Author Topic: Totally clueless w/simple needs  (Read 6109 times)

Offline smasraum

Totally clueless w/simple needs
« on: April 06, 2009, 11:30:20 AM »
I'm a beginner.  I've done some research online, but there seems to be a lot of choices which makes research more difficult. 

I'm not sure that I'm ready for a full weather station.  I'd like to have a lot of things, but on a limited budget, I could get by with 3 temp sensors (upstairs, downstairs, outside) that can log to software on my PC.  It'd be nice if it has humidity, barometric pressure and windspeed.  I would think that if there was a station that relied on the PC for the processing that it would be cheaper.

So, what's an inexpensive (but not junk) station that will connect to a PC that will give me at least 2 temp sensors (expandable to 3) and possibly baro and humidity and possibly wind.  Is there one that will stream the data directly to the PC.  I've seen some things that say "data logger required".  Seems that with a PC that should be the logger.  Since this will be connected to a PC (that's powered on 24x7) I don't even care if it's got a screen.  Ideally, it would be possible to purchase sensors that connected to the PC directly or through an adapter, but I suspect that option isn't out there, at least not an inexpensive option.

I guess I just need a bit more of an education.

Thanks for any guidance that you can offer.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2009, 11:40:18 AM by smasraum »

Offline Anthony

• Forecaster
    • Anthony's Weather
Re: Totally clueless w/simple needs
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2009, 12:09:32 PM »