Author Topic: USPLN Google Earth - Extracting the Stroke Text Data  (Read 3453 times)

Offline waysta

• Contributor
USPLN Google Earth - Extracting the Stroke Text Data
« on: April 27, 2017, 08:51:18 PM »
I've been searching for a way to record my local strike data without having to write it down from the screen list; I think this works.  I am a total novice with Google Earth (GE), so others may know of an easier way.

On GE, left panel, click through the arrows to open up "Lightning Data", "Detailed View", then "Strikes in View" (I think that is your current screen area).

Then, right click on "Strikes in View" and email the .KMZ file to yourself.  After you receive the .KMZ file, rename the extension to .zip and unzip the file.  You get a .KML file that contains all of your strikes in text.  It's still embedded in lots of extraneous code, but at least the recently recorded strike data is all there in readable form.  I suppose a small amount of code could put just the entries into a list or excel, or something like that.  Maybe there are canned programs to work with extracting data from .KML files?

Anyway, the individual strike data there (date, time, polarity, lat, lon, current)!  Now, I can think about my amateur science experiments using the data.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2017, 09:06:13 PM by waysta »

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline miraculon

• Sunrise Side Weather
  • Forecaster
  • KE8DAF
    • Sunrise Side Weather in Rogers City MI USA
Re: USPLN Google Earth - Extracting the Stroke Text Data
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2017, 08:27:22 AM »
Thanks to both of you. It works pretty slick!  \:D/

Greg H.

Blitzortung Stations #706 and #1682
CoCoRaHS: MI-PI-1
CWOP: CW4114 and KE8DAF-13
WU: KMIROGER7
Amateur Radio Callsign: KE8DAF

Offline DaleReid

• Forecaster
    • Weather at Eau Claire, WI