Author Topic: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap  (Read 2559 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« on: December 05, 2016, 10:37:04 AM »
According to my knowledge, my weather station provides valid data to WU every 16 seconds.
But for a long time – one or two weeks - the station has not been represented on WunderMap.
I have asked WU for an explanation, but received no reply.
Is there anything I can do to view the station?
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline saberonyx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • my weather and astronomy site
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2016, 10:46:43 AM »
According to my knowledge, my weather station provides valid data to WU every 16 seconds.
But for a long time – one or two weeks - the station has not been represented on WunderMap.
I have asked WU for an explanation, but received no reply.
Is there anything I can do to view the station?
How about on the app,does it show up when the "layers" are put on stations and cameras?....Or do you mean just on the pc?

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk


Offline catdon

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2016, 11:25:39 AM »
If there are other stations nearby, you sometimes need to zoom in pretty tight to see a particular station...Its becoming more cluttered with all the cheap inaccurate stations being added.
Don
Staten Island, NY

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2016, 12:35:34 PM »
If there are other stations nearby, you sometimes need to zoom in pretty tight to see a particular station...Its becoming more cluttered with all the cheap inaccurate stations being added.

It's on my pc
Even when I fully zoom, the station is not shown.
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline saberonyx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • my weather and astronomy site
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2016, 12:47:19 PM »
If there are other stations nearby, you sometimes need to zoom in pretty tight to see a particular station...Its becoming more cluttered with all the cheap inaccurate stations being added.

It's on my pc
Even when I fully zoom, the station is not shown.
Ohh,ok I see. Sorry Im not sure of the problem.

Sent from my SM-G935P using Tapatalk


Offline wa3pnt

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • Rodeo George Scoreboard & Sound
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2016, 07:16:14 PM »
My station disappears, and then reappears periodically.

When it is not visible on the map, I can still connect to my PWS on WU and the data is there.

RodeoGeorge
Chino Valley, AZ
Davis Vantage Pro 2
WeatherLink 5.8.3
MeteoBridge

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2016, 03:57:22 AM »
My station disappears, and then reappears periodically.
When it is not visible on the map, I can still connect to my PWS on WU and the data is there.
RodeoGeorge

Thanks for reply.
It works the same way for me.
Fortunately, the weather is the same whether you can see my station on the map or not  :grin:
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #7 on: December 06, 2016, 04:21:05 AM »
I believe if you fail the WU data consistency checks for a certain period your station will be removed from the WU map until it start passing the QC checks again.

From WU PWS blog:

If your station is reporting just fine but you cannot find your station on the wundermap or the station list, it is probably getting flagged and removed by our QC process. We have to sanity check all of the data that comes in from our personal weather stations, to ensure we are displaying reasonable data on our map. However, occasionally some things slip through the cracks, like some erroneous data appearing on the wundermap or accurate data being removed from the wundermap. This is because we have to compare the temperature at your station to nearby stations, to validate the data. If the temperature at your station is significantly warmer or cooler than nearby stations, it will get flagged by the QC algorithm and removed from the map and the station list. But when coastal or elevation influences are present, the temperature may actually vary significantly. It is very hard to capture these real temperature differences, this is why we have been working so hard to improve our QC algorithm.
« Last Edit: December 06, 2016, 04:24:12 AM by sundevil01010101 »
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #8 on: December 06, 2016, 05:03:32 AM »
Thanks for another answer.
I have seen the explanation from WU.
But I actually think that my measurements are very close to measurements from the stations in the neighborhood.
There are other stations shown in WunderMap that measures further from the official measurements from the Danish Meteorological Institute.
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #9 on: December 06, 2016, 05:13:42 AM »
Thanks for another answer.
I have seen the explanation from WU.
But I actually think that my measurements are very close to measurements from the stations in the neighborhood.
There are other stations shown in WunderMap that measures further from the official measurements from the Danish Meteorological Institute.

Is your station a gold star station?  I'm curious because if it is, then by their definition it should be showing on the WU map.   

What is the station id?
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #10 on: December 06, 2016, 05:23:14 AM »
My station was a Gold Star station, till it disappeared from the map a few weeks ago  :roll:
IDKFREDE2
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4691
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #11 on: December 06, 2016, 05:41:19 AM »
Double check password/user name. Its the same information you log into WU with.
Randy

Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #12 on: December 06, 2016, 05:45:14 AM »
Well I think there is your answer but the question is why WU thinks you are no longer passing their QC checks.

I have had a similar problem, not with failing QC checks but having gaps in data due to some issues with my Meteobridge setup on my station KAZSURPR57 that caused me to lose gold star status.  Has there been any reporting gaps due to station maintenance or something else?

Since I was reporting data that passed QC when it was reporting I don't think it ever got removed but I don't check Wundermap very often.

I'm about 99.9999% sure I fixed my MB Sunday night but I'm still not gold star on that one until I believe the get 5 consecutive days of full reporting.   

If that is the case it may just be needing enough time/good reports to appear again.

Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #13 on: December 06, 2016, 05:48:57 AM »
Double check password/user name. Its the same information you log into WU with.

His station is sending data to WU so that wouldn't seem to be his issue, seems more data gaps/data quality..

I checked his WU page and his website and all seems good at least as far as reporting, data quality I could not say...
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #14 on: December 06, 2016, 05:53:59 AM »
Double check password/user name. Its the same information you log into WU with.

All my data is correctly uploaded to WU, as can be seen here:
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=IDKFREDE2

It amazes me just that when data best of my knowledge is good, the station is not shown on WunderMap.
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #15 on: December 06, 2016, 06:05:51 PM »
If you keep submitting good data I am 100% sure you will show back up again in the near future.

It's quite annoying/disappointing but luckily not fatal :)..

Cheer up my friend, I predict it will show back up on the map soon! 

PS! I just happened to try https://danish.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=IDKFREDE3

This is pretty weird, is this station very near or related to you at all?   WU says gold star but quit reporting 5 days ago????   

Seems like about when you'quit seeing yours too, no?  Some sort of station confusion?'
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #16 on: December 06, 2016, 06:18:19 PM »
This is a not a good sign lol.

https://danish.wunderground.com/weatherstation/ListStations.asp?selectedCountry=Denmark

It shows totally blank for me....  even did the drop down to select Denmark - View and still blank.
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #17 on: December 07, 2016, 05:33:00 AM »
If you keep submitting good data I am 100% sure you will show back up again in the near future.
It's quite annoying/disappointing but luckily not fatal :)..
Cheer up my friend, I predict it will show back up on the map soon! 
PS! I just happened to try https://danish.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=IDKFREDE3
This is pretty weird, is this station very near or related to you at all?   WU says gold star but quit reporting 5 days ago????   
Seems like about when you'quit seeing yours too, no?  Some sort of station confusion?'

Hello again and thanks for response
I have nothing to do with the station IDKFREDE3.
It is located in a town Fredericia 300 km from here.

My station, IDKFREDE2 is located near a city, Frederikshavn.

This is a not a good sign lol.

https://danish.wunderground.com/weatherstation/ListStations.asp?selectedCountry=Denmark

It shows totally blank for me....  even did the drop down to select Denmark - View and still blank.

I am more and more convinced that it is not me who has a problem.
It must be WU that has the problem.

When I search on Sweden, I see only two stations, and if I look at England, only three stations.
In both countries there are hundreds of stations.

WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #18 on: December 08, 2016, 04:23:05 AM »
Then I got a reply from WU:

It looks like your station was flagged by QC and temporarily removed from the maps and apps 2 days ago. This happened when your station reported 52 degrees when nearby stations were reporting in the upper 40s to near 50. If this continues to happen you may want to compare your temperature data to a calibrated thermometer and adjust the calibration settings if necessary.

Thanks and let me know if you have any other questions,
Kari


I replied that my station for a long time have sent data that is very close to - or equal to - data from stations in the neighborhood. But my station appears still not on WunderMap.

I have also written that it amazes me that another station - IDKFREDE3 - may be a GolsStar station, although it has not transmitted data since Dec. 1.

Now we will see what happens.
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline bill075

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #19 on: December 08, 2016, 09:46:22 AM »
I have the same issue since Nov.22,2016.
No rapid fire and not showing on the map. My station (Rainwise) has been up and running since June 2009, put new temp/humidity sensor in back in Sept 2016.  Located central Indiana

Offline catdon

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 68
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #20 on: December 08, 2016, 12:29:35 PM »
I sometimes think that  even support doesn't  know what's going on over there... On a couple of occasions, I've gotten a reply back from a support  question that either made no sense or was flat out wrong.
Don
Staten Island, NY

Offline vreihen

  • El Niño chaser
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • K2BIG
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #21 on: December 08, 2016, 07:21:01 PM »
My station has been missing from the map for a week now, despite sending steady data for eight days since my station suffered a communications failure.  At this point, I'm not losing any sleep over WU's incompetence.....
WU Gold Stars for everyone! :lol:

Offline sundevil01010101

  • KAZSURPR41/54/57
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 202
  • Eye on the sky...
    • Surprise AZ Weather
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #22 on: December 08, 2016, 09:11:59 PM »
To me it sounds like their QC algorithm is not all that great if it flags/removes your station for one short period of anamalous readings when you've had literally thousands that passed.

It seems to me they need something like a lifetime quality reputation score to balance out a short period of anomalous readings from a single sensor so that better lifetime score means needs more bad data before removing.


« Last Edit: December 08, 2016, 09:20:50 PM by sundevil01010101 »
Visit https://www.surpriseazweather.com/ !!!
Bucket List - 1,000,000 visitors  :twisted: Lol...

Offline Mogens

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #23 on: December 12, 2016, 04:13:20 AM »
This morning my station appeared on WunderMap again.
Now it's interesting, if it gets a gold star for five days or it disappears again  :-)

(IDKFREDE3 is otherwise still a Gold Star station, although it has not transmitted data since Dec. 1.  :?)
WS-1001 clone.
Home weather station:
http://weather.inaogmogens.dk


Offline alex114

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Weather Station does not appear on WunderMap
« Reply #24 on: June 06, 2018, 08:27:05 PM »
This morning my station appeared on WunderMap again.
Now it's interesting, if it gets a gold star for five days or it disappears again  :-)

(IDKFREDE3 is otherwise still a Gold Star station, although it has not transmitted data since Dec. 1.  :?)

It's time to re-ignite this old problem!

My station is IWISHAW6
After a seven year absence, I have a new wx station up and running, and I was overjoyed to see my data being displayed on weatherunderground maps yesterday.
I originally contributed from 2002 -2012 and was among the very first UK aws contributors.
Sadly though, my station has already disappeared from the maps after just 8 hours. But the station's own weatherunderground page is still recieving and displaying data normally. - it's just not showing on the maps.

I have read elsewhere that sometimes this happens if you fall foul of a quality control check, but being a very respected climatologist, I can see that my data is 100% accurate and shouldn't have done so for any reason. It's also completely in line with surrounding pws's.

Whilst looking at the maps earlier I clicked the report button for a few sites around the UK who's values were completely out of synch (thinking this would help the accuracy of the maps). I'm wondering if my doing this has caused my own station to be reported also?

When I first began using weather underground, the responses to messages on boards like this were exceptionally helpful and fast. I wonder if this is still the case.

Thanks.

Alexander.

 

anything