Author Topic: Alternatives to Davis Datalogger  (Read 7272 times)

Offline phptek

• theruss.com
Alternatives to Davis Datalogger
« on: May 17, 2009, 06:24:20 AM »
Hi folks,

Are there alternatives to the Davis manufactured dataloggers that would still work with a DVPro2?

The reason I ask is that as well as the sensors in a DVPro2 Home Weather Station (6162) I'd eventually like to be able to access and query data from several other sensors located on our Solar Hot Water System in the Hot Water Cylinder and on the solar collectors themselves and connect these sensors to the same datalogger. But can Davis Home Weather Stations be connected to other brands of logger?

To further complicate matters, the logger would be networked and assigned an IP via a wireless router in the home so I could query the logger from a PC/Webserver on the wireless network and build my own web applications based on the data from each of the home sensors (I'm a Web Developer).

Has anyone done this before? Is what I'm asking possible?

Many thanks for your time everyone  :-)
Russell

Offline wxtech

• Weather Equipment Technician
  • Forecaster
  • USAF Weather Equipment Maintenance Tech (retired)
    • Lexington, Ga. Weather
Re: Alternatives to Davis Datalogger
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2009, 07:02:42 AM »
Hi folks,

Are there alternatives to the Davis manufactured dataloggers that would still work with a DVPro2?

Has anyone done this before? Is what I'm asking possible?

Many thanks for your time everyone  :-)
Russell
Instead look at the one-wire weather stations.  Program 1-wire in Java.  Look at the book 'Weather Toys', by Tim Bitson.  That I2C protocol is very compatible with home automation/security.  1-wire is a network of sensors.  The BasicStamp2P microcontroller has I2C commands.
Don't know of a competitive data logger for the Davis.  The data logger connects to a proprietary device (console) that Davis surely won't open for its competitors.