Author Topic: Newbie needs advice on new PWS  (Read 782 times)

Offline BarryGordon

Newbie needs advice on new PWS
« on: March 09, 2019, 12:24:19 PM »
I am new to the Personal Weather Station community, having never owned one. I had an API from IBM/WU (WeatherUnderground) but with their new business model, the API has been canceled. I am a fairly expert programmer and write my own software for Home Automation.  My home has wall mounted iPads in each major room for control and information display. One of the display pages was weather information consisting of local conditions and a 5-day forecast. Obviously, that page is now defunct. It is my understanding that IBM/WU will provide a free access key to those that have a PWS and are supplying data to IBM/WU

One approach I am looking at is to install a PWS and provide that information to IBM/WU, get a new API key as a weather data supplier, make any required software changes, and be back in business.  I need some help in selecting a PWS. I would like a system that is reasonably priced (<$400), easy to install,  capable of straight forward communications to the IBM/WU service, and that is well documented as to installation and communications protocol.  The house has a robust Wi-Fi system and a fast internet connection. If possible I only want a weather sensor with the ability to communicate to WU without a console,  as the iPads in each room act as my consoles. Is there a weather sensor that will meet my needs, assuming I may have to buy some additional connectivity equipment?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated

Offline galfert

• Global Moderator
  • Forecaster
Re: Newbie needs advice on new PWS
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2019, 01:58:52 PM »
I'd say you have a few choices...These are the best ones to consider:

Acurite Atlas with Access Internet hub....you can get the Atlas without the display and just the Access device.