Author Topic: Weather Station for Home Automation  (Read 3357 times)

Offline apardal

Weather Station for Home Automation
« on: September 09, 2014, 04:14:48 PM »
Hi!

First time poster here. My name is Andre, 33 years old, and I'm from Sintra - Portugal. These past few weeks I've been reading a lot about weather stations. I've just started this because I've built my house and I need some sensor input to make my house "intelligent" with my home automation system.

I've installed an iDom system which is proprietary (I may regret having made this decision) because it was the only system that my electrician worked with. I think it is KNX based and it has a Gateway with RS232/485 connectivity through RJ12 port (6P6C) - Modbus.

I'm a civil engineer. Bricks and concrete are my thing. I know nothing about weather, very little of programming, and I can work the hardware with soldering and stuff.

What I need for my home automation system is (purpose):

- rainfall (watering the garden)
- wind direction, speed and wind gust (windows shutters emergency open >30 mph wind gust)
- sunset, sunrise (illumination)
- temperature (climate control)
- humidity (ventilation)

With this in mind, I bought a Fine Offset weather station (Watson W-8681) a few years ago, when I wasn't aware of the home automation system that I would install. This weather station does almost everything I need, apart of sunset/sunrise, but I can install a sensor connected directly to the home automation collector input for cheap. What I don't know is if it is possible for my WS to "talk" with the home automation system.

I've downloaded the Modbus integration manual for my home automation system ( http://www.domatica.ptservidor.com/support/download_attachment.php?kb_att=24 ) and I understand how to do it, but I'm not sure if the data output from the WS will be "readable".