Author Topic: Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor  (Read 10985 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ZWN

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • http://www.zwn.co.za
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« on: September 30, 2006, 04:57:06 AM »
Here is something that might help those using Heavy Weather for the first time. Heavy weather will not work on an AMD Dual Core Athlon X2 processor, unless you force heavy weather to see only one processor.
You need to open Windows Tasl Manager, click on the processes tab, right click on heavyweather.exe, and set the affinity to one of the processors. If you don't do this, the program starts working initially and bombs after a few minutes, as it gets totally confused.
It had me totally confused. I visited every forum I could find and there was no help listed anywhere. I was about to throw the software out the window, and then I found the problem... and actually... Heavy Weather is not bad at all... now that it works!
I hope this helps... and perhaps the programmers can sort out the bug in future releases.
"It is better to have tried your best... than not to have tried at all"

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3213
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #1 on: September 30, 2006, 05:37:58 PM »
Thats very strange. I was thinking of upgrading my PC and getting one of those. I wonder how it would work with all the other weather software out there. Almost seems like it defeats the purpose.

Offline ZWN

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • http://www.zwn.co.za
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2006, 04:18:50 AM »
I am not too sure, but I have sent my findings to Lacrosse, as I could not find any contact for Heavy Weather and have asked them to look at it.
The other thing is that you have to be really prepared before opening Heavy weather, but first opening Windows Task Manager and the second you see heavyweather.exe appear on the processes list, you have to make the change, or it just freezes up. if you do it immediately, it is perfect. Weird!! It's a pain though, because if you reboot, you have to do it all over again!!
"It is better to have tried your best... than not to have tried at all"

Offline ncpilot

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 929
    • Monkey Junction Weather
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #3 on: October 01, 2006, 09:32:46 AM »
Just curious, have you tried right-clicking on the Heavy Weather .exe file to see if you have any cpu affinity options? Seems you should be able to have a program start running with the affinity already set.

Don't know if the program has to be duo core aware, or if the OS provides all the functionality...
Marc
Wilmington, NC
"Monkey Junction Weather"
Davis VP2 wireless, WeatherLink

Offline kray1000

  • Purveyor of wry
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1336
    • http://www.roanokevalleyweather.com
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2006, 09:53:37 PM »
Would running the program in compatibility mode help?
Kevin Ray
Roanoke, VA

Wireless VP2, Stardot NetCam, ImageSalsa 2.0.12, MovieSalsa, Nexstorm, WASP2, Skymet, VWS14.01p33, WD 10.37N build 03

Offline ZWN

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • http://www.zwn.co.za
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2006, 12:36:47 AM »
ncpilot & kray1000 - There are no additional settings for this particular problem on the exe file. Compatibility mode also does not help. I think, personally, that it was purely an oversight on the part of the programmers of the software, as most people don't run their weather stations on a dual core system. I think that by bringing this to their attention, they will sort out this nasty little bug that caused me to age at least ten years in 48 hours out of pure frustration :lol: I don't know what was worse... trying to give up smoking or trying to get the program to work initially. :twisted:
"It is better to have tried your best... than not to have tried at all"

Offline ocala

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3213
    • http://www.wunderground.com/weatherstation/WXDailyHistory.asp?ID=KFLBELLE2
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2006, 01:45:31 PM »
Giving up smoking. By a long shot. :!:

Offline wuhu_software

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
    • WUHU Software Yahoo Group
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #7 on: October 11, 2006, 07:24:38 AM »
Quote from: "ZWN"
I am not too sure, but I have sent my findings to Lacrosse, as I could not find any contact for Heavy Weather and have asked them to look at it.
The other thing is that you have to be really prepared before opening Heavy weather, but first opening Windows Task Manager and the second you see heavyweather.exe appear on the processes list, you have to make the change, or it just freezes up. if you do it immediately, it is perfect. Weird!! It's a pain though, because if you reboot, you have to do it all over again!!


Here is a program that might help.

You would need to remove heavyweather from your startup folder (if you added it there), copy the below listed application in your system path (say c:\windows\system32\), then write a simple batch file to launch heavyweather, add that batch file to the startup folder.

http://budda.phpwebhosting.com/StartAffinity/

Offline ZWN

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • http://www.zwn.co.za
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2006, 07:36:21 AM »
You are a star... this program will certainly help!! Thanks a lot!! :D

By the way... I just picked up the same problem with GoogleEarth Beta4 - so I can kill two birds with one stone.
"It is better to have tried your best... than not to have tried at all"

Offline wuhu_software

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 688
    • WUHU Software Yahoo Group
Heavy Weather Beta 2 on a Dual Core Processor
« Reply #9 on: October 11, 2006, 07:38:13 AM »
Quote from: "wuhu_software"
Quote from: "ZWN"
I am not too sure, but I have sent my findings to Lacrosse, as I could not find any contact for Heavy Weather and have asked them to look at it.
The other thing is that you have to be really prepared before opening Heavy weather, but first opening Windows Task Manager and the second you see heavyweather.exe appear on the processes list, you have to make the change, or it just freezes up. if you do it immediately, it is perfect. Weird!! It's a pain though, because if you reboot, you have to do it all over again!!


Here is a program that might help.

You would need to remove heavyweather from your startup folder (if you added it there), copy the below listed application in your system path (say c:\windows\system32\), then write a simple batch file to launch heavyweather, add that batch file to the startup folder.

http://budda.phpwebhosting.com/StartAffinity/


I found another link that demonstrates how to use the command prompt's start command to set the affinity when starting processes.

I checked my dual processor windows 2000 and a single processor XP Pro system for the availability of the affinity option, it did not exist on either system.

This option may be available on a dual core xp system, you would have to check it out.

http://www.techenclave.com/forums/cpu-affinity-made-easy-67317.html

 

anything