Author Topic: Hardware/Software Combo Recommendations  (Read 2242 times)

Offline Skyview

• Forecaster
  • Former Aviation Weather Observer
    • Fuquay Varina Weather
Hardware/Software Combo Recommendations
« on: March 10, 2015, 02:25:37 AM »
I'm new to the whole PWS thing, but have decided on a Vantage Vue for my needs.

Goals:

1. Publish to the net without the need for a PC
2. Personal weather website with dedicated domain
3. Ability to update popular weather sites like WU, etc.
4. Ability to store all data on my own VPS in a MySQL database

This graphic illustrates the basics of what I want to accomplish:

Questions:

1. It looks like a Meteobridge would get me basically what I am looking for but I am trying to reconcile the difference between a Meteobridge and a Weatherbridge. I'm hoping it something significant. Otherwise it's all pure profit for Ambient. Can anyone explain the basic differences?

2. I would like to use something like Weather Display or Cumulus but I think they may require 24/7 use of a PC. If that is the case, I guess I'm really looking for something that would have similar features/functionality but on the server side via HTML, PHP, etc. Since I want to store all of the data on a web server, is there something available that will do this server side and use data from a MySQL database (either its own or pull from one I setup)?

I would appreciate recommendations from those of you who have either done this or know how to best accomplish it. Thanks.

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Hardware/Software Combo Recommendations
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2015, 09:58:43 AM »
1.  Yup - Ambient saves 15 minutes of your time by preconfiguring the box.  And charges you for it.
2.  Raspberry Pi running SQL.  Weewx on it, too.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Skyview

• Forecaster
    • Fuquay Varina Weather