Author Topic: Spurious Emissions, Davis VP2 Dropouts  (Read 2163 times)

Offline captbrando

Spurious Emissions, Davis VP2 Dropouts
« on: September 27, 2017, 12:01:30 PM »
Fellow enthusiasts.

I've been a Davis Vantage Pro II station user for over a decade. My current setup has the connection out of the back of the wireless console dumping to a Raspberry Pi (Model 3B today). This gathers information and then dumps it to a database elsewhere in my house.

I have been fighting temporary dropouts for YEARS. To the point that I think Weather Underground hates me for my steady reports of the wrong temperature. Anyway... I've been doing some experiments. I have two consoles, and the one connected to my RPi (after moving to a new location) is still dropping out randomly. I am now suspecting that either the RPi or the Serial cable is causing spurious 900MHz emissions at times that is causing the console to lose signal. We're talking 30 feet, line of sight.

Has anyone else observed spurious emissions with the RPi platform?

Offline captbrando

Re: Spurious Emissions, Davis VP2 Dropouts
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2017, 07:37:34 PM »
Correct. I ended up turning off the Bluetooth radio on the RPi, wondering if it broadcasting was somehow overloading the receiver. Will have to watch it.

Offline dalecoy

• Forecaster
    • Lee's Summit, MO
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2017, 08:39:27 PM »
The console diagnostic screens might provide a useful clue or two.

Offline eyecue

« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2017, 09:15:54 PM »
Correct. I ended up turning off the Bluetooth radio on the RPi, wondering if it broadcasting was somehow overloading the receiver. Will have to watch it.
  The 900 Mhz band is open to medical devices, baby monitors and other devices, you might have a tough time tracking down the issue.
Cocorahs, Skywarn, Aficionado of weather. Davis VP2  pro wireless, Oregon Scientific and DIY.

Offline captbrando

« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2017, 09:19:48 PM »