Author Topic: Which Weather Software?  (Read 3027 times)

Offline bill-e

• Converse Meadow Pond, Rindge NH
Which Weather Software?
« on: January 20, 2011, 07:59:50 AM »
Hi Folks,

Yea, I've been around enough that I know this kind of question will not proviede a definitive answer but I'd like to consider other opinions before I make a final decision.

I've got a Davis VP2 and Weatherlink IP being delivered today (although I'm on a biz trip) and at least initially I'm going to see how I like just using WLIP  but I'm guessing I'm going to want my personal weather page back soon.

I do have VWS but I want to explore other options.

So if cost wasn't an issue, which weather software would you use.  I'm thinking my platform will be a Netbook as I have an N280 EeePC that I can relegate to this and upgrade to a new one for my travels so either Windows or Linux is an option.

I'm a rank amateur who is on the road for biz a lot and I like to see/know what's going on weather wise in my neck of the woods when I'm away.  I currently also run a weathercam via WU.  I also like Rapid Fire like active weather pages.

Thanks
  Bill

Offline Bushman

• Forecaster
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Which Weather Software?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2011, 09:19:03 AM »
Cumulus runs well on a netbook eeePC 4G Surf.  www.sandaysoft.com    It is DONATION ware - not free but I think it is pretty nice.  But I stayed with Weatherlink.
Need low cost IP monitoring?  http://wirelesstag.net/wta.aspx?link=NisJxz6FhUa4V67/cwCRWA or PM me for 50% off Wirelesstags!!

Offline Garth Bock

• Table Rock Lake Weather
  • Forecaster
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 09:40:39 AM »
Cumulus is awesome but if cost is no factor I like VWS for its display but when it comes to real time I like Weather Display's Weather Display Live. You could run Virtual Vantage Pro (VVPro) and run both or all 3 packages.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 09:40:46 AM by Garth Bock »

Offline CNYWeather

• Forecaster
    • CNYWeather