Author Topic: Newbie question - is this an option?  (Read 4672 times)

Offline WelshDragon

• Tenby weather website
Newbie question - is this an option?
« on: May 09, 2011, 12:50:02 PM »
Hi Everyone - I'm new to this so please don't laugh at me ;-) What I need to be able to do is this:

We have the Davis Vantage Pro with IP Logger Station at our Lifeboat Station. We are unable to install the Weatherlink software on the PC as it's locked down. The Station is successfully uploading data to the weatherlink.com website (http://www.weatherlink.com/user/tenbyrnl/) and all is good.

Now what we want we want to do is create a custom page on our website (www.tenbyrnli.co.uk) and know that the Weatherlink software can do it for us. I've installed Weatherlink on the Home PC and have it downloading the weather from the weatherlink site by going to  Setup --> communications Port --> Web Download. We can't use remote IP etc so that's our only option.

What I can't get it to do it create the templates. I've followed the manual but it refuses to create them in a local folder in the Templates folder within my site.

Anyone got any tips/resolution?

Thanks

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Newbie question - is this an option?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2011, 01:58:36 PM »
If by templates you mean .htx files, those should have been on your install disk.  WL uses them to generate the .htm files.  You ask WL to do that my ticking the Local  Option box in the upload function.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline WelshDragon

• Tenby weather website
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2011, 02:24:04 PM »
Thanks for the reply! I have the template files on the disk and in a folder which is here:

C:\WeatherLink\TenbyLif\Templates

Now in the local upload option, I have specified that I want them created in a folder within the one above called website, so the path is: