Author Topic: Wunderground Redesign  (Read 1543 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online openvista

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • marquetteweather.com
Wunderground Redesign
« on: September 07, 2017, 08:08:37 AM »
Looks like they started rolling out yesterday (6 Sep) or the day before.

Oy veh. Looks like the team that did weather.com was set loose on this project (to finally destroy the website and force all traffic into their apps).
Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24hr FARS | https://marquetteweather.com | CWOP ID: EW7933

Online openvista

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • marquetteweather.com
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 08:16:31 AM »
It appears they have completely disabled updates. The site will no longer update via AJAX, nor will it auto refresh after 10 minutes. This is going to GREATLY confuse their users who've been trained since the site's inception that it stays fresh if you leave it open. Bye bye Rapid Fire.
Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24hr FARS | https://marquetteweather.com | CWOP ID: EW7933

Online openvista

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • marquetteweather.com
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 08:30:56 AM »
Notice anything missing? (In that part between the ads). I checked and this is true of many PWS's currently. The only temp I could produce was the Detroit airport.

Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24hr FARS | https://marquetteweather.com | CWOP ID: EW7933

Offline miraculon

  • Sunrise Side Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2855
  • KE8DAF
    • Sunrise Side Weather in Rogers City MI USA
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2017, 08:44:38 AM »
Notice anything missing? (In that part between the ads). I checked and this is true of many PWS's currently. The only temp I could produce was the Detroit airport.

Same here. I can only see our local airport, no PWS on the "forecast" page. When I go directly to my station, that works.

Greg H.




Blitzortung Stations 668, 706 - CWOP CW4114 -  CoCoRaHS MI-PI-1

Online Glenn

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 95
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2017, 08:46:02 AM »
Both locations are showing forecasts for me. PWS current/recent conditions are loading at the bottom of the page for both sites.
Acurite 5 in 1 Pro+
Southern VT
Connecticut

Offline Jáchym

  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 8480
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2017, 09:06:03 AM »
Hey guys, you have to look at it from the positive side.

Something at WU actually works!

Offline catdon

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2017, 10:18:46 AM »
Awful...hope this is still a work in progress. Every update they do seems to load slower than the previous one. Why are the remainder of the current conditions several  rows below the current temp? among other things.
Don
Staten Island, NY

Online wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
    • Support site Leuven Template and scripts
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2017, 11:35:30 AM »
When I look at a  station page, it seems correct to me. Example:
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=IVLBRABA2

When I click on the forecast tab on that page, I also get a forecast:
https://www.wunderground.com/weather/be/herent/IVLBRABA2?cm_ven=pwsdash_cityforecast

The links to the "stations website" are OK also.
Same result for another station: IVLAAMSG47

As I use those links in my template, can someone please post an URL to the pages which behave differently?

Wim
Vantage VUE with a WLIP used for https://weer.sluispark.be/
Vantage VP2 with a USB logger/Meteobridge for https://www.weerstation-herent.be/

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3582
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2017, 11:36:17 AM »

My IONTARIO226 shows Station reported xxx seconds ago (between 118 and 122) and shows wind graph and temperature at rapidfire, often changing every few seconds.  Looks fine to me.


Enjoy,
Paul

Offline PaulMy

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3582
    • KomokaWeather
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2017, 11:48:13 AM »

My Bloomsky IONTARIO1189 also seems to be fine, but not at rapidfire/realtime and looks like about the 5 min that Bloomsky sends.


Both show forecasts as well (the same).


Enjoy,
Paul

Online openvista

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • marquetteweather.com
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #10 on: September 07, 2017, 11:57:48 AM »
Yes, it appears they have worked out the temperature issue.

But what of the updates? I, too, am seeing conditions 5 minutes old even though I send them data every 60 seconds. And they won't push a conditions update anymore. You have to refresh the page manually.
Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24hr FARS | https://marquetteweather.com | CWOP ID: EW7933

Online wvdkuil

  • Wim van der kuil
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1104
    • Support site Leuven Template and scripts
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #11 on: September 07, 2017, 12:11:36 PM »
Yes, it appears they have worked out the temperature issue.

But what of the updates? I, too, am seeing conditions 5 minutes old even though I send them data every 60 seconds. And they won't push a conditions update anymore. You have to refresh the page manually.
As far as I can see, all ajax calls are made every few seconds
https://stationdata.wunderground.com/cgi-bin/stationlookup?station=IVLBRABA2&units=metric&v=2.0&format=json&callback=jQuery17208933391150959173_1504800185152&_=1504800190816

All updates come at regular intervals and are processed and displayed.  Maybe there is an old javascript in the cache, did you try different browsers?
Wim
Vantage VUE with a WLIP used for https://weer.sluispark.be/
Vantage VP2 with a USB logger/Meteobridge for https://www.weerstation-herent.be/

Online openvista

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • marquetteweather.com
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #12 on: September 07, 2017, 12:54:44 PM »
Maybe there is an old javascript in the cache, did you try different browsers?

If I have to clear my cache for their site to work, they've failed. No typical user is going to do that. They're going to exit the site.

In the end, nobody cares if some file on some server is being sent as it should. It's all about the user experience. And, presently, the site doesn't update without user interaction despite over a decade of doing so (users expect this). And even when I hit refresh, I don't get the latest temperature! And, to top it off, I get conflicting update times.

Perhaps, in time, they restore update functionality too.

Could they have picked a worse time to have a rough rollout (with 3 hurricanes in North American waters including the largest one ever seen barreling toward the U.S.)?

And, yes, for the record, I've actually loaded the site in a different browser with a clean cache (no extensions enabled) and I opened developer tools and watched in real time as their XHR (json) was sent every 60 seconds but did NOT refresh the content on the page. The data I sent them indicated a temperature change (among other parameters) but nothing appeared on the screen. I've verified that my data is being sent without error from my software. Their json code is opaque, so I can't verify if it contains correct data (which would then point to a js DOM issue) or if they are just sending incorrect data.
Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24hr FARS | https://marquetteweather.com | CWOP ID: EW7933

Offline miraculon

  • Sunrise Side Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2855
  • KE8DAF
    • Sunrise Side Weather in Rogers City MI USA
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #13 on: September 08, 2017, 08:30:57 AM »
It has been magically fixed for my own PWS page as well. Alas, it seems to have eaten my Gold Star in the process. 8-[

Greg H.




Blitzortung Stations 668, 706 - CWOP CW4114 -  CoCoRaHS MI-PI-1

Offline pwdiver

  • Beach Area Weather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • My 1972 Challenger
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2017, 12:14:09 PM »
I dont now whats going on I noticed my data not updating and being 20- 35 minutes old Ive ran Weather-display and then ran VWS and neither is updating on the update cycle Ive had set for them for years, Is this because of the new look im seeing If so then I dont like it. :-(

Offline ggsteve

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #15 on: September 08, 2017, 12:33:52 PM »
If we're talking about the same thing I have three stations reporting to WU and all the history graphs are updating without manual refreshing.
Rainwise Mk III w/wind extension, Oracle Multi & IP-100  West Townsend, MA
Wunderground: https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KMATOWNS8#history
https://rainwise.net/weather/steve01474
http://www.pwsweather.com/obs/MORSE1.html
http://www.awekas.at/en/instrument.php?id=12597
CWOP: http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?call=EW7173
CoCoRaHS: MA-MD-47
Skywarn Spotter ID: 16-266
Bloomsky Sky2

Davis Vantage Pro2 w/WL Fitchburg H.S., Fitchburg, MA
Wunderground: https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KMAFITCH5#history
CoCoRaHS: MA-WR-52

Online openvista

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • marquetteweather.com
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #16 on: September 08, 2017, 12:38:42 PM »
If we're talking about the same thing I have three stations reporting to WU and all the history graphs are updating without manual refreshing.

Nope. We're talking about the forecast page: https://www.wunderground.com/weather/us/ma/west-townsend/KMATOWNS8?cm_ven=pwsdash_cityforecast. That's the one the public sees most often and lands at when they do a search for your area. And that page said your last update occurred 34 minutes ago.
Davis Vantage Pro2 with 24hr FARS | https://marquetteweather.com | CWOP ID: EW7933

Offline pwdiver

  • Beach Area Weather
  • Senior Contributor
  • ****
  • Posts: 241
  • My 1972 Challenger
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2017, 01:30:50 PM »
Ive done updates pretty much constant  or maybe every couple of seconds since Ive been uploading data to WU since 2005. I thought I was having a glitch with WD but VWS is doing the same thing.

Offline jpk1018

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • Mad Russian
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #18 on: September 08, 2017, 02:55:05 PM »
Wonder what would happen if we all just stopped sending data. Kinda an insult when they stop using your data and and default to the closest airport.

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3986
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2017, 04:18:48 PM »
I'm seeing slow server response times for opening but both my stations, rapid fire is up and working with 4 second updates so all is well on that end. 
I think the move was made several days ago when I first noticed server response time slowed. 
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline jpk1018

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • Mad Russian
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2017, 04:21:54 PM »
Not me they are still using airport temp and update is about an hour

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3986
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2017, 04:25:59 PM »
Not me they are still using airport temp and update is about an hour

I see rapid fire working with 31 second updates it looks like.
Try this link: https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KCOMILLI7
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline jpk1018

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • Mad Russian
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2017, 04:28:26 PM »
That's not me I'm KCOMILLI4

Offline ValentineWeather

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3986
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #23 on: September 08, 2017, 04:36:19 PM »
That's not me I'm KCOMILLI4

It's still working for me but 4 second updates even better.
https://www.wunderground.com/personal-weather-station/dashboard?ID=KCOMILLI4

You should change your globe link because it's linked to the wrong station then.
Randy, the Aviator is my father in 1963 with his Indian bike

Offline jpk1018

  • Senior Member
  • **
  • Posts: 80
    • Mad Russian
Re: Wunderground Redesign
« Reply #24 on: September 08, 2017, 04:44:28 PM »
Yeah I'm getting the same but on the forecast page I'm not, still has wrong temp and update is about an hour