topic: WS-2813-IT  (Read 2567 times)

Offline John Sankowski

WS-2813-IT
« on: January 24, 2013, 04:10:47 AM »
All wind functions have stopped. I replaced the batteries in the thermo-hydro sensor ( 2 C batteries) and the base station and the problem persists. Have I missed something?
The day it quit we had wind gusts up to 50 miles an hour, however I would assume that should not be a factor.
I have outdoor temp and dew point. Don't know about rain since there has been none.

John

Offline DanS

• Chiang Mai weather
  • Forecaster
    • ThaiWx
Re: WS-2813-IT
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2013, 05:20:29 AM »
Hi John. I've been running a ws-2810 since the end of 2009 that can experience the same thing that you describe. This is what I've learned with how to avoid it. This is assuming there hasn't been any water damage to the wind sensor and since you mention no rain since this happened I'm guessing it's dry.

1. Batteries. (I know you said you changed them). Alkaline or Lithium are preferred. Regular dry cell and rechargeable are definite no-no's. It's good to check, even brand new batteries, for at least 1.5 volts per cell when installing them. The communication link between the Thermo/Hygro sensor and the wind sensor can start dropping the wind data when the Thermo/Hygro batteries get down in the 1.49 volt and lower range.

2. Power on sequence. Since your wind sensor was previously working then you should only need to reset the Thermo/Hygro sensor and console/display. The important part is the order and time between. After re-installing batteries in the Thermo/Hygro sensor you should wait about 2 minutes or more to insure it re-establishes contact with the wind sensor first.  After the 2 minutes period, then re-install the console/display batteries (or reset) last.