Author Topic: Need very small weather bug for web site  (Read 8146 times)

Offline jdetray

Need very small weather bug for web site
« on: March 11, 2007, 03:41:55 AM »
I'm the volunteer web master for my radio control flying club. I'd like to add a very small display of current weather data to the site. I've searched for ready-made solutions but have not found anything that meets our needs.

Specifically, I want to display temperature, humidity, wind speed, and wind direction. An added bonus would be the inclusion of a small icon indicating sky conditions (clear, partly cloudy, showers, etc.). I want to display this info in an area no larger than 100 pixels wide by 30 pixels high, and I want to place the data on a background color of my choice with a font and font color of my choice.

It should look something like this:

I need some pointers about how this might be accomplished. I have some experience writing Perl scripts, so I'm not opposed to doing some programming. But I need guidance about how to get started, where to get the raw data from, etc.

Thanks,

Jeff

Offline WeatherHost

• Forecaster
Re: Need very small weather bug for web site
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2007, 04:03:05 AM »
There are some folks here who might be able to get you closer to what you want, but here is one idea:

http://bcswebco.com/weatherstickers.shtml

Magnet 1 gives you the conditions you want but it's a bit bigger that 100 x 30.

Offline saratogaWX

• Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2007, 10:42:06 AM »
With a little customization, you could do this with Anole's weather sticker PHP script.   The 100x30 size is not in the current script set, but could be added without much programming.

The source for the data is either a small stickertags.htm file uploaded by your weather software or for Weather-Display users, the real-time clientraw.txt file.