Author Topic: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.  (Read 6578 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brian.r.hamilton

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« on: March 19, 2012, 12:05:43 PM »
Does anybody know why the Wind Gust Speed is not contained/saved in the currdat.lst file?

This omission/oversight means that data reported to sites like Weather Underground using WUHU will never match the true data collected by the weather station hardware or that displayed in Heavy Weather.  This problem could be solved simply by including the Wind Gust Speed in currdat.lst.

LaCrosse Technology:  Please update the Heavy Weather windows service (WV5Communication) to include Wind Gust Speed in currdat.lst!
« Last Edit: March 19, 2012, 12:32:26 PM by brian.r.hamilton »

Offline brian.r.hamilton

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 12:34:09 PM »
I see this topic was discussed a while back here:  http://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=9210.0.

Very frustrating that LaCrosse still hasn't made this painfully simple software change to solve this problem.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012, 03:17:11 PM »
but as that it was previously discussed, the max speed is only saved in the history.dat file, i.e its calculated retrospectively and not as live data
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline brian.r.hamilton

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2012, 02:07:45 PM »
I see no reason gust speed couldn't be written to currdat.lst by the Heavy Weather WV5Communication service.  It's a trivial software update & LaCrosse really should be embarrassed by the omission.

Offline Weather Display

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2611
    • West Coast Road Weather Data
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2012, 02:44:12 PM »
the thing is, the console is not providing max gust
there is only 1 speed.....average speed....
the max gust is calculated retrospectively in the data base (i.e from the max average speeds)
i.e there is no live max gust
Brian
info@weather-display.com
http://www.weather-display.com

Offline brian.r.hamilton

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2012, 03:14:48 PM »
My console is not connection directly to a computer, it uses a wireless connection.  My console also does display max gust speed.  If it is calculated on the computer, the WV5Communication service would have to send it back to the console in addition to receiving data from the console.  The max gust speed never matches between the console & Heavy Weather either.  Also, it would seem a lot simpler from a design standpoint to manage this in the console itself.

Regardless of the actual operation, if the WV5Communication service included max gust in currdat.lst, WUHU would have access to the same data that should be displayed in HW & wouldn't have to duplicate this calculation by windowing the average speed.  If the software were updated to include max gust, WUHU & HW should display the same max gust.  If the hardware works as you claim, the console would also display the same max gust.  Then everything would agree as it should.

Offline wuhu_software

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
    • WUHU Software Yahoo Group
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2012, 05:56:04 AM »

I would agree with your opinion, gust should be maintained at the hardware level. The lack of engineering suggests that these are not only produced in China, they are designed there as well.

Offline Highly Cool

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #7 on: July 18, 2012, 02:45:53 PM »
I am pushing a campaign with all La Crosse HeavyWeather users to contact La Crosse at support@lacrossetechnology.com and ask them to get Wind Gust data added to the currdat.lst file.  While they may not be able to capture the 6 second updates that would show in HeavyWeather, it should be no biggie to at least capture the gust recorded on the minutely update of the history.dat file.

I made a support request and was given a 1-line response of 'It can't be added', but when I went back and asked again about adding it they responded 'WE have noted your suggestion for future consideration.'

So, I think if they have numerous requests for this from lots of users, it may help speed them up on getting it included.

If you are a La Crosse WS-28XX user and use HeavyWeather and the currdat.lst file to upload your data to Weather Underground or another Internet site, please consider sending them an email asking that they get this change made ASAP.

Thanks!
Keith

Offline blizzardof78

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 540
Re: Heavy Weather Pro WS 2800 bug, wind gust.
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2012, 10:31:12 AM »
Hi Keith... I wrote to them and here is the reply I received, rather 'generic' if you ask me!

"With regard to the following from your email: "is there an update available or possibly come up with one that catches that maximum wind GUST and sends it out there for all to see?"
There is no update that will have a wind gust reporting function. Your suggestion has been noted for future possible consideration."

Bull! I will be writing them again and soon calling them. Peak wind gusts being displayed are very important as I have a station 20 miles from me that I keep daily records for. I do all of it through WU's online function. All it has ever shown is a way below actual wind gust. I suggest if La Crosse doesn't get their programming in order we all go somewhere else! Oh wait, I already did!!  :lol: