Author Topic: Access Connection Issues  (Read 4507 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Glenn

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #75 on: June 12, 2018, 08:47:46 PM »
I just installed a new router, I'll see if that helps things along. I've noticed a few data gaps on WU over the last few days. So I'm still getting some type of connection issue here and there.
Acurite 5 in 1 Pro+
Southern VT
Connecticut

Offline daman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #76 on: June 13, 2018, 06:57:22 PM »
Things have been chugging along pretty well here no major issues with the Access.

The only thing that bothers me is with the improved reception with Accesses I'm now picking up the neighbors sensors  ](*,) but I can live with that lol.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2018, 06:59:47 PM by daman »
AcuRite 01057RM Pro+ 5-in-1 Color w/ Accsess
Michigan


Offline MacGarage

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #77 on: June 14, 2018, 10:25:05 AM »
For those that have a working Access, are your sensors reporting the correct time on the IP address internal page? Looking at all of my network specs, that is the only issues I can find. It seems all sensors connected to the Access gain time quickly. No matter what is tried, it drops within hours. I can sit there and watch the sensors drop one by one and then notice the reported time from Acurite’s servers is incorrect.


My Access has never worked properly while my SmartHub does. The Access, with firmware 47, quickly finds all sensors (with fresh batteries) but has dropped them from day one while the SmartHub works perfectly. All sensors show a strong signal and battery in the IP information page.

I have tried everything to get the Access from dropping. As a last resort, the Access now has a 10ft ethernet cord direct to my internet router and as close as 10-15 feet to an indoor sensor in the same room and via a window line of sight now about 100 feet to my 5 in 1.

If you had problems, what ended up fixing the issue?

Offline Glenn

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #78 on: June 16, 2018, 07:19:42 AM »
Since installing the new router, I've had a few data gaps show on WU. Most appear to be about an hour in length and happen overnight.

I've checked the MyAcurite app a few times during the day and most of the time have excellent signal strength. However, there have been some instances where it's indicated a weak or poor signal. Always seems to bounce back though. I just can't figure what's messing with it.
Acurite 5 in 1 Pro+
Southern VT
Connecticut

Offline MacGarage

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #79 on: June 16, 2018, 09:48:27 AM »
Thanks...your experience sounds like it is very similar to what I am experiencing right now.

There seems to be a gap of about one to two hours on MyAcurite and then they bounce back to full strength. While they are offline, I can still see the sensors on the IP internal webpage and all show a strong signal. The sensors will show back up again after the 1-2 hours. Of course, the SmartHub is seeing them all and working fine.

Mine is now directly plugged into a provided newer internet router (Spectrum Technicolor TC8715D). The behavior did not change regardless of the router.

The only thing I noticed is that the Access shows my sensor's time is off (SmartHub does not) and when the time gets too far off, then I notice they are offline.

Offline BeaverMeadow

  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 140
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #80 on: June 16, 2018, 09:56:53 AM »
I think I recall seeing a suggested workaround for a periodic resetting of the time. It was either on this site or the Acurite site. If you haven't tried it already maybe that will resolve your problem.

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2273
    • nincehelser.com
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #81 on: June 16, 2018, 10:58:18 AM »
I think I recall seeing a suggested workaround for a periodic resetting of the time. It was either on this site or the Acurite site. If you haven't tried it already maybe that will resolve your problem.

I've suggested that a few times, but I finally had the problem myself and I don't really think that is going to help (though it doesn't hurt to try).  I'm thinking the clock drift might be more of a symptom than the root cause.

Last week I had an Access unit that went "offline" and stayed that way.  It had been running fine since it was installed a few months ago.

I took a look at the traffic during this time and saw that all traffic to myAcurite had stopped... there was nothing on port 443 at all.  However, traffic on port 80 to wunderground continued without issue.

Just to make things really weird, I couldn't clear this behavior with a simple power-cycle.  I had to remove all power and batteries for about 5 minutes, then power up again.

After doing that, traffic to myAcurite started up again.

I'm stumped as to what the trigger might be.  It's really weird that only traffic to myAcurite is impacted.  Or maybe it's only encrypted traffic that's impacted.

The Access has been running fine ever since, but I'm sending it back to Acurite for analysis, anyway.

Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #82 on: June 16, 2018, 11:12:13 AM »
Sending it back isn't going to help. The Access can only do what it is programmed to do... It shouldn't be going rogue.


Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2273
    • nincehelser.com
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #83 on: June 16, 2018, 11:16:41 AM »
Sending it back isn't going to help. The Access can only do what it is programmed to do... It shouldn't be going rogue.

It will help determine what the trigger is, particularly if it is caused by a problem in the hardware.

Offline MacGarage

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #84 on: June 16, 2018, 11:34:49 AM »
That is interesting about the 443 port. Earlier, I even made sure all the ports were open on the router and that did not make a difference.

Offline daman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #85 on: June 16, 2018, 12:15:51 PM »
I had my first issue the other day..

These problems are piling up my Accsess has been working fine since installed I had my first hiccup the other night I have a 5n1 and 2 tower sensors reporting to my Acurite dashboard but ONLY my 5n1 seemed to mysteriously drop off to a signal of "0" display showed full signal, nothing was being sent to either my dashboard OR WU but my tower sensors were unaffected nice full signal of "4". So why only the 5n1 was effected and not the tower sensors? signal came back on it's own 7 hours later and WU and dashboard were updating again.

There is definitely a issue going on with the Accsess the old smart hub had no problems like this.
AcuRite 01057RM Pro+ 5-in-1 Color w/ Accsess
Michigan


Offline DoctorKnow

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1232
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #86 on: June 16, 2018, 01:40:14 PM »
I just checked mine. The clock is about 20 secs or so fast, and the Atlas dropped to 1 and then came back to 4. The 5n1 stayed at 4 along with a 2 in 1 sensor.



Offline vreihen

  • El Niño chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • K2BIG
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #87 on: June 16, 2018, 08:00:12 PM »
I've suggested that a few times, but I finally had the problem myself and I don't really think that is going to help (though it doesn't hurt to try).  I'm thinking the clock drift might be more of a symptom than the root cause.
.
.
.
I'm stumped as to what the trigger might be.  It's really weird that only traffic to myAcurite is impacted.  Or maybe it's only encrypted traffic that's impacted.

SSL certificate validation is dependent on the local clock.  Did the clock drift far enough (or reset to 1970-01-01) to make the SSL library puke for an expired certificate?????
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline nincehelser

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2273
    • nincehelser.com
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #88 on: June 16, 2018, 08:21:13 PM »
I've suggested that a few times, but I finally had the problem myself and I don't really think that is going to help (though it doesn't hurt to try).  I'm thinking the clock drift might be more of a symptom than the root cause.
.
.
.
I'm stumped as to what the trigger might be.  It's really weird that only traffic to myAcurite is impacted.  Or maybe it's only encrypted traffic that's impacted.

SSL certificate validation is dependent on the local clock.  Did the clock drift far enough (or reset to 1970-01-01) to make the SSL library puke for an expired certificate?????

I didn't see any large drift of the clock in my case.  The splash page doesn't present the actual time, but the times each sensor was last heard, so  I just look to see if the minutes line up with my laptop clock.

Offline daman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 343
Re: Access Connection Issues
« Reply #89 on: June 17, 2018, 01:21:39 PM »
Had another drop(off line) last night from the 5n1 WU and dashboard, tower sensors unaffected full 4 bars, batteries are all fine, definitely something wrong with the Access.

Removed the ethernet cable for 30 seconds then re attached seemed to bring it back online but shouldn't have to do that.  :evil:
AcuRite 01057RM Pro+ 5-in-1 Color w/ Accsess
Michigan