Author Topic: Security  (Read 1670 times)

Offline Downlinerz2

• Forecaster
Security
« on: January 03, 2011, 10:39:48 AM »
    I just registered my VWS Internet version and am ready to start uploading to WU and then start website.
    Are there any security issues I need to think of apart from the normal ones of the internet 8-[ 8-[?  I do have some other things on this computer and want to keep them secure.  I have McAfee security suite with firewall and the whole shebang.
   Thanks for any advice!!!
       Mark

Offline DaculaWeather

• WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
    • North Georgia Weather
Re: Security
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 12:11:12 PM »
You should be good. I've been running VWS Internet Edition for three years now, no problem. As long as your router and Windows Firewall are there, you shouldn't have any issues.

Offline Downlinerz2

• Forecaster
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 01:14:00 PM »
Steve,
   Thanks.  I felt pretty sure I would be ok but wanted to check with the experts!!  Can't be too carefull these days!!
       Mark

Offline Harryca

• Forecaster
    • Union City, CA Weather
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2011, 04:28:15 PM »
Using a strong password for your website account (or any internet account for that matter) is a must.  This is what my web hoster recommends.

Set a secure password for your hosting account

To heighten security, and avoid any possible corruptions of your account, please create the strongest password possible. Here are the gradations:

•Unacceptable - less than 6 characters

•Weak - 5 or more Characters, including 1 or more Numerics

•Fair - 5 or more Characters  including:
•1 Numeric, and
•1 or more Special characters, or
•1 or more Uppercase Characters

•Strong - 5 or more characters including:
•2 or more Numerics, and
•1 or more Special Characters, or
•1 or more Uppercase characters

•Very Secure - 5 or more characters including:
•2 or more Numerics, and
•1 or more Special Characters, and