Author Topic: Hardware/Software Tinkerer, buy vs build  (Read 2976 times)

Offline impala454

Hardware/Software Tinkerer, buy vs build
« on: September 21, 2019, 04:07:00 PM »
Hi all, long time lurker on these forums and finally registered.  I'm a software developer by day and electronics/software tinkerer in my spare time.  I'm also a weather nerd and live in the Houston, Texas area (where we tend to have rather interesting weather!).  I have looked into building my own piece-meal kind of weather station as well as looked at some of the top off the shelf stations that come recommended on this board.  All that, combined with the layout of my house/backyard, derives into a set of requirements and questions I'm asking for help with from you fine folks.

Requirements
  • Rain measurement - Able to measure Hurricane Harvey levels rain like we got in 2017 (e.g. 6" in a single hour).
  • Temperature - Able to accurately measure from the top of a pole in full sun (assuming some sort of fan on it?).
  • Wired - Both power and data need to be wired.
  • Cost - I don't mind spending $500-600 on something that fulfills all my needs, but I do not want to spend money on inside consoles or other bits that do data parsing/display.  That's the part I can/want to do myself.

Desirements (yes it's a legit engineering term  :lol:)
  • Sturdy - I'd like the station to be able to handle hurricanes, that's the most interesting data to get!  The last thing I want to do is have to go pull down my weather station because a storm is coming.
  • Upkeep - I understand these are precision devices and need maintenance, but would like to keep it to a minimum (what's reasonable?).