Author Topic: Saratoga-Weather.org goes VPS...  (Read 1539 times)

Offline saratogaWX

• Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Saratoga-Weather.org goes VPS...
« on: September 21, 2016, 05:55:40 PM »
It's been an active Summer'16 with reroofing and reconstructing the weather station (described here), but that wasn't all the fun.. I was kinda forced into a change in website hosting that allowed me to have all the stuff on the website work again.  Here's the background:

I've been hosting on shared Linux servers with 1and1 since 2006 -- first 'Business Linux' then when that package discontinued, with 'Dual Unlimited' hosting for $9 to $12/month.  When I first signed up, I was allowed free registration for 3 domains, so naturally I picked 'saratoga-weather.org' as one of them.  That became the primary domain for the website, and the main email domain (with forwards from all the other registered domains).

As time went on, various folks who had hosted Regional Weather networks had decided to no longer host/administer those networks and asked if I could take over hosting/admin for the networks.. sure, I said, and added them as websites to my hosting at 1and1.  No problem at all.  Because of that, I now host 4 Canada and 6 USA networks on the same site as Saratoga-weather.org.   All these sites depend on cron to routinely collect conditions from member stations, and my main site uses cron for a variety of background functions (Blitzortung maps, GR3 animation, sparkline graphs, etc) and some remote loading for some international regional networks (who didn't have cron availability).