Author Topic: Server moved, now got Cache problems  (Read 645 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Davidb

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • Glasson Dock
Server moved, now got Cache problems
« on: February 08, 2017, 06:56:17 AM »
Last week our web host moved us to a new server and there were quite a few teething problems. All are sorted now, but the remaining one is that my weather jpegs seem to be getting "stuck"  part of the time.

example "broadcast" here should be within 10 minutes of GMT in UK daytime hours:



but on the wordpress web page it can be hours earlier.: http://glassonsailing.co.uk/wp/home/weather/

It was fine until the move, but whenever I look at the server via Filezilla, it is bang up to date.

I suspect wordpress is the culprit, but the old web page:  http://www.glassonsailing.co.uk/weather.html   is sometimes an old jpeg as well.

Confused.

Offline Jester

  • Pony Up!
  • Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 106
  • US NAVY Retired
    • Castleton Weather, Virginia Beach, VA.
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 07:31:05 AM »
Have you tried IPCONFG /FLUSHDNS at the command prompt?
MADIS D4557
CWOP DW4557
Wunderground KVAVIRGI57
CoCoRaHS VA-VBC-13
WeatherBug p09270
Davis VP2+ 6163 VWS 15.0


Offline Toxic

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 94
  • #conligwx
    • conligwx.org
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2017, 10:36:46 AM »
Are you on an Apache Server? is the .htaccess file caching jpegs?
Regards Simon


Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6110
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2017, 01:57:33 PM »
It's likely that WordPress is doing the caching .. use the dashboard in WP to turn off caching there.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline Davidb

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • Glasson Dock
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2017, 02:04:22 PM »
thanks for replies. The problem is on any computer, not just my own, but I shall try the IPCONFG /FLUSHDNS anyway.

Not sure about catching jpegs, I have opened .htacess in the public html folder and all that is in there is
"RewriteEngine On

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^(www\.)?glassonsailing\.co.uk$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^$ http://www.glassonsailing.co.uk/wp [R=302,L]"

which redirects the homepage.

I'll have a look at wordpress now, thanks.

Offline Davidb

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • Glasson Dock
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #5 on: February 08, 2017, 02:26:58 PM »

In WP dashboard under "Toolset" then in "settings"   I found:

"Add resized images to the media library
Types will automatically add the resized images as attachments to the media library.
Allow resizing of remote images
Types will try to scale remote images.
Images caching

Invalidate cached images that are more than  hours old.
Clear Cached Images Clear Outdated Cached Images"

so cleared cached images, but no change. When I look at our server, the broadast.jpg is still bang up to date again

I'll have a look at VWS and see if has logged any errors

mmm

Offline Davidb

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • Glasson Dock
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2017, 02:54:45 PM »
yes there were,  Its showing errors on every transfer, but still the required ones are getting through:

02/08/17,19:30:00,Not authorized to access FTP server or FTP location not defined.,Sending c:\vws\jpeg\vws738.jpg to /docs/vws738.jpg
02/08/17,19:31:00,Not authorized to access FTP server or FTP location not defined.,Sending c:\vws\jpeg\vws742.jpg to /docs/vws742.jpg
02/08/17,19:31:00,Not authorized to access FTP server or FTP location not defined.,Sending c:\vws\jpeg\vws857.jpg to /docs/vws857.jpg
02/08/17,19:31:00,Not authorized to access FTP server or FTP location not defined.,Sending c:\vws\jpeg\vws1594.jpg to /docs/vws1594.jpg
02/08/17,19:31:00,Not authorized to access FTP server or FTP location not defined.,Sending c:\vws\jpeg\vws1738.jpg to /docs/vws1738.jpg
02/08/17,19:31:00,Not authorized to access FTP server or FTP location not defined.,Sending c:\vws\jpeg\vws1885.jpg to /docs/vws1885.jpg
02/08/17,19:31:00,Not authorized to access FTP server or FTP location not defined.,Sending c:\vws\jpeg\broadcast.jpg to /docs/broadcast.jpg

Offline saratogaWX

  • Administrator
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6110
  • Saratoga, CA, USA Weather - free PHP scripts
    • Saratoga-Weather.org
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2017, 03:10:20 PM »
Maybe you don't have a ./docs/ directory in your public_html (document root) directory?

Use the FTP browser in VWS to view where your FTP credentials land in your website and adjust the target /docs/ to maybe include the remaining directories shown in the VWS display.
Ken True/Saratoga, CA, USA main site: saratoga-weather.org
Davis VP1+ FARS, Boltek-PCI/NexStorm, microSferics ToA, Blitzortung RED, GRLevel3, WD, WL, VWS, Cumulus, Meteobridge/hub
Free weather PHP scripts/website templates - update notifications on Twitter saratogaWXPHP

Offline Davidb

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • Glasson Dock
Re: Server moved, now got Cache problems
« Reply #8 on: February 08, 2017, 03:39:00 PM »
no I don't have a docs directory.

when I browse on VWS it says current directory   is     /

and under directory  just   ..   

I am not able to change directory, it says requesting directory change.............

and that is all