Author Topic: wxindex.php page load times  (Read 1624 times)

Offline lddaly

• Forecaster
wxindex.php page load times
« on: September 09, 2009, 11:57:34 PM »
 :shock: Finally getting around to setting up a site and I am a total noob to the WD template set. #-o Lots of questions on the way :lol:
The template wxindex.php page pauses while loading the wunderground animated radar gif images before it starts loading the ajax-dashboard. Is there a way to download them in the background while continuing to load the remainder of the page? I have noticed that a lot of users move/remove them altogether.

Offline lddaly

• Forecaster
Re: wxindex.php page load times
« Reply #1 on: September 10, 2009, 12:28:46 PM »
Here is an image of what I am talking about. The first time you visit the page it pauses at this point for several seconds.

Offline mackbig

• Forecaster
    • Mackie's Main Street, Unionville, ON Canada Weather
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2009, 12:37:14 PM »
I cant see your attachment (proxy issues at work with the way the forum attachments are setup).

I do see a pause when loading your site, but the wu gifs load instantly for me.  Its all the ajax forecast and other images that I show pausing at the bottom of IE.

Andrew

Andrew - Davis VP2+ 6163, serial weatherlink, wireless anemometer, running Weather Display.  Boltek PCI Stormtracker, Astrogenic Nexstorm, Strikestar - UNI, CWOP CW8618, GrLevel3, (Station 2 OS WMR968, VWS 13.01p09), Windows 7-64

Offline sam2004gp

• Mount Crawford, Virginia
  • Forecaster
  • Weeeeeeeee!!!!
    • Mount Crawford Weather, VA
« Reply #3 on: September 10, 2009, 12:57:37 PM »