Author Topic: best weather radio  (Read 15931 times)

Offline srmva

best weather radio
« on: June 28, 2008, 12:17:32 PM »
Hi All, I'm new to the forum. I am a Pilot, spotter, weather enthusiast. I would like your opinoin on the best, most dependable weather radio w/ same. In reading through the post's it seems alot  have Midland's WR-300.

I have been tasked with buying some for our work place locations.

Do they make a radio that you can select which watches / warnings you want to recieve?  Ie. I just want to receive severe weather warnings and not flood watches, ozone or non precipitation events. just severe t storm and tornado watches/warning.
thanks,
 Scott

Offline katlon

• LONNIE'S WEATHER STATION
  • Contributor
  • GO HEELS!!!
Re: best weather radio
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2008, 03:24:52 PM »
Scott
I have a Reecom R-1630 which I use which would probably serve your needs. I use it to broadcast just the s.a.m.e. warnings of Greenville Co., SC over the internet. Some folks have stated that they have had a hard time programming the receiver but with a little time and effort it has worked perfectly for me for more than a year. Below is a link to the receiver.

Lonnie

http://www.reecominc.com/

Offline George Richardson

• WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2008, 08:08:07 PM »
Scott,
The Midland WR-300 does do what you are asking. VERY nice radio. Have had mine about a month and am happy with the value.
FWIW
George

Offline Anthony

• Forecaster
    • Anthony's Weather
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2008, 08:35:54 AM »
I have a handheld all hazards weather radio from Radio Shack. You can enter upto 10 FIPS codes, it has S.A.M.E. technology and allows you to select what events you want to recieve. Will run on either AC or DC.

Downfalls, battery life stinks (about 3 or 4 days) & no outside antenna connection.

Thanks,
Anthony
WB8YUE

Offline WaunaWx

« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2008, 11:49:43 PM »
Scott