Author Topic: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS  (Read 16754 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4376
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #25 on: August 20, 2015, 10:16:53 AM »
One Thing I noticed it does open with auto refresh on which I like, but changing radar sites it switches off. No biggy just pointing out.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #26 on: August 20, 2015, 11:29:22 AM »
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #27 on: August 20, 2015, 11:35:20 AM »
One Thing I noticed it does open with auto refresh on which I like, but changing radar sites it switches off. No biggy just pointing out.
  (RTFM?  :-P) AutoRefresh was unreliable if left 'ON' when changing other parameters.  It automatically switches 'OFF' when any selector is modified.  I'll check it again soon and see if I still see the need for this--I don't like it either! It's annoying.
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4376
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #28 on: August 20, 2015, 11:39:43 AM »
Flash version is the same way. I would leave it as is.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline TupeloWeather

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Davis Vantage Pro 2
    • Up-To-The-Minute Weather for Tupelo, MS
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #29 on: August 20, 2015, 03:23:06 PM »
Thanks for the great script! I'm having a bit of an issue that I'm sure is something I've overlooked - probably.  When I run the wxusradars-hanis3.php file I receive this - Warning: include(inc-wxusradars-hanis3-test.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/USERNAME/public_html/radar/wxusradars-hanis3.php on line 118.  I can't seem to locate the inc-wxusradars-hanis3-test.php file.  I have uploaded into /radar instead of /hanis as I'm not ready to remove my current radar.
Suggestions?
Thanks!

Offline tmabell

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #30 on: August 20, 2015, 03:47:28 PM »
I made the same mistake.  Jerry advises that it must be placed in the root directory.  Once you put it there it works well.  Also, Jerry... ver. 3 works just fine here.

Offline TupeloWeather

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Davis Vantage Pro 2
    • Up-To-The-Minute Weather for Tupelo, MS
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #31 on: August 20, 2015, 03:49:31 PM »
What part did you have to put into the root directory.  I realize the instructions say to place the /hanis folder in the root directory but I didn't see anything about placing any files there.

Offline tmabell

  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 168
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #32 on: August 20, 2015, 03:55:53 PM »
I put them all there.  Just extract the entire package to the root & customize wxusradars-hanis3.php to suite your needs and it should work.  You could edit the scripts individually to change the location but they all aren't apparent & I found it easier to just listen to the guy who wrote the script. 

Offline TupeloWeather

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Davis Vantage Pro 2
    • Up-To-The-Minute Weather for Tupelo, MS
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #33 on: August 20, 2015, 04:05:54 PM »
I seem to be missing something else that is probably very apparent.  I have copied all files to the /hanis folder as well as copied all to the root and continue to get the exact same result. 
http://www.tupeloweather.com/wxusradars-hanis3.php
Is this file - inc-wxusradars-hanis3-test.php - generated from another file?  That file does not exist in the package that I unzipped and installed.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 04:12:40 PM by TupeloWeather »

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4376
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #34 on: August 20, 2015, 04:20:30 PM »
Hanis folder stays as is. Put on root directory along with the other php files. Same directory your index.php is located. Did you say true on standalone?
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline TupeloWeather

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
  • Davis Vantage Pro 2
    • Up-To-The-Minute Weather for Tupelo, MS
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #35 on: August 20, 2015, 04:26:23 PM »
Thanks - Yes -
$standAlone            = true;
I have placed all files in both the root and /hanis directories and tried executing from each location with the same result in each. 
I'm scratching my head...

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #36 on: August 20, 2015, 04:40:49 PM »
Indeed there was a problem with the Version 3 zip!  The references to the supporting files in 'wxusradars-hanis3.php' and 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3.php' weren't updated when I saved the test version as a production version.  :oops: Corrected scripts are in the post above.

My apologies. :-(
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • unnamed weather station, Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #37 on: August 20, 2015, 04:43:00 PM »
When I run the wxusradars-hanis3.php file I receive this - Warning: include(inc-wxusradars-hanis3-test.php): failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/USERNAME/public_html/radar/wxusradars-hanis3.php on line 118.  I can't seem to locate the inc-wxusradars-hanis3-test.php file.

I just ran into the same problem. There are three items that are looking for file names with the -test.php. Two are in the wxusradars-hanis3.php at approx line 119 - <?php include('inc-wxusradars-hanis3-test.php');?>. Also at approx line 98 in the function line - load('inc-wxusradars-hanis3-test.php. Just remove the -test from those items.

The other is in inc-wxusradars-hanis3.php in the long line 840. Look for src="./wxusradar-hanis-iframe3-test.php and again just remove the -test.

ALL files go in the root, including the /HAniS/.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 04:53:58 PM by jgillett »
John
W7JKG
BUY FROM AMAZON  HERE... Thank You! :-)

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • unnamed weather station, Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #38 on: August 20, 2015, 04:45:55 PM »
Have an interesting problem with mine. Please see attached.

http://tiggrweather.net/wxusradars-hanis3.php

Thanks.
John
W7JKG
BUY FROM AMAZON  HERE... Thank You! :-)

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4376
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #39 on: August 20, 2015, 04:52:45 PM »
Have an interesting problem with mine. Please see attached.

http://tiggrweather.net/wxusradars-hanis3.php

Thanks.

Its IE, does the same here but not in Chrome.
Jerry the update you just did I take it was for standalone. I'm not having same issue as  TupeloWeather with saratoga. 
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • unnamed weather station, Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #40 on: August 20, 2015, 04:56:01 PM »
Have an interesting problem with mine. Please see attached.

http://tiggrweather.net/wxusradars-hanis3.php

Thanks.

Its IE, does the same here but not in Chrome.

On an iMac here, Randy, with FF v40.
John
W7JKG
BUY FROM AMAZON  HERE... Thank You! :-)

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #41 on: August 20, 2015, 05:01:55 PM »
Have an interesting problem with mine. Please see attached.

http://tiggrweather.net/wxusradars-hanis3.php

Thanks.

Its IE, does the same here but not in Chrome.
Jerry the update you just did I take it was for standalone. I'm not having same issue as  TupeloWeather with saratoga.
The update fixed bad file name references to '-test' files.  The '-test' references have been removed.
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #42 on: August 20, 2015, 05:04:57 PM »
Have an interesting problem with mine. Please see attached.

http://tiggrweather.net/wxusradars-hanis3.php

Thanks.
I don't see the problem now that you're using a narrow width, John.  It looks like I might need to clean up the code so the buttons always line up horizontally.  The current version uses '<br/>' and '&nbsp;', but I think I need to do something else.
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 4376
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #43 on: August 20, 2015, 05:08:50 PM »
I never uploaded the '-test' references php. Maybe that's why I didn't see it.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #44 on: August 20, 2015, 05:29:16 PM »
Have an interesting problem with mine. Please see attached.

http://tiggrweather.net/wxusradars-hanis3.php

Thanks.
All of the buttons line up horizontally with this version of 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3.php'.  I tested it with all of the latest versions of FF, Chrome, IE, and Safari, and it works for me.

Alert!  Bad values for timer in 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3a.php' that cause frequent refreshes.  Normal values in 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3b.zip'.  Darn test values!
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 06:22:43 PM by gwwilk »
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #45 on: August 20, 2015, 05:32:43 PM »
I never uploaded the '-test' references php. Maybe that's why I didn't see it.
Actually, looking at Version 3 on your site right now it is not quite there yet, Randy.  Use the latest version or remove the '-test' from the links in 'wxusradars-hanis3.php' and 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3.php', and all should be well.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 05:35:00 PM by gwwilk »
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • unnamed weather station, Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #46 on: August 20, 2015, 05:37:34 PM »
I don't see the problem now that you're using a narrow width, John.  It looks like I might need to clean up the code so the buttons always line up horizontally.  The current version uses '<br/>' and '&nbsp;', but I think I need to do something else.

Only have to use wide on the GR3 page, Jerry (oops, sorry - didn't mean to mention that name   :roll:  ).

The line-up problem is OK on Safari but also fails on Chrome (both Mac), and fails on FF v42.0.2 on Win10. Now that I've made FF my default browser Edge refuses to open. Interesting.

Where there only three instances of the -test thing? Missed your message about the problem. Appears I was writing mine the same time you posted yours.

Thanks.
John
W7JKG
BUY FROM AMAZON  HERE... Thank You! :-)

Offline jgillett

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1114
  • unnamed weather station, Boltek, Win7 Pro, ToA
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #47 on: August 20, 2015, 05:42:29 PM »
Jerry, just downloaded your 3a version but find only the inc- file. There were also two calls to -test in the wxusradars-hanis3.php file.

Confused...
John
W7JKG
BUY FROM AMAZON  HERE... Thank You! :-)

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #48 on: August 20, 2015, 05:42:44 PM »
The line-up problem is OK on Safari but also fails on Chrome (both Mac), and fails on FF v42.0.2 on Win10. Now that I've made FF my default browser Edge refuses to open. Interesting.

Where there only three instances of the -test thing? Missed your message about the problem. Appears I was writing mine the same time you posted yours.

Thanks.
The problem with alignment of the buttons in the original 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3.php' varies with browser zoom level.  The revised version's alignment uses CSS styling 'vertical-align:bottom', and holds the buttons in horizontal alignment no matter the zoom level.
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1848
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: UPDATED: Script to Display US and Territories Radar Using HAniS
« Reply #49 on: August 20, 2015, 05:43:57 PM »
Jerry, just downloaded your 3a version but find only the inc- file. There were also two calls to -test in the wxusradars-hanis3.php file.

Confused...
The zip is 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3a.zip', and only contains the revised include script.

BTW 'inc-wxusradars-hanis3a' contained the testing timer values and refreshes much more frequently than the indicated time.  'inc-wxusradars-hanis3b.zip' includes the correct timer values.
« Last Edit: August 20, 2015, 06:30:21 PM by gwwilk »
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com