Author Topic: Issues with VVP  (Read 1543 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline offroadjosh

  • Davis Vp2 Wireless- VWS 14 P90 Serial Data logger
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 967
  • Montana Firefighter
    • My Website=)
Issues with VVP
« on: October 31, 2015, 04:03:32 PM »
So, trying to get my WX station back up and running after being down for sometime. I am trying to run it on a laptop running the following below.

Toshiba Satellite.
Windows 7 Home Premium
6gb of Ram
64 bit
AMD-e240
1.50GHZ
No serial ports just usb..

Wx programs as follow

all these are running the latest update, and i did try older versions as well..

VWS internet
Weather Link
Cumulus
Vplive
Weather Display
WUHU
StartWatch
VVP
May run others if I can get it actually working..


So my issue is, I can get it to run any of the programs alone, yet when I try and use VVP it doesn't connect to my station. I'm pretty lost as how to get it  up and running. I'd like to get my wx station back up and running as it was before. Right now its running stable on VWS.  I have a serial data logger with a serial to usb converter which works fine.

Thanks
Josh

Josh Patten

Davis VP2 Wireless -May 2008
VWS 14.00P90\WL 5.9.9/Plus others!
Skywarn trained
CoCoRaHS member
Smith Valley Fire Dept Firefighter:)
http://josh.northwestwx.com/station/usa.htm
CWOP-DW0711
Kestrel 2000 hand held anemometer
Cocorahs 4in rain gauge
Custom co

Offline W3DRM

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 3180
    • Carson Valley Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2015, 08:05:09 PM »
Hi Josh welcome back!

You say you can get it to run any of the programs alone. So, I'm assuming that means that WeatherLink will run just fine when connected directly to the VP2. Are you running a serial or USB data module on the VP2 console? Can you post a photo of your VVP setup screen so we can see how that looks?

I've included a snap-shot of my VVP Settings page as an example.

Remember, if you are having problems finding the correct comm port to use, you can always bring up WeatherLink and ask it to auto detect the correct port. It's saved me several times.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2015, 08:08:55 PM by W3DRM »
Don - W3DRM - Minden, Nevada --- Blitzortung ID: 808 --- FlightRadar24 ID: F-KRNO2
Davis Wireless VP2, WD 10.37S-b53,
StartWatch, VirtualVP, VPLive, , Win10 Pro
--- Logitech HD Pro C920 webcam
--- RIPE Atlas Probe - 32849

Offline offroadjosh

  • Davis Vp2 Wireless- VWS 14 P90 Serial Data logger
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 967
  • Montana Firefighter
    • My Website=)
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2015, 12:13:44 AM »
Thanks! I am running a serial data logger. I have the com port correct, it just doesn't connect to vvp for some reason... Just sits and loads... Also noticed it said my trial is expired even after entering my key which it says confirmed... Tried reinstalling as well.
Josh Patten

Davis VP2 Wireless -May 2008
VWS 14.00P90\WL 5.9.9/Plus others!
Skywarn trained
CoCoRaHS member
Smith Valley Fire Dept Firefighter:)
http://josh.northwestwx.com/station/usa.htm
CWOP-DW0711
Kestrel 2000 hand held anemometer
Cocorahs 4in rain gauge
Custom co

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1745
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2015, 11:26:57 AM »
Thanks! I am running a serial data logger. I have the com port correct, it just doesn't connect to vvp for some reason... Just sits and loads... Also noticed it said my trial is expired even after entering my key which it says confirmed... Tried reinstalling as well.
Just a thought, but did you run the program as 'Administrator' when you entered the key?
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline George Richardson

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1391
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2015, 11:30:47 AM »
Hey Josh, long time no talk.

"I have the com port correct," Can I assume you are talking about the VVP Serial port connection. If so, the next thing you should try is one program hooked up via TCP/IP, say VPLive. Be sure to enable the virtual console. That really should work and then you can run 4 programs that way. Get that going and then get the "free" 64 bit ComOCom virtual port driver going to get the rest with virtual com ports.

You haven't, by any chance, gotten a new console and datalogger have you? The new ones won't work with VVP!

George

Offline offroadjosh

  • Davis Vp2 Wireless- VWS 14 P90 Serial Data logger
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 967
  • Montana Firefighter
    • My Website=)
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #5 on: November 01, 2015, 12:29:38 PM »
Tried as an admin, and the issue is VVP not seeing the console. So if I start VVP alone, have the correct com I get nothing:(
Josh Patten

Davis VP2 Wireless -May 2008
VWS 14.00P90\WL 5.9.9/Plus others!
Skywarn trained
CoCoRaHS member
Smith Valley Fire Dept Firefighter:)
http://josh.northwestwx.com/station/usa.htm
CWOP-DW0711
Kestrel 2000 hand held anemometer
Cocorahs 4in rain gauge
Custom co

Offline 92merc

  • BismarckWeather.net
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 544
  • BismarckWeather.net
    • BismarckWeather.net
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2015, 09:03:02 AM »
You didn't upgrade your firmware on the console recently, have you?  VVP doesn't work with the newer firmware revisions.

My firmware is dated 9/29/2009 Rev B.  I think that is newest version VVP supports.  Anything past that has code VVP doesn't understand.
http://www.BismarckWeather.net
Davis VP2, Cumulus, Blitzortung, Bloomsky, Saratoga Scripts

Offline Garth Bock

  • Bloomington, Illinois Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2125
    • Twin City Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2015, 09:16:43 AM »
We had this at the university station after the station was sent in for a refurb. VVP does not work with the latest firmware.

Davis VPro2,VWS,WL,VVP,WD,WDL,Cumulus,WV32,VPLive

Offline offroadjosh

  • Davis Vp2 Wireless- VWS 14 P90 Serial Data logger
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 967
  • Montana Firefighter
    • My Website=)
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2015, 10:01:35 PM »
crap, can i downgrade...?
Josh Patten

Davis VP2 Wireless -May 2008
VWS 14.00P90\WL 5.9.9/Plus others!
Skywarn trained
CoCoRaHS member
Smith Valley Fire Dept Firefighter:)
http://josh.northwestwx.com/station/usa.htm
CWOP-DW0711
Kestrel 2000 hand held anemometer
Cocorahs 4in rain gauge
Custom co

Offline George Richardson

  • WxElement panel
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1391
    • Smith Mountain Lake Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #9 on: November 03, 2015, 07:59:53 AM »
"crap, can i downgrade...?"

Regretfully, never heard of it. Get you a great big SOAP BOX, call Davis and jump up and down on that box and let everyone know if it works.

George

Offline gwwilk

  • Southeast Lincoln Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 1745
    • SouthEast Lincoln, NE Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #10 on: November 03, 2015, 08:13:13 AM »
I avoided this problem by NOT sending my console in when I requested a refurb of my wireless VP2+.  (Actually because I could I bought a new wireless VP2+ but hooked it up to the old console while the old ISS was in for refurb.  The old unit is now a spare and the new spare console sits in my bedroom where I can check local conditions at night without using the web.)  They ain't touching my frickin' old console! [-X
Regards, Jerry Wilkins
gwwilk@inebraska.com

Offline Garth Bock

  • Bloomington, Illinois Weather
  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 2125
    • Twin City Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #11 on: November 03, 2015, 09:10:44 AM »
crap, can i downgrade...?

I remember a post here where someone flashed upgraded, had problems and then reflashed with the old firmware.

Davis VPro2,VWS,WL,VVP,WD,WDL,Cumulus,WV32,VPLive

Offline moehoward4

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 689
  • Jack in SE MA.
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #12 on: November 03, 2015, 09:16:05 AM »
Davis has a 'downgrade' option on it's 'firmware' page, it allows you to go back to v.1.90. Hope it's still there.....
3 Davis set-ups...which one ya wanna talk about? And I got ALL my manuals....

Offline Bushman

  • Forecaster
  • *****
  • Posts: 6585
    • Eagle Bay Weather
Re: Issues with VVP
« Reply #13 on: November 03, 2015, 09:19:05 AM »
Davis has a 'downgrade' option on it's 'firmware' page, it allows you to go back to v.1.90. Hope it's still there.....

http://www.davisnet.com/support/weather/downloads/software_frmwr.asp  But it is mfg. year dependent.  Good luck!