Author Topic: Davis Vantage Vue Advice  (Read 2487 times)

Offline Shantelle_JJR

• Weather Watcher Shantelle
Davis Vantage Vue Advice
« on: November 25, 2016, 02:57:34 PM »
Thinking of upgrading my aercus weatherstation to a Davis Vantage Vue.
My old weather station just updates automatically to weather underground, so I am a bit of a noob when it comes to Davis Vantage Vue.

1. I have seen a weatherlink software extra on offer, will I need this to upload my data to wunderground and met office WOW?

2. Can I upload to both sites at the same time including my website with all the observation graphs/gauges?

3. Could people give me advice on the operations of this weather station and any tips when purchasing and using one?  :grin:

Offline PaulMy

• Forecaster
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Davis Vantage Vue Advice
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2016, 07:20:28 PM »

Re:
Item 1. The Weatherlink package is a Weatherlink datalogger and Weatherlink software.  You need a datalogger to connect the station console to a computer or router.  There are 3 datalogger versions, USB or serial for connecting to a computer, and an IP version that connect to a router and from that toe weatherlink.com.  The software that comes with the package is a bonus but it is not the most modern.  Luckily there are several third party program options to the Weatherlink software - i.e. Cumulus.  There are also third party options for the datalogger.

Item 2. Weatherlink can upload to Weather Underground and your website, and also to CWOP.  Again, third party programs like Cumulus can upload automatically to WU, and also to WOW, CWOP and others as well as your own website.