Author Topic: can't get my website to load ((FIXED))  (Read 2021 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Fox_Of_The_Wind

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 483
  • Hi there!
    • http://www.desotowiwx.com
can't get my website to load ((FIXED))
« on: February 16, 2017, 07:41:53 PM »
I can't get my site to load at desotowiwx.com I am able to ftp to it. But the site itself would not load. any ideas what is wrong?

might be a godaddy server problem? it will load picture files on the site....just not the index file.... strange.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2017, 08:09:40 PM by Fox_Of_The_Wind »

Anthony

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 08:01:41 PM »
HTML has just this:

Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
   "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

Either a fatal error right at the beginning, or, more likely, file got corrupted while being transferred to your server. I would try re-uploading the index file (or the file that is included right at the top). Or post the code of the page, the line that is right below the last line of the code I posted above, if there is an error it would probably be in that one.

You could also try inserting this PHP code somewhere at the top of the page:

Code: [Select]
error_reporting(E_ALL);

Offline Fox_Of_The_Wind

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 483
  • Hi there!
    • http://www.desotowiwx.com
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 08:09:53 PM »
HTML has just this:

Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
   "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

Either a fatal error right at the beginning, or, more likely, file got corrupted while being transferred to your server. I would try re-uploading the index file (or the file that is included right at the top). Or post the code of the page, the line that is right below the last line of the code I posted above, if there is an error it would probably be in that one.

You could also try inserting this PHP code somewhere at the top of the page:

Code: [Select]
error_reporting(E_ALL);

It started working again.........that is strange. I did reboot the computer running the weather software. But I did not think there was anything that edits the index file.
Thank you for the help!


and its down again....I emailed my ISP and godaddy. see if any of them know what is going on.

its strange.... :?
« Last Edit: February 16, 2017, 09:19:37 PM by Fox_Of_The_Wind »

Anthony

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 09:26:27 PM »
Pm

Offline wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1986
    • My PWS at Leuven Belgium Europe
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 03:43:00 AM »
HTML has just this:

Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
   "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

Either a fatal error right at the beginning, or, more likely, file got corrupted while being transferred to your server. I would try re-uploading the index file (or the file that is included right at the top). Or post the code of the page, the line that is right below the last line of the code I posted above, if there is an error it would probably be in that one.

You could also try inserting this PHP code somewhere at the top of the page:

Code: [Select]
error_reporting(E_ALL);

It started working again.........that is strange. I did reboot the computer running the weather software. But I did not think there was anything that edits the index file.
Thank you for the help!


and its down again....I emailed my ISP and godaddy. see if any of them know what is going on.

its strange.... :?
Fatal error caused by PHP errors in testtags.php
When index.php is loaded it first start loading a lot of other scripts. Most of them do not change so when they are correct, they remain correct.

index.php loads top.php
top.php loads settings.php and common.php
Then top.php outputs the few lines Jáchym showed .
So we know we are at line 61 of top.php, check here http://desotowiwx.com/check-fetch-times.php?show=structure

At that line and below your tags file, testtags.php is loaded and a php error kills all subsequent loading of scripts => result a blank page (with some hidden html to inspect).

The blank page occurs as there is a parser error reading the testtags.php file. The error is often caused by
1. special characters (quotes or other special php characters)  in forecast texts, names, metar conditions
2. incomplete / no data in fields with missing quotation marks
3. incomplete or yet unfinished upload.

When this blank page happens again:
1. make a copy of the testtags.php on your webserver
2. and give it a name such  as testtags-error.txt
3. post that file so all of us can check it and  see which tag causes the error.

If it is an error 1 or 2: As not all tags are used from the huge testtags.php file, most of the times commenting the offending line in  C:\wdisplay\webfiles\testtags.txt is a good solution.

If it is error 3, an incomplete file you should instruct WD to upload the file as testtags-new.php
The template scripts test if that  file testtags-new.php exist
and if so it is checked to be complete
and if so the file is renamed to testtags.php
That way an incomplete upload is not used, only completed uploads.

My advice would be, to always upload the file as testtags-new.php when using a recent Saratoga site.
That removes a lot of blank screens and the like caused by access conflicts when
the fast web-server wants to read testtags.php
but the always "slow" FTP uploading is still taking place.

Wim
 
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 07:06:06 AM by wvdkuil »

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2017, 11:40:34 AM »
Thanks Wim! Excellent diagnostics and advice as always.   =D&gt;  =D&gt;  =D&gt;
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline Fox_Of_The_Wind

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 483
  • Hi there!
    • http://www.desotowiwx.com
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 06:09:34 PM »
HTML has just this:

Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN"
  "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

Either a fatal error right at the beginning, or, more likely, file got corrupted while being transferred to your server. I would try re-uploading the index file (or the file that is included right at the top). Or post the code of the page, the line that is right below the last line of the code I posted above, if there is an error it would probably be in that one.

You could also try inserting this PHP code somewhere at the top of the page:

Code: [Select]
error_reporting(E_ALL);

It started working again.........that is strange. I did reboot the computer running the weather software. But I did not think there was anything that edits the index file.
Thank you for the help!


and its down again....I emailed my ISP and godaddy. see if any of them know what is going on.

its strange.... :?
Fatal error caused by PHP errors in testtags.php
When index.php is loaded it first start loading a lot of other scripts. Most of them do not change so when they are correct, they remain correct.

index.php loads top.php
top.php loads settings.php and common.php
Then top.php outputs the few lines Jáchym showed .
So we know we are at line 61 of top.php, check here http://desotowiwx.com/check-fetch-times.php?show=structure

At that line and below your tags file, testtags.php is loaded and a php error kills all subsequent loading of scripts => result a blank page (with some hidden html to inspect).

The blank page occurs as there is a parser error reading the testtags.php file. The error is often caused by
1. special characters (quotes or other special php characters) in forecast texts, names, metar conditions
2. incomplete / no data in fields with missing quotation marks
3. incomplete or yet unfinished upload.

When this blank page happens again:
1. make a copy of the testtags.php on your webserver
2. and give it a name such as testtags-error.txt
3. post that file so all of us can check it and see which tag causes the error.

If it is an error 1 or 2: As not all tags are used from the huge testtags.php file, most of the times commenting the offending line in C:\wdisplay\webfiles\testtags.txt is a good solution.

If it is error 3, an incomplete file you should instruct WD to upload the file as testtags-new.php
The template scripts test if that file testtags-new.php exist
and if so it is checked to be complete
and if so the file is renamed to testtags.php
That way an incomplete upload is not used, only completed uploads.

My advice would be, to always upload the file as testtags-new.php when using a recent Saratoga site.
That removes a lot of blank screens and the like caused by access conflicts when
the fast web-server wants to read testtags.php
but the always "slow" FTP uploading is still taking place.

Wim

Thanks. But I think it's in the hands of my ISP. now my website times out all the time. nothing will load for me. but it is updating.....somehow?? My ISP says that they have to contact their NOC regarding the area signals that they are seeing. (whatever NOC is). So I am hopeing that will fix my problem.....and I hope soon.

Anthony

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8605
    • Meteotemplate
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2017, 06:14:18 PM »
network operations center

This definitely is not a problem with any of the scripts or something you did wrong so I guess the only solution is to wait for your ISP to solve this. Could be some misconfiguration or overloaded server

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 10:15:43 PM »
One other thing to check is in c:\weatherd\webfiles\testtags.txt

If you have
Code: [Select]
$NOAAEvent = '%NOAAEvent%'; // NOAA Watch/Warning/Advisory
$noaawarningraw = '%noaawarningraw%'; // NOAA RAW watch/warning/advisory
there, then go ahead and delete those two lines.  They're not used in the template (nor any plugins/add-ons).
Sometimes, the $noaawarningraw comes with an embedded single quote (') which causes a PHP syntax error, and your site won't display because testtags.php is automatically included in all the wx...php pages.
That is the 'usual suspect' for blank pages for long periods, even with the testtags-new.php bypass for slow FTP in use.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline Fox_Of_The_Wind

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 483
  • Hi there!
    • http://www.desotowiwx.com
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #9 on: February 21, 2017, 09:49:29 PM »
Still going around and around with my ISP. now they are saying there is nothing wrong with there system.......anyway....

My site did the black screen thing again. so I made a text file out of the  testtage at http://desotowiwx.com/testtags-error.txt

hope this helps someone.

Anthony

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 9257
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #10 on: February 21, 2017, 11:40:47 PM »
That was very helpful to capture the failed testtags.txt.

It shows as incomplete cutting off at the end
Quote
$snowmonthcm = '0';   // Snow for month you have entered under input daily weather, cm
$snowtodaycm = '0.0';   // Snow for today you have entered under input daily weather, cm
$snowyesterday = '0
which results in a PHP error and the site is down.

I suggest you change WD to upload testtags.txt template as testtags-new.php to your site.  The top.php has code in it to detect this and if a complete testtags-new.php is found, it is copied to testtags.php and used on your site.  This can be helpful when a slow FTP upload is happening, and the file is not complete.  Also change WD to upload as temp and rename the file.. that will also minimize the exposure to having an incomplete file due to slow FTP upload.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline waiukuweather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1072
Re: can't get my website to load
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2017, 09:11:10 PM »
maybe there is a NULL (i.e "") value for that %snowyesterday% custom tag

Offline Fox_Of_The_Wind

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 483
  • Hi there!
    • http://www.desotowiwx.com
Re: can't get my website to load (FIXED)
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2017, 08:09:20 PM »
One last update. my connection is stable again. YAY.

Thank you all for the info. I updated some things with it on my site.
« Last Edit: February 24, 2017, 08:18:33 PM by Fox_Of_The_Wind »

Anthony