Author Topic: Air masses and Fronts from Weather Underground Maps  (Read 2663 times)

Offline p3aul

Air masses and Fronts from Weather Underground Maps
« on: January 25, 2016, 01:37:20 AM »
I am still learning meteorology.I use WunderMap, and the Front's Maps to try and get a handle on fronts moving in to my area. It is my understanding that fronts occur between airmas boundaries, as between an area of high pressure and an area of low pressure. But looking on the Fronts Maps right now: http://www.wunderground.com/maps/?&MR=1

at 01:24am Eastern Time. I see a boundary abut the middle of Arkansas between a High on the right and a low on the left but there is no front marked!

Just above Oklahoma there is the center of a low pressure area. There are three fronts eminating from the middle of this low pressure area and passing through it at no boundary points! Could someone more weatherwise than me please explain this? It would have been easier to explain this had I been able to upload an attachment but the forum won't let me for reasons know but to God and the moderators!
Thanks,
Paul

Offline alexstaar

• Senior Contributor
Re: Air masses and Fronts from Weather Underground Maps
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2016, 08:31:21 PM »
These maps may be generated solely by a computer algorithm with little to no human interaction. Computers are generally not very good at analyzing fronts and other surface boundaries. Based on your description of the surface analysis map you saw, there may have been some things that a human would have caught that the computer didn't catch. Here's the current map as of this post, what would you like to know about it? I'm a senior meteorology student and would be willing to help you understand basic surface analysis.

[ You are not allowed to view attachments ]
-Alex

Davis 6153 VP2 with 24-hour FARS/
Davis 6250 Vantage Vue
WU: KNJMOUNT68/KSCGREER81
CWOP: FW5135/EW6390
www.uah-mcthornmoracres-weather.com

Offline p3aul