Author Topic: Somewhat frustrating setup of my WS-1400-IP  (Read 1982 times)

Offline tfconway

Somewhat frustrating setup of my WS-1400-IP
« on: March 09, 2015, 12:13:58 PM »
Hello all,

Newbie here.  I just set up my new WS-1400-IP this weekend, and wanted to share my experience with the group.  I started by setting up the Observer IP and the indoor sensor - that seemed to go very easily, and as soon as I powered on the indoor sensor it synced with the Observer.  I flashed the Observer with firmware v2.1, but after I registered with Weather Underground and received my station ID, I could not get past the issue with the station ID resetting to "0000000000 maxlength=" on the Observer.  I downgraded back to v2.0, and it took the station ID just fine.  I have not upgraded to v2.1 since; I figure I will just wait for v2.2.  I performed a power off restart after flashing both times.

As others have noted, it took a while for the sensors, both indoor and outdoor, to re-synchronize with the receiver after I flashed down to v2.0.  The outdoor sensor took about 10 minutes.  I gave up waiting on the indoor sensor, so I pulled the batteries and put them back in.  Then, the indoor sensor synced OK.  So far they have continued to stay in sync.

It also took a while for the station to start reporting to Weather Underground - I wasn't timing it, but I would say at least half an hour after I registered.  During that time, there was no good information from either my unit or from Weather Underground as to what was happening (or what wasn't).  All the PWS Dashboard on WU said was "no report" from my unit.  I was about to contact WU support when magically, my station reported in.  I can only speculate that, from the time I registered the station, it takes WU about 30 minutes or so before it is ready to receive data from a newly registered PWS.  However, I could not find any official documentation which says that.